Coppin State University FNP Programs

Helene Fuld School of Nursing • Baltimore, MD • Hybrid • $400–$797/credit

Coppin State University offers 3 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:

  • MSN
  • BSN-DNP
  • Post-Master’s Certificate

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
MSN$24.1K–$25.6K in-state / $40.2K–$42.6K out-of-state2 years (5 semesters + winter term)48–51
BSN-DNP$63.1K–$72.0K in-state / $93.1K–$106.2K out-of-state3 years (8 semesters) full-time; 6 years part-time70–80
Certificate$15.8K in-state / $26.2K out-of-state1.7 years (5 semesters)31

Tuition estimates use Coppin’s 2026–27 per-credit rates plus its per-credit athletic and auxiliary construction fees and $135 in flat per-term fees.

Coppin State bills its MSN and certificate at the graduate rate ($400 per credit for Maryland residents) and its BSN-DNP at the doctoral nurse practitioner rate ($797). A Maryland nurse can finish the MSN for roughly $24,000 to $26,000 all-in, about $39,000 to $46,000 less than the BSN-DNP. All three tracks are built around Baltimore’s urban, underserved communities, which is the mission of this historically Black university.

The trade-off is limited published detail. Coppin does not state MSN or certificate clinical hours, delivery format, or how clinical placement works, and the BSN-DNP mixes campus or hybrid courses with Friday and Saturday executive-format classes. Applicants should confirm hours, schedule, and preceptor arrangements before committing.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesMSN, BSN-DNP, Post-Master’s Certificate
FormatBSN-DNP: Hybrid (traditional or hybrid, some Friday/Saturday classes). MSN and certificate: not clearly stated
Clinical HoursBSN-DNP: 1,000. MSN and certificate: not clearly stated (13 practicum credits)
Clinical PlacementNot clearly stated for FNP practica
PopulationUrban, vulnerable, and underserved communities
Distinctive CourseworkResearch on Urban Family Health (MSN); Global Health and Reproductive Health Practicum (BSN-DNP)
RN License RequirementsBSN-DNP and certificate: Maryland or compact RN license
InterviewRequired for all three tracks
Tuition$400/credit graduate, $797/credit doctoral (Maryland resident)
AccreditationCCNE (MSN, DNP, post-graduate APRN certificate)

Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the MSN at Coppin State University is approximately $19,200–$20,400 for Maryland residents (48–51 credits at $400/credit), or $24,147–$25,614 with mandatory fees. The program can generally be completed in about 2 years on the full-time plan, which runs fall, winter, spring, and summer of year one and fall and spring of year two.

Program page: Nursing, Master’s (Family Nurse Practitioner)

MSN Curriculum

Research requirement. Every MSN student completes a research product: a 3-credit non-thesis research project (48 credits total) or a two-semester master’s thesis (51 credits). The plan also includes Research on Urban Family Health, a course that ties the research sequence to Coppin’s Baltimore focus. Few FNP programs still require a thesis option at the master’s level.

Population-split FNP sequence. Specialty content runs as paired didactic and practicum courses by population: adults and older adults in spring of year one, women in summer, and children in fall of year two. A final 4-credit family practicum closes the program. Ethics, epidemiology, and health policy round out the core.

  • NURS 600: Advanced Health Assessment and Promotion (4 cr)
  • NURS 512: Research on Urban Family Health (3 cr)
  • NURS 660/661: Primary Health Care for Adults/Older Adults + Practicum (3 + 3 cr)
  • NURS 650/651: Primary Health Care for Women + Practicum (2 + 3 cr)
  • NURS 640/641: Primary Health Care for Children + Practicum (3 + 3 cr)
  • NURS 700: Primary Health Care for Family Practicum (4 cr)
  • NURS 513: Non-Thesis Research Project, or NURS 720/721: Master’s Thesis (3 or 6 cr)

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The program page study plan does not match the catalog. It omits NURS 512 and the winter term, lists Theoretical Foundation at 3 credits (catalog: 2), lists Epidemiology and Health Policy at 3 credits each (catalog: 2), and shows both the non-thesis project and the thesis in the same semester. Its semester labels sum to 52 credits. This profile uses the catalog’s 48–51.
  • Only a full-time plan is published. A part-time MSN plan is not clearly stated.

MSN Clinical Requirements

  • Practicum courses: NURS 661, 651, 641 (3 credits each) and NURS 700 (4 credits), for 13 practicum credits
  • Total clinical hours: not clearly stated
  • Placement model and preceptor rules: not clearly stated

Coppin’s DNP handbook converts practicum credit at 45 hours per credit. If the same ratio applies to the MSN, 13 credits would equal about 585 hours (derived). That clears the 500-hour certification floor but sits below the 600 to 700 hours common among FNP programs. The final family practicum and the summer women’s health practicum are the heaviest clinical terms.

You Should Know
  • The 585-hour figure is a derivation, not a published total. Confirm the MSN clinical hour requirement with the program before applying.
  • Delivery format is not stated on the MSN page. Plan on campus attendance in Baltimore unless the school confirms otherwise.

MSN Admissions

Admission requires a personal interview, and a GPA below 3.0 may still earn provisional acceptance.

  • Bachelor’s degree in nursing
  • 3.0 cumulative GPA (provisional admission possible below 3.0)
  • Completed basic statistics course
  • Active nursing license in at least one U.S. state or foreign country
  • Three professional recommendations
  • Personal interview with graduate faculty
  • Deadline: April 15 for fall entry (annual cycle)
You Should Know
  • The MSN page accepts a foreign nursing license but notes some courses require a U.S. license. Clinical practica in Maryland generally require a Maryland or compact RN license.
  • The Graduate Admissions page lists March 1 as the fall deadline, while the MSN page lists April 15. Apply by the earlier date to be safe.

BSN to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the BSN-DNP at Coppin State University is approximately $55,790–$63,760 for Maryland residents (70–80 credits at $797/credit), or $63,100–$71,960 with mandatory fees. The program can generally be completed in about 3 years full-time (8 consecutive semesters, summers included) or about 6 years part-time.

Program page: Doctor of Nursing Practice (BSN to DNP)

BSN-DNP Curriculum

Doctoral core first. Year one is almost entirely doctoral foundations: research, theory, epidemiology, evidence-based practice, and scholarly writing. Advanced pharmacology and the first FNP practicum do not begin until fall of year two.

FNP sequence. Adult primary care, children and families, and reproductive health each pair a 3-credit didactic course with a 4-credit practicum. Two primary care role practica follow in year three. The DNP project runs in five parts from the first summer to the final spring.

Distinctive coursework. Global Health and Nursing Information Technology are required, reflecting the program’s stated focus on urban and global communities.

  • NURS 701: Scholarly Writing (1 cr)
  • NURS 835: Epidemiology (3 cr)
  • NURS 706/707: Family Primary Care of Adults + Practicum (3 + 4 cr)
  • NURS 708/709: Primary Care of Children and Families + Practicum (3 + 4 cr)
  • NURS 710/711: Reproductive Health + Practicum (3 + 4 cr)
  • NURS 712/713: Primary Care Role Practicum I and II (1–2 and 2 cr)
  • NURS 833: Global Health (3 cr)
  • NURS 840–847: DNP Project I–V

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The total is a range (70–80 credits) because five courses carry variable credits. The catalog does not publish a fixed total.
  • The program page study plan skips the year-three fall semester (Role Practicum I, Information Technology, DNP Project IV) and numbers DNP Project I as NURS 829 rather than the catalog’s NURS 840.
  • The part-time plan places DNP Project III after Project V and runs six years with gaps between terms.

BSN-DNP Clinical Requirements

  • Total clinical practice hours: 1,000, all accrued while enrolled
  • FNP practicum credits: 15–16 (NURS 707, 709, 711, 712, 713)
  • At 45 hours per practicum credit (DNP handbook ratio), about 675–720 hours fall in FNP practica (derived); the remainder comes from DNP project work
  • Placement model: not clearly stated for FNP practica
  • Graduation requires a B or better in every course and a completed DNP Scholarly Project

A 1,000-hour total is standard for a BSN-entry DNP, double the 500-hour certification floor. The direct patient-care portion, at roughly 675–720 hours, lands in the common FNP range. Spread across the four practicum terms of years two and three, that works out to about 13–14 hours a week.

You Should Know
  • The only published preceptor policy comes from a 2021 DNP handbook written for the post-master’s DNP. It says students identify and select their own preceptors with faculty consultation. Whether the same rule applies to BSN-DNP FNP practica is not stated.
  • Some classes use an executive format on Fridays and Saturdays. The school does not say how many or how often.

BSN-DNP Admissions

Applicants who meet the requirements are interviewed by graduate faculty and must also submit an undergraduate writing sample.

  • BSN from an ACEN- or CCNE-accredited program (or foreign equivalent)
  • 3.0 minimum BSN GPA
  • Unencumbered RN license in Maryland or a compact state
  • Three professional references, resume or CV
  • Goals essay naming a primary area of interest
  • Writing sample from the undergraduate program
  • Interview with graduate faculty
  • Application through GradCAS ($38 fee)
  • Deadlines: December 1 for spring, March 1 for fall (annual cycle)
You Should Know
  • No minimum RN work experience is stated.
  • The plan of study starts in fall. A spring entry would likely shift the course sequence; confirm with the program.

Post-Master’s Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate

The estimated tuition for the Certificate at Coppin State University is approximately $12,400 for Maryland residents (31 credits at $400/credit), or $15,834 with mandatory fees. The program can generally be completed in about 1.7 years (5 consecutive semesters, fall through the second spring; years derived from the published term plan).

Program page: APRN Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate

Certificate Curriculum

The certificate is the MSN’s FNP sequence with the master’s core removed. It uses the same 600-level courses, including advanced pathophysiology, assessment, and pharmacology. No reduced plan for nurses who already hold APRN credentials is published, so expect the full 31 credits.

  • NURS 610: Advanced Principles of Pathophysiology (3 cr)
  • NURS 600: Advanced Health Assessment and Promotion (4 cr)
  • NURS 615: Pharmacology for Advanced Nursing Practice (3 cr)
  • NURS 660/661: Adults/Older Adults + Practicum (3 + 3 cr)
  • NURS 650/651: Women + Practicum (2 + 3 cr)
  • NURS 640/641: Children + Practicum (3 + 3 cr)
  • NURS 700: Primary Health Care for Family Practicum (4 cr)

More curriculum details are available here.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Practicum credits: 13 (same courses as the MSN)
  • Total clinical hours: not clearly stated (about 585 at Coppin’s 45-hour DNP ratio, derived)
  • Placement model: not clearly stated

Because the certificate shares the MSN practicum courses, its clinical volume should match the MSN. Nurses adding FNP as a second population should confirm the hour total meets their state board’s requirements.

Certificate Admissions

The certificate requires prior graduate coursework in both research and statistics, plus an interview.

  • Master’s degree in nursing
  • 3.0 GPA across master’s coursework
  • At least one graduate-level research course and one graduate-level statistics course
  • RN license active in Maryland or a compact state
  • Personal statement and three letters of recommendation
  • Personal interview
  • Deadline: April 15 for fall entry (annual cycle)
You Should Know
  • The page says the certificate admits students in fall, spring, and summer, but it lists only a fall deadline and its course plan starts in fall.
  • State boards set their own rules for recognizing a second APRN population focus. Confirm with your board before enrolling.

Tuition

Coppin charges $400 per credit for graduate study (MSN and certificate) and $797 per credit for the doctoral nurse practitioner program, for Maryland residents in 2026–27. Non-residents pay $734 and $1,225. Coppin also lists per-credit and flat graduate fees that raise the effective cost by about $89 per credit plus $135 per term.

TrackCreditsRate (Resident / Non-Resident)Tuition OnlyWith Mandatory Fees (Derived)
MSN48–51$400 / $734$19,200–$20,400 / $35,232–$37,434$24,147–$25,614 / $40,179–$42,648
BSN-DNP70–80$797 / $1,225$55,790–$63,760 / $85,750–$98,000$63,100–$71,960 / $93,060–$106,200
Certificate31$400 / $734$12,400 / $22,754$15,834 / $26,188

Fee derivation: athletic ($77/credit) plus auxiliary construction ($12/credit) on every credit, plus $135 in flat fees (technology $42, student activity $23.50, college center $69.50) for 5 terms (MSN, certificate) or 8 terms (BSN-DNP).

Official rates: Coppin State tuition and fees

  • Graduate tuition: $400/credit resident, $734/credit non-resident (fall 2026, spring 2027)
  • Doctoral nurse practitioner tuition: $797/credit resident, $1,225/credit non-resident (fall 2026, spring 2027)
  • Graduate application fee: $50; GradCAS application fee: $38
  • Graduation application fee: $50

Be aware that:

  • The fee figures come from the Summer 2026 and 2025–26 schedules. The fall 2026 schedule does not itemize graduate per-credit fees, so 2026–27 amounts may differ.
  • The athletic fee alone ($77/credit) adds about 19% to the resident graduate rate. Confirm with the Bursar’s office (410-951-3691) that it applies to graduate nursing students at the per-credit level.
  • Summer rates in 2026 were slightly lower ($392 graduate, $781 doctoral). Estimates apply 2026–27 fall and spring rates to every term.
  • The school does not say whether the doctoral rate applies to all BSN-DNP credits or only to doctoral-level courses. Estimates assume every credit is billed at $797.
  • The 2021 DNP handbook lists a $200 online course fee for section 400 courses. Course-related fees for the College of Health Professions and an assessment technology exam fee are listed as “TBA.”
  • Rates rose about 2% from 2025–26 to 2026–27 ($392 to $400 graduate; $781 to $797 doctoral). Multi-year programs will likely see further increases.

For Maryland residents, the MSN’s all-in cost of roughly $24,000 to $26,000 is about one-third of the BSN-DNP’s. The doctorate adds about $39,000 to $46,000 for one more year, a DNP project, and a higher total of clinical hours, not a different FNP license. Non-residents pay nearly double at either level, which narrows Coppin’s cost case for out-of-state applicants.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for Maryland RNs who want an affordable public-university FNP credential, prefer training in Baltimore’s urban safety-net settings, and can attend classes on or near campus.

Low resident cost at the master’s level. The MSN and certificate are billed at Coppin’s graduate rate, not a premium nurse practitioner rate. A resident completing the 48-credit MSN pays about $24,000 with fees. MSN graduates can later return for Coppin’s post-master’s DNP, transferring up to 700 clinical hours toward its 1,000-hour requirement.

An urban, underserved mission throughout. Coppin is a historically Black university whose graduate nursing program is designed around Baltimore’s vulnerable communities. The MSN’s Research on Urban Family Health course and the DNP’s global health requirement make that focus part of the curriculum, not just the marketing.

Gaps to close before applying. Coppin publishes no clinical hour total for the MSN or certificate, no placement policy, and no delivery format for the master’s tracks. The BSN-DNP’s doctoral rate also makes it a substantially more expensive route to the same FNP certification. Nurses who need fully online coursework or school-arranged preceptors should verify both directly.


Accreditation

The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) accredits Coppin State’s master’s, Doctor of Nursing Practice, and post-graduate APRN certificate programs, which cover all three FNP tracks. The master’s and certificate programs are accredited through December 31, 2033. The DNP, first accredited in 2016, is accredited through June 30, 2032.

The Maryland Board of Nursing approves the MSN, DNP, and post-graduate FNP APRN programs.

Coppin State University is institutionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, which reaffirmed its accreditation in June 2026 with no follow-up reporting required. Institutional accreditation keeps students eligible for federal financial aid and supports credit transfer.

Graduates of all three tracks are eligible to sit for a national FNP certification exam (AANP or ANCC).


Compare More Family NP Programs