Appalachian State University FNP Programs

Department of Nursing • Boone, NC • Mostly Online • $622/credit

Appalachian State University offers 1 Family Nurse Practitioner Track:

  • BSN-DNP

Program Track Overview

ProgramEst. Tuition (In-State )Est. DurationCredit Hours
BSN-DNP$47.3K 4 years (13 semesters)76

App State’s defining advantage is that 9 of the 76 credits are a required cognate, so every graduate leaves with a formal second specialization in nursing education, public health, or health care administration alongside the FNP preparation. The trade-off is timing: this is a brand-new program whose CCNE accreditation is still pending, and it requires a one-week residency at App State Hickory every semester.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesBSN-DNP only. No MSN FNP track and no post-master’s FNP certificate.
FormatOnline coursework plus a one-week simulation residency at App State Hickory each semester.
Clinical Hours1,000 minimum, direct and indirect combined. No separate direct patient care figure is published.
Clinical PlacementProgram placement staff work with students to secure sites. Hours are completed in the student’s home region.
PopulationIndividuals and families across the lifespan, with a stated rural and underserved emphasis.
Distinctive CourseworkTwo separate assessment courses and two separate pharmacology courses rather than one of each.
ConcentrationsRequired 9-credit cognate: Nursing Education, Public Health, or Health Care Administration.
RN License RequirementsUnrestricted RN license in North Carolina or a Nurse Licensure Compact state.
Experience GateOne year or more of professional nursing experience required before admission.
Admissions CycleOne limited-size cohort each August. Interview with the selection committee is required.
Tuition$622 per credit for NC residents, fee-inclusive. About $1,606 per credit non-resident (derived).
AccreditationSACSCOC institutional. CCNE initial accreditation for the DNP is pending, not yet granted.

BSN-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the BSN-DNP at Appalachian State University is approximately $47,272 for North Carolina residents (76 credits at $622/credit). The program can generally be completed in about four years of part-time study, across a term sequence the catalog describes as 13 semesters including summers.

Full details are on the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP-FNP) Program page.

BSN-DNP Curriculum

Core architecture. The 67-credit core splits the standard advanced practice foundation across more courses than most FNP programs use. Health assessment is two courses rather than one: NUR 7100 covers assessment for diagnosis, then NUR 7110 covers diagnostic reasoning and differential diagnosis as separate 2-credit work. Pharmacology is also two courses, with NUR 7160 devoted entirely to special populations after the lifespan survey in NUR 7150. That structure gives differential diagnosis and high-risk prescribing their own graded coursework instead of folding them into a single survey.

Primary care by population. The specialty sequence is organized by patient group, with five didactic courses covering mental health, adults, older adults, pediatrics, and sexual and reproductive health. Four of those five have a matching clinical course. Mental health is the exception: NUR 7320 carries 2 credits of didactic content with no paired clinical rotation, so behavioral health exposure depends on what appears inside the general primary care placements.

The cognate. The 9-credit cognate is what makes this curriculum unusual. Students pick one of three tracks and complete three graduate courses drawn from App State’s existing programs rather than from bespoke DNP electives. Nursing Education starts with NUR 5050 on educational theory, Public Health starts with P_H 5000, and Health Care Administration starts with HCM 5210, each followed by two electives from a published list. At 9 credits, the cognate is roughly one-eighth of the degree.

  • NUR 7110: Advanced Health Assessment: Diagnostic Reasoning and Differential Diagnosis (2)
  • NUR 7160: Pharmacology for Special Populations (3)
  • NUR 7320: Advanced Nursing Concepts for Primary Care: Mental Health (2)
  • NUR 7340: Advanced Nursing Concepts for Primary Care: Older Adult (3)
  • NUR 7360: Advanced Nursing Concepts for Primary Care: Sexual and Reproductive Health (2)
  • NUR 7470: Role: Advanced Practice RN (2)
  • NUR 7600 / 7602 / 7604: DNP Clinical Scholarly Project 1, 2 and 3 (1, 2, 2)
  • NUR 7700: Healthcare Policy, Practice and Organization (3)
  • One graduate course in Statistical Methods (3)

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The catalog states the program runs across 13 semesters including summers and also calls it a four-year part-time plan. Thirteen terms at three terms per year spans about 4.3 years, so the two statements do not fully agree. Confirm the graduation term with the program director before planning around it.
  • The graduate statistics requirement is listed as an unspecified course, not a named nursing course. Which department offers it, and whether it can be transferred in, is not stated.
  • Semester-by-semester course sequencing is not published. The 76 credits across 13 terms works out to roughly 5.9 credits per term on average, but the actual per-term load is unknown.
  • NUR 7320 mental health has no companion clinical course. If psychiatric exposure matters to your practice plans, ask how it is covered inside the general rotations.

BSN-DNP Clinical Requirements

  • Minimum 1,000 hours of advanced practice clinical experience, which the program describes as direct and indirect combined.
  • Seven clinical courses totaling 15 credits: NUR 7900 (1), NUR 7920 (1), NUR 7930 (3), NUR 7940 (2), NUR 7950 (3), NUR 7960 (2) and NUR 7970 (3). Derived from the catalog course list.
  • Three DNP Clinical Scholarly Project courses totaling 5 credits, which may or may not count toward the 1,000-hour figure.
  • Hours are completed in the student’s home region rather than at a central clinical site.
  • Program clinical placement staff work with students to secure sites aligned with the rural and underserved mission.
  • One week each semester on the App State Hickory campus using simulation labs, separate from the clinical hours.

The 1,000-hour figure matches the AACN doctoral standard, which is twice the 500-hour direct patient care floor that national FNP certification requires. The catch is what the number counts. Most FNP programs publish direct patient care hours as their own line, commonly in the 600 to 700 range, and report project or indirect hours separately. App State reports one combined figure, so the published materials do not tell you how many of the 1,000 hours are hands-on patient care. Dividing 1,000 by the 15 clinical credits gives about 67 hours per credit; dividing by 20 credits including the project gives 50. Both are derived, and the two readings describe materially different programs.

Placement support is the stronger part of the picture. App State says staff work with students to secure sites rather than leaving nurses to cold-call practices on their own, and the home-region model means a nurse in Ashe or Watauga County can complete rotations near where they already work.

You Should Know
  • The split between direct patient care hours and indirect or project hours is not published. Ask for it in writing before you enroll, because it determines whether the program clears the 500-hour certification floor with room to spare or only just.
  • Placement staff assistance is described but not guaranteed. Whether the program secures the site or the student does when support falls short is not stated.
  • Preceptor qualifications, faculty site visit frequency, and whether out-of-state clinical placements are permitted are all unstated.
  • Thirteen one-week residencies at Hickory add up to about three months of on-campus time across the program. Travel, lodging, and time off work are not in any published cost figure.

BSN-DNP Admissions

This is a single-intake program with an interview requirement and a licensure gate that rules out applicants in several states, so eligibility is worth checking before you invest time in an application.

  • BSN from a regionally accredited institution and a CCNE or ACEN accredited nursing program.
  • Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
  • One year or more of professional nursing experience.
  • Current, unrestricted RN license in North Carolina or a Nurse Licensure Compact state.
  • Undergraduate statistics covering descriptive and inferential methods, grade C or higher.
  • Undergraduate research course, grade C or higher.
  • Resume, official transcripts, and a personal statement on professional goals and program fit.
  • Two recommendation letters: one academic, one professional or supervisor.
  • Interview with the Admissions Selection Committee.
  • One limited-size cohort each August. Priority deadline February 1, final deadline July 1 on a space-available basis.

The compact licensure requirement is the sharpest filter. Nurses in states outside the Nurse Licensure Compact, including California, New York, Oregon, Michigan, Minnesota, and Illinois, would need a North Carolina license to qualify. That is consistent with a program built around North Carolina practice, but it narrows the applicant pool considerably compared with FNP programs that accept any unrestricted U.S. license.

You Should Know
  • The graduate catalog and the department admissions page do not list identical requirements. The catalog names CNEA as an accepted nursing accreditor and omits the statistics prerequisite; the department page requires statistics and does not mention CNEA. Plan to the stricter reading of both.
  • App State states its licensure programs are designed to meet North Carolina requirements and directs students elsewhere to check their own board. Whether the DNP-FNP meets any other state’s educational requirements is not published.
  • Cohort size is described as limited but never given a number, so admissions selectivity cannot be estimated.
  • The department page still describes the fall 2026 cohort as open, while App State Online lists fall 2027 as the next start. Treat February 1 and July 1 as the annual cycle and confirm the current term directly.

Tuition

North Carolina residents pay $622 per credit hour, published directly by App State Online. That single figure already contains three separate components, which is unusual and works in the student’s favor because there is no hidden stack to reconstruct.

ComponentNC ResidentNon-Resident
Base graduate tuition (App State Online)$306.95$1,291.00
App State Online fees$37.33$37.33
DNP tuition differential$277.78$277.78
Total per credit hour$622.06$1,606.11

The reconstruction lands within six cents of the advertised $622, which confirms the published rate is both fee-inclusive and differential-inclusive. Applying it to 76 credits:

  • Resident tuition and fees: 76 credits at $622 = $47,272
  • Non-resident tuition and fees: 76 credits at $1,606.11 = $122,064 (derived; App State does not advertise a single non-resident rate for this program)
  • Book rental fee: $128.50 per term, roughly $1,671 across 13 terms
  • Resident all-in with book rental: about $48,943
  • DNP differential paid over the degree: $277.78 x 76 = $21,111, or about 45% of resident cost

Be aware that:

  • The differential cap will not help you. The $277.78 differential is capped at $2,500 per semester, which works out to exactly 9 credits. This program averages about 5.9 credits per term, so the cap never binds and every credit carries the full differential.
  • Summer billing is ambiguous. App State’s summer rate table lists a lower online graduate rate of $336.77 per credit and does not name the DNP among the programs carrying a differential. If the differential applies anyway, summer credits cost about $615; if it does not, about $337. The program runs through summers, so the difference is real.
  • Campus coding drives the fee structure. The DNP is listed as an App State Online program, so fees are $37.33 per credit. Main campus graduate programs are billed $1,855.50 in flat fees per term regardless of load, which across 13 part-time terms would add roughly $24,100 instead of $2,837. Confirm the program’s campus designation in writing.
  • Residency costs sit outside the figures. Thirteen one-week residencies at Hickory, professional liability insurance charged for clinical courses, and travel to clinical sites are all excluded from published tuition.
  • Rates are set annually. UNC System tuition and fee rates are approved each year by the Board of Governors, and the figures above are Fall 2026 and Spring 2027. There is no published rate lock for this cohort.
  • Non-resident cost is a derived figure. The $1,606.11 rate is assembled from the published rate table, not quoted by the program. Verify before budgeting.

For a North Carolina resident, roughly $49,000 all-in for a terminal practice doctorate with 1,000 clinical hours is a reasonable position, and the fee-inclusive per-credit rate makes the cost easy to forecast term by term. For a non-resident, the picture changes sharply: at 2.6 times the resident rate, the out-of-state price approaches the range of private FNP doctorates without the placement network a private program often builds to justify it. Current rates are published on the Tuition and Fees page.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for BSN-prepared nurses already working in western North Carolina who want a doctorate with a second credentialed specialization built into it, and who can absorb four-plus years of part-time study plus regular travel to Hickory.

A second specialization comes with the degree. The 9-credit cognate is the reason to look here first. Nurses who want to teach can build three graduate nursing education courses into the doctorate; nurses aiming at population health or administration can do the same with public health or health administration coursework. These are courses from App State’s established MSN, MPH, and MHA programs, not electives written for the DNP, so the content is already tested. For a nurse who expects to move between clinical practice and a faculty or administrative role, that structure removes the need for a separate certificate later.

Rural placement is the design assumption, not an accommodation. Clinical hours are completed in the student’s home region, and placement staff are directed to find sites that match the program’s rural and underserved mission. Combined with the compact license requirement, that makes the program coherent for a nurse who intends to stay and practice in the region. It also makes it a poor match for someone planning to relocate, since App State only states that the program meets North Carolina educational requirements.

The honest risk is that this program has no track record. The first cohort started in fall 2026. CCNE accreditation is pending rather than granted, no graduate has sat for boards, and there is no certification pass rate, attrition figure, or placement outcome to evaluate. App State has run CCNE-accredited BSN and MSN programs for years, which is meaningful institutional evidence, but it is not the same as evidence about this program.

Geography settles most of this decision. If you live within reasonable driving distance of Hickory, hold a North Carolina or compact license, and plan to practice in the region, App State offers a fee-inclusive $622-per-credit doctorate with built-in specialization and regional clinical placement, and the accreditation timeline is a manageable risk. If you live far from Hickory, hold a license from a non-compact state, or expect to practice outside North Carolina, the thirteen residency weeks, the licensure gate, and the 2.6x non-resident rate each work against you, and a program with a completed accreditation review will serve you better.


Accreditation

Appalachian State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, which approved the DNP in August 2025 to begin enrolling students in fall 2026. Institutional accreditation is what makes federal financial aid available and what allows credits to transfer, so it matters independently of nursing-specific review.

Nursing accreditation is the open question. App State’s Bachelor of Science and Master of Science nursing programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. The DNP is not. The university is pursuing initial CCNE accreditation and expects a site visit during the program’s first year of enrollment.

If CCNE grants accreditation, it applies retroactively to the first day of the site visit, which is the mechanism that would let the inaugural cohort graduate from an accredited program. That is the standard path for a new program and it usually works, but it is a stated expectation rather than a completed outcome. Applicants should ask for the current status directly.

Graduates will be eligible to sit for national Family Nurse Practitioner certification through either the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners or the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Both boards require graduation from an accredited program, so exam eligibility for this cohort depends on the CCNE review completing as anticipated.


Compare More Family North Carolina FNP Programs