University of Iowa FNP Programs

College of Nursing • Iowa City, IA • Hybrid • $626–$1,153/credit

The University of Iowa offers 3 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:

  • BSN-to-DNP (subprogram)
  • MSN-to-DNP (subprogram)
  • Post-Graduate Certificate

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. Tuition (In-State)Est. DurationCredit Hours
BSN-DNP$80.9K–$95.7K3 years (9 semesters)
or 4 years (11 semesters)
83
MSN-DNP$54.2K Not clearly stated72 minimum
Certificate$16.7K1–2 years (3+ semesters, derived)26

The University of Iowa’s defining feature is a pricing structure that charges by semester load rather than by credit: the four-year plan of study costs about $14,700 more in-state than the three-year plan for the identical 83-credit degree. Access to the cheaper three-year plan is gated by one year of RN experience, and both plans require weekly on-campus attendance in Iowa City with all clinical hours placed inside Iowa.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesBSN-to-DNP FNP, MSN-to-DNP FNP, Post-Graduate FNP Certificate
FormatHybrid. Early coursework online; NP didactic courses meet on campus one day per week
Clinical Hours630 direct patient care hours, plus 370 DNP project hours for 1,000 total
Clinical PlacementCollege arranges all placements. Students should expect to travel up to 100 miles
PopulationIndividuals and families across the lifespan, primary care
Distinctive CourseworkAdvanced Diagnostic and Therapeutic Procedures for Primary Care; four-course DNP Project sequence
ConcentrationsDual certification available: add a second NP population subprogram concurrently
RN License RequirementsActive RN license required. Clinical sites and preceptors must be located in Iowa
RN Experience GateOne year minimum for the three-year plan. Four-year plan open to all applicants
Cohort Size24 students
Application CycleReviewed once per year. Feb. 1 deadline, fall admission only
International StudentsNot eligible for F-1, F-2, or J-1 status due to online course volume
TuitionBilled by semester load, not per credit. Certificate billed at $626 per credit hour
AccreditationCCNE; approved by the Iowa Board of Nursing

BSN-to-DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner Subprogram

The estimated tuition for the BSN-to-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner program at the University of Iowa is approximately $95,737 in-state on the four-year plan of study and approximately $80,896 in-state on the three-year plan, both covering the same 83 credits.

The program can generally be completed in 3 years (9 semesters) or 4 years (11 semesters), depending on which plan of study you are admitted to.

BSN-to-DNP FNP Curriculum

Iowa builds the FNP subprogram out of four stacked layers rather than a single specialty track, and the sequencing decides how long you wait before touching patients. Both plans of study front-load the DNP leadership and science core, then run the primary care didactic courses and the practicum sequence in the final year. On the three-year plan, no FNP-specific clinical course appears until the seventh semester. On the four-year plan, it is the ninth.

Core architecture. The 83 credits break into a basic core (21 credits in leadership, global health, quality improvement, epidemiology, health systems, informatics, and policy), an advanced core (9 credits in scientific inquiry, evidence-based practice, and project design), a complex core (7 credits, mostly the DNP Project seminar sequence), a direct science core (13 credits covering physiology, pathophysiology, health assessment with lab, and pharmacology), a 3-credit elective, and 28 credits of FNP-specific coursework.

FNP specialty sequence. The specialty layer splits pediatric and adult primary care into paired two-course sequences rather than combining them, which is a meaningful structural choice. You take a full course on well-child care and another on common pediatric conditions, alongside a three-course adult and older adult sequence. FNP programs that compress the lifespan into a single survey course leave graduates thinner on pediatrics, which is often the weakest area on certification exams and in early practice.

Doctoral project load. The DNP Project runs across four sequential courses and 370 documented project hours, on top of the clinical practicum. That is a substantial parallel workload during the same semesters when clinical hours are heaviest.

  • Physiology for Advanced Practice, Pathophysiology for Advanced Practice
  • Health Assessment for Advanced Practice, Didactic and Lab
  • Diagnostic Reasoning and Integrated Pharmacology for Family Nurse Practitioners
  • Primary Care Clinical Skills and Procedures
  • Comprehensive Care for the Well Child
  • Managing Common Conditions in Pediatric Primary Care
  • Care of Adults and Older Adults I, II, and III
  • Family Nurse Practitioner Clinical Practicum I, II, and III
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice Seminar I through V, plus Professional Identity

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The graduate catalog states the FNP subprogram requires 81 credits, and its own course lists sum to exactly 81. Both published plans of study sum to 83. This 2-credit gap is unresolved in the school’s materials and is not explained on either page.
  • The catalog and the plans of study also use two different course sets. The catalog lists practicums NURS:6611, 6621, and 6631; the plans of study and the certificate list NURS:6701, 6702, and 6703. The published 630-hour clinical figure is attached to the second set.
  • The published four-year plan of study lists Advanced Practice Clinical Practicum at 1 credit in Fall IV, which makes that semester total 8 rather than the 10 shown. The three-year plan and the sample plan both list it at 3 credits, which resolves to 10. We have used 3 credits.
  • An interprofessional education course appears in the sample plan at zero credits with no tuition or registration, carrying roughly an 8-hour-per-semester time commitment.
  • Iowa’s published FNP program totals are based on 2024-25 rates, while the DNP rate table posted by the college is labeled Fall 2023 through Spring 2024. Expect current-year figures to be higher.

BSN-to-DNP FNP Clinical Requirements

  • 630 direct patient care clinical hours across three sequential practicum courses
  • Practicum I: 180 hours over 15 weeks in fall, roughly 12 hours per week
  • Practicum II: 180 hours over 15 weeks in spring, roughly 12 hours per week
  • Practicum III: 270 hours over 10 weeks in summer, roughly 27 hours per week
  • 370 additional DNP project hours, bringing total documented practice experience to 1,000 hours
  • The College of Nursing arranges all placements. Students do not find their own sites
  • Clinical sites must be in Iowa, and preceptors are expected to practice in Iowa
  • Students should expect to travel up to 100 miles, further in provider-scarce areas
  • Settings may include rural clinics, urban centers, and community health clinics
  • Block scheduling of concentrated clinical time is permitted where it fits a student’s schedule

At 630 hours, Iowa sits 130 hours above the 500-hour national certification floor and inside the 600 to 700 range typical of FNP programs. The more consequential number is the placement model. Faculty-arranged placement removes the single most common failure point in FNP education, where students spend months cold-calling clinics and sometimes pay agency fees to secure a preceptor. Iowa takes that risk off the student entirely. The cost of that guarantee is geographic: because the college controls placement and holds sites inside Iowa, you cannot complete this program from another state, and you may be sent well outside your home community.

You Should Know
  • The summer practicum concentrates 270 hours into 10 weeks, roughly 27 hours per week. The college states that most students find it very difficult to keep a regular work schedule during the clinical year, which also includes weekly campus classes and DNP project work.
  • The Iowa-only clinical rule is stated as a current condition rather than a permanent policy. Confirm it directly if you live near a state border.
  • Clinical hour totals for students entering with an MSN are individually evaluated. Students who completed more than 1,000 practice hours in a prior advanced practice program must still complete the practicum and project hours their advisor and the program director set.

BSN-to-DNP FNP Admissions

The most consequential admissions detail here is not the GPA threshold but the experience gate, which determines which plan of study you can enter and therefore what the degree costs you.

  • Bachelor’s or advanced degree in nursing from a CCNE- or NLNAC-accredited program
  • Active nursing license
  • Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00; 3.50 for dual certification applicants
  • Three-year plan of study: minimum one year of RN experience, with preference for more
  • Four-year plan of study: open to all applicants regardless of prior nursing experience
  • Three professional recommendations on required University of Iowa forms
  • Goal statement, resume, statement of disclosure, supplemental information form
  • Official transcripts from all undergraduate and graduate coursework
  • Criminal background check upon admission
  • No GRE required
  • Applications reviewed once per year; fall admission only
  • Priority deadline Jan. 10, final deadline Feb. 1, for the following fall; notification by mid-March
You Should Know
  • The February 1 date is an annual recurring cycle, not a one-time deadline. Applications after the deadline may be considered as space allows.
  • One page in the school’s admissions materials lists a July 15 deadline for all DNP programs except Anesthesia Nursing, which conflicts with the Feb. 1 date given elsewhere on the same site. Confirm before you plan around either.
  • International students requiring F-1, F-2, or J-1 status are not eligible, because of the volume of internet-based coursework.
  • Moving to Iowa solely to attend does not establish residency for tuition purposes. Non-resident rates apply, and on the four-year plan that is a difference of roughly $79,000.
  • The University of Iowa lists its licensure programs on a Professional Licensure Disclosures by Program page with state-by-state determinations. Several UI programs show most states as “under review.” Confirm your state’s status before applying if you intend to practice outside Iowa.
  • Cohort size is listed at 24. A published 100% job placement rate carries no cohort year or sample size.

MSN-to-DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner Subprogram

The estimated tuition for the MSN-to-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner route at the University of Iowa is $54,206 in-state and $94,379 out-of-state, per the college’s published FNP program cost page. Duration is not clearly stated for this route.

MSN-to-DNP FNP Curriculum

This route is for nurses who already hold a master’s in nursing that does not carry APRN certification, and who want to earn FNP certification and the doctorate together. Rather than a separate curriculum, these students enter the same FNP subprogram described above, with prior graduate coursework evaluated for transfer credit.

How credit is counted. The catalog sets a floor of 72 credits following the bachelor’s degree for MSN-entry students, and requires a minimum of 39 credits earned at the University of Iowa after admission. Transfer credit must be approved by the DNP program director, the associate dean for graduate practice programs, or the Graduate College, depending on type and amount. Because the amount of accepted transfer credit varies by applicant, the actual credit load is individually determined.

A separate route for already-certified APRNs. If you hold an MSN and current APRN certification and want the doctorate without a new population focus, you follow the pathway subprogram instead. The college publishes that route at $35,898 in-state. It does not confer FNP certification; APRNs adding a second population focus use the post-graduate certificate below.

You Should Know
  • Credit hours for the FNP-specific MSN-to-DNP route are not published as a single figure. The 72-credit figure is a post-baccalaureate floor for the pathway subprogram, not a confirmed FNP total.
  • No plan of study, semester count, or clinical hour total is published specifically for MSN-entry FNP students. Ask for a gap analysis in writing before accepting an offer.
  • DNP applicants holding a master’s in nursing from another institution must supply verification of completed clinical hours from their prior graduate director, or submit course syllabi.
  • Students admitted to the pathway subprogram who later decide to pursue APRN certification must transfer into a population subprogram to complete the direct science core.

MSN-to-DNP FNP Clinical Requirements

  • Minimum 1,000 total practice experience hours required of all DNP students
  • Approved clinical hours from a prior MSN may be transferred toward the DNP
  • Clinical hour requirements are evaluated individually for each student with a prior population focus
  • Students who already exceed 1,000 hours must still complete practicum and project hours set by the advisor and program director
  • Placement, Iowa-only siting, and travel expectations match the BSN-to-DNP route

The practical effect of individualized evaluation is that two applicants with the same MSN can be quoted different program lengths and different costs. The published $54,206 figure is a single point estimate for a route where the inputs vary considerably. Treat it as a starting point for a conversation with the program director rather than a quoted price.

MSN-to-DNP FNP Admissions

Admissions requirements mirror the BSN-to-DNP route, with additional documentation of the prior graduate degree.

  • Master’s degree in nursing from an accredited program
  • Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00; 3.50 for dual certification
  • Active nursing license
  • Verification of completed clinical hours from the prior institution, or course syllabi
  • Post-APRN applicants: MSN in a recognized ARNP specialty plus a copy of the certification card
  • Feb. 1 annual deadline; fall admission only
You Should Know
  • The RN experience gate that separates the three-year and four-year plans is written for the BSN-entry FNP program. Whether an equivalent pacing choice exists for MSN-entry students is not stated.
  • The Iowa-only clinical rule and the weekly on-campus requirement apply here as well, which effectively limits this route to nurses living in or willing to relocate to Iowa.

Post-Graduate Certificate, Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner at the University of Iowa is $16,726 for both residents and non-residents, based on 26 credits at $626 per credit hour plus technology fees.

The program can generally be completed in about 1 to 2 years across 3 or more semesters, a figure derived from the catalog’s two-year course table and the fall-through-summer practicum sequence.

Certificate Curriculum

This certificate exists for one purpose: to let an already-certified APRN add the family population focus and sit for FNP certification. It is not an entry route for nurses who are not yet advanced practice providers.

Gap analysis sets the real length. The catalog publishes a 26-credit course list, then states that coursework and clinical hours are determined by a gap analysis conducted by the program director. That means 26 credits is the full-list figure, and your actual requirement depends on what your original APRN program already covered. A PMHNP adding FNP will likely need close to the full list. An AGNP adding FNP may need substantially less, since the adult and older adult content overlaps.

Shared practicum spine. The certificate uses the same three-course practicum sequence as the DNP plans of study, carrying the same 630 clinical hours if taken in full. That is unusual. Many post-graduate certificates reduce clinical volume on the theory that prior APRN training substitutes for it. Iowa’s default is the full sequence, subject to gap-analysis reduction.

  • Graduate Pharmacology Specialty
  • Advanced Diagnostic and Therapeutic Procedures for Primary Care
  • Primary Care: Infants, Children, and Adolescents I and II
  • Primary Care: Adults and Older Individuals I and II
  • Advanced Practice Clinical Practicum I, II, and III

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • No federal financial aid is available for this certificate, because it is not a degree-seeking program. That is a material difference from the DNP routes and should be factored into how you plan to pay.
  • Admission to the clinical-track certificates is described as available on a limited basis. Seats are not guaranteed.
  • The certificate requires a cumulative University of Iowa GPA of at least 2.50 in certificate coursework, which is lower than the 3.00 admission threshold.
  • The published fee schedule lists 3 credit hours at $1,848, which implies $616 per credit while every other row implies $626. At $626, three hours should be $1,878. We have used $626 throughout.
  • Because the requirement is set by gap analysis, the $16,726 total is a ceiling for a student who needs every listed course, not a fixed price.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Advanced Practice Clinical Practicum I: 180 hours
  • Advanced Practice Clinical Practicum II: 180 hours
  • Advanced Practice Clinical Practicum III: 270 hours
  • 630 total clinical hours if the full sequence is required
  • Hours may be reduced by gap analysis based on prior APRN preparation
  • Placement arranged by the college; Iowa siting and travel expectations apply

A 630-hour default puts this certificate well above the 500-hour floor that most state boards apply to a second population focus. If your gap analysis leaves the practicum sequence intact, you are completing the same clinical volume as a BSN-entry doctoral student. That is a genuine strength for exam readiness and for boards that scrutinize second-population credentials, and a genuine burden if you are working full time as an APRN.

You Should Know
  • State boards set their own rules for recognizing a second APRN population focus. Some require a specific clinical hour minimum or a specific course match. Confirm with your board before enrolling, since a reduced gap analysis could fall below what your state requires.
  • The certificate’s delivery format is not stated separately. Its specialty courses are the same NP didactic courses the college describes as on-site only, so plan for weekly campus attendance in Iowa City.

Certificate Admissions

This is a non-degree application submitted through the Graduate College, which changes both the paperwork and the funding picture.

  • MSN or DNP for APRNs; master’s or doctorate for physician assistants
  • Proof of current APRN or PA certification, including a copy of the certification card
  • Copy of RN or PA license
  • Minimum 3.0 grade point average
  • Graduate of an accredited program
  • Goal statement, statement of disclosure, resume, transcripts
  • Three professional recommendations on University of Iowa forms, sent electronically by the recommender
  • Graduate Non-degree Application, indicating “Certificate” as the purpose of attending
  • Feb. 1 annual deadline; later applications considered as space allows
You Should Know
  • The February 1 date recurs annually. It has passed for the current cycle.
  • The application routes through Graduate Admissions as a non-degree application, which is why federal aid does not apply.
  • The graduate catalog’s CCNE accreditation paragraph names the BSN, two MSN subprograms, the MSN Entry into Practice subprogram, and the DNP, but does not name the post-graduate certificates. The College of Nursing’s own accreditation page does include post-graduate APRN certificate programs in CCNE scope, and CHEA’s directory confirms it.

Tuition

The University of Iowa does not bill its DNP programs per credit. It bills per semester by credit load, with a flat rate once you register for 9 or more credits. The certificate is the exception and is billed at a published $626 per credit hour for both residents and non-residents. For the DNP routes, the effective per-credit cost is derived: $1,153.46 per credit in-state on the four-year plan and $974.65 per credit in-state on the three-year plan, both computed as the published program total divided by 83 credits.

That distinction is the whole story of what this degree costs. Below is the published DNP semester rate table used to reconstruct the totals.

Semester LoadResident TotalNon-Resident Total
3 credits$3,718.00$3,710.75
4 credits$4,981.50$4,970.75
5 credits$6,172.50$11,741.75
6 credits$7,363.50$14,048.75
9+ credits$11,004.00$21,032.00

Why the four-year plan costs more. Both plans deliver 83 credits and both include six semesters at 9 or more credits, billed at the flat rate. The four-year plan simply adds two extra six-credit semesters, each billed at $7,363.50 in-state. Two additional six-credit semesters is exactly $14,727 in-state and $28,097.50 out-of-state. Nothing else changes: same courses, same 630 clinical hours, same degree.

Published program totals (2024-25 rates):

  • BSN-to-DNP: $95,737 resident / $174,964 non-resident
  • MSN-to-DNP: $54,206 resident / $94,379 non-resident
  • Post-APRN to DNP: $35,898 resident / $54,870 non-resident
  • Post-Graduate Certificate: $16,726, resident and non-resident alike

Confirmed costs:

  • Certificate tuition: $626 per credit hour, resident and non-resident
  • Certificate technology fee: $90 per semester at 1–3 credits, $135 at 4–8 credits, $180 at 9 or more
  • Certificate derivation: 26 credits × $626 = $16,276 in tuition, plus $450 in technology fees, equals the published $16,726 exactly
  • DNP resident flat rate at 9+ credits: $11,004 per semester, tuition plus technology fee
  • DNP non-resident flat rate at 9+ credits: $21,032 per semester
  • Three-year plan derived total: $80,896 resident, $146,615 non-resident (nine semesters priced against the published rate table)
  • Four-year plan derived total: $95,623 resident, $174,713 non-resident, within $114 and $251 of the school’s published figures

Be aware that:

  • The published FNP program totals are stated as 2024-25 rates. The DNP rate table the college posts is labeled Fall 2023 through Spring 2024. Current-year cost will be higher than both.
  • The three-year and four-year totals above are derived, not published as a pair. The school publishes only one BSN-to-DNP figure, which our reconstruction shows corresponds to the four-year plan. If you are quoted a single number, ask which plan it assumes.
  • Non-resident DNP tuition does not scale smoothly. At 4 credits it matches the resident rate; at 5 credits it more than doubles. A single dropped course can move a non-resident student across that cliff in either direction.
  • The non-resident rate table contains internal arithmetic errors, with listed totals falling $7.25 to $10.75 below the sum of the tuition and fee columns in the first four rows.
  • Relocating to Iowa solely to attend does not establish residency. The four-year non-resident total exceeds the resident total by roughly $79,000.
  • Federal financial aid is not available for the post-graduate certificate.
  • The registrar’s general graduate rate tables, including a distance-program rate, show different figures than the College of Nursing DNP table. Confirm which schedule governs your registration before budgeting.
  • None of these figures include books, health insurance, travel to clinical sites up to 100 miles, or relocation.

The all-in picture is that Iowa is competitively priced for an in-state nurse who qualifies for the three-year plan and expensive for everyone else. At roughly $975 per credit derived in-state on the three-year plan, this is a reasonable price for a doctorate at a top-ranked research university with faculty-arranged placement. At $2,108 per credit derived for a non-resident on the four-year plan, it is not, and the weekly campus requirement makes non-residency an unlikely fit anyway.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for nurses already living in Iowa who have at least a year of RN experience, want a doctorate rather than a master’s, and would rather have placements handed to them than hunt for preceptors.

Placement risk is removed, not reduced. The College of Nursing arranges every clinical placement. Students are not responsible for finding sites, and there is no agency fee or self-placement fallback. In a field where preceptor scarcity delays graduation regularly, this is worth more than most published program features. The trade is that placements are Iowa-only and can be up to 100 miles from home, so you are exchanging search effort for driving time and loss of control over where you train.

The plan of study is a five-figure decision. Two applicants can be admitted to the same program, take the same 83 credits, complete the same 630 clinical hours, and pay $14,700 apart in-state. The variable is which plan of study you enter, and eligibility for the cheaper three-year plan turns on having a year of RN experience. If you are close to that threshold, waiting one application cycle before applying is worth real money, and it is the rare case where delaying a program start has a clear positive return.

Doctoral-only, with a real project load. Iowa does not offer a terminal MSN in the FNP population. Every credentialing route here runs through the DNP or the post-graduate certificate. If you want an FNP master’s in two years, this is not the school. If you want the doctorate, the 370 project hours and four-course project sequence are substantive rather than a capstone bolted on, and the program’s national ranking and 24-student cohort size mean access to faculty is real.

The verdict comes down to arithmetic and residency. An Iowa resident with a year of experience pays roughly $80,900 for a doctorate with guaranteed placement, which is defensible for the credential. The same resident routed to the four-year plan pays about $95,700 for identical training. A non-resident pays between $146,600 and $175,000 while still needing to be in Iowa City weekly and clinically placed inside Iowa, which makes this a program you should evaluate as an Iowa program rather than a distance one.


Accreditation

The Doctor of Nursing Practice program at the University of Iowa College of Nursing is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, the accrediting arm of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. The FNP subprogram sits inside that accredited DNP program, so both the BSN-to-DNP and MSN-to-DNP routes are covered.

Certificate applicants should note a documentation gap worth understanding. The graduate catalog’s accreditation paragraph names the BSN, the CNL and Nursing Systems Administration MSN subprograms, the MSN Entry into Practice subprogram, and the DNP, but does not mention the post-graduate certificates. The College of Nursing’s own accreditation page does list post-graduate APRN certificate programs within CCNE scope, and CHEA’s directory records a CCNE-accredited post-graduate APRN certificate at the University of Iowa. The certificate is accredited; the catalog boilerplate is simply incomplete.

All of these programs are also approved by the Iowa Board of Nursing, which regulates nursing education programs operating in the state and grants approval for up to six years following a site visit. Institutionally, the University of Iowa is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, which is what makes federal financial aid available for the degree programs and makes credits transferable to other institutions.

Graduates of the advanced practice subprograms are eligible to sit for national FNP certification through either the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board or the American Nurses Credentialing Center, and to apply for Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner licensure. Both certifying bodies require a minimum of 500 supervised direct patient care hours, a threshold Iowa’s 630-hour practicum sequence exceeds.


Compare More Family NP Programs