University of New Mexico FNP Programs

College of Nursing • Albuquerque, NM • Hybrid • $628.22/credit

The University of New Mexico offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:

  • BSN-DNP
  • Post-Graduate Certificate

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
BSN-DNP$49.7K / $94.0K3 years (8 semesters)70
CertificateVariesNot clearly stated15+ (individualized)

Tuition estimates are the College of Nursing’s published 2026–27 program totals: $628.22 (resident) or $1,405.62 (non-resident) per credit plus estimated course, HSC, and UNM fees.

825 clinical hours, and the University of New Mexico finds every preceptor. UNM’s Office of Clinical Affairs secures FNP placements statewide, and two to three semesters of rotations run in rural and underserved New Mexico communities, backed by a federal ANEW grant that pays eligible final-year students up to $20,000.

The trade-off is presence. UNM requires a New Mexico RN license, teaches FNP specialty courses in person in Albuquerque, and runs clinical semesters in blocks that open with two to three weeks on campus. Students pay their own travel to rural sites, and non-residents outside the WICHE region pay almost double.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesBSN-DNP (BA/BS with RN also accepted); post-graduate certificate
FormatHybrid: online core courses, in-person specialty courses, multi-week campus blocks each clinical semester
Clinical Hours825 clinical, plus 75 lab/simulation and 300 project hours (BSN-DNP)
Clinical PlacementSchool-arranged statewide by the Office of Clinical Affairs, including preceptors
PopulationRural and underserved New Mexico; 2–3 semesters of rotations outside Albuquerque
Distinctive CourseworkMental Health in Primary Care; Clinical Skills and Procedures; 7-credit final fieldwork
RN License RequirementsNew Mexico RN license required
Tuition$628.22/credit resident; $1,405.62 non-resident; WICHE-state residents pay resident rate
AccreditationCCNE (DNP and post-graduate APRN certificate)
Start TermFall only; 8 consecutive terms
Admissions Gates1 year RN experience; interview for selected applicants

BSN to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the BSN-DNP at the University of New Mexico is approximately $49,698 for New Mexico residents ($43,975 for 70 credits at $628.22/credit plus $5,723 in published fees). The program can generally be completed in about 3 years (8 consecutive terms, summers included).

Official program: Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner.

BSN-DNP Curriculum

Everyone starts with an in-person orientation shared by all incoming nurse practitioner students. Year one is built around shared doctoral and APRN core courses before students break out into the FNP cohort.

How the 70 credits split. Only 37 credits are FNP specialty work (9 didactic, 28 clinical). The other 33 cover the DNP core (9), evidence-based practice (9), the systems thinking and project sequence (6), and the APRN core (9). Nearly half the degree is doctoral content an MSN-level FNP would not take.

Specialty emphasis. Adult primary care gets three sequential courses (14 credits), pediatrics two (7 credits). A standalone mental health in primary care course and a sexual and reproductive health course with a lab component are both required, which matters in a state where FNPs often practice without nearby specialists.

  • NURS 713: Advanced Health Assessment (3 credits, 50 lab hours)
  • NURS 714: Primary Care Concepts (3 credits)
  • NURS 717: Mental Health in Primary Care (2 credits)
  • NURS 734: Sexual and Reproductive Health Across the Lifespan (2 credits, 25 lab hours)
  • NURS 735: Clinical Skills and Procedures in Primary Care (1 credit)
  • NURS 731–733: Primary Care of Adults I–III (14 credits)
  • NURS 743–744: Primary Care of Pediatrics I–II (7 credits)
  • NURS 795: Advanced Nursing Fieldwork (7 credits, 300 clinical hours)
  • NURS 796–799: Systems Thinking for Healthcare Transformation I–IV (6 credits, 300 project hours)

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The catalog lists NURS 743, 744, and 795 with variable credit ranges (3–5, 4–5, 1–7). The program page fixes them at 3, 4, and 7, which is what produces the 70-credit total.
  • A semester-by-semester plan of study is not published on the program pages.

BSN-DNP Clinical Requirements

  • 825 clinical hours, at 50 hours per clinical credit across 16.5 clinical credits: Adults I (100), Adults II (125), Adults III (150), Pediatrics I (50), Pediatrics II (100), Fieldwork (300).
  • 75 lab and simulation hours (NURS 713 and 734), including OSCE competency exams.
  • 300 DNP project hours across the four systems thinking courses.
  • Block format: each clinical course opens with 2–3 weeks of on-campus learning at the start and middle of the semester, then a dedicated 4–5 week clinical rotation.
  • Placement: the Office of Clinical Affairs finds and secures sites and preceptors statewide and handles site onboarding paperwork. Faculty consider student preferences.
  • Rural rotations: two to three semesters may be outside Albuquerque. Students pay travel costs.
  • Faculty liaison support is assigned during rotations.

At 825 hours, UNM sits well above the 500-hour certification floor and above the 600–700 hours common among FNP programs. The block format compresses that volume. If a course’s hours fall inside its 4–5 week rotation, Adults III works out to roughly 30–38 hours a week (derived), close to a full-time job. School-arranged placement removes the preceptor search that stalls many online students, but the trade is control: sites can be hours from home.

You Should Know
  • The program page cites 125 lab hours in one place and 75 lab/simulation hours in another. The course-level math supports 75.
  • The ANEW grant requires a rural or underserved rotation of at least three months. Awards depend on financial need and grant funding (current award runs 2023–2027).
  • UNM advises that working full-time during the program is difficult. Many students reduce hours.

BSN-DNP Admissions

UNM admits once a year for fall, interviews selected applicants, and requires a New Mexico RN license.

  • BSN from an accredited program; RNs with a BA or BS in another field also qualify.
  • Current New Mexico RN license.
  • 1 year of RN experience or work in a closely related healthcare field.
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0; applicants below 3.0 are reviewed individually with a supplemental statement.
  • No GRE or GMAT.
  • Three essays (200–400 words each), including one on experience with rural, underserved, and diverse communities.
  • Application through NursingCAS plus a UNM supplemental application. Admission is competitive and may include a waitlist.
  • Annual cycle: applications open August 15, priority deadline December 1, final deadline April 1.
You Should Know
  • The FNP FAQ lists a January 15 deadline for the post-bachelor’s DNP, which conflicts with the December 1 priority and April 1 final deadlines on the program page. Confirm with admissions.
  • Living in Albuquerque is not required, but students must attend all in-person classes and simulations.
  • UNM states its DNP curriculum meets educational requirements for licensure in all states. Because clinicals run in New Mexico under a New Mexico license, plan on completing training in-state.

Post-Graduate Certificate, Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Post-Graduate Certificate at the University of New Mexico is not clearly stated, because each student’s plan comes from a gap analysis (minimum 15 credits, or about $9,423 at the $628.22 resident rate). Completion time is not clearly stated and depends on the individualized plan.

Official program: Post-Graduate Certification, Family Nurse Practitioner.

Certificate Curriculum

The certificate draws on the same FNP courses as the BSN-DNP. A gap analysis of prior graduate coursework sets each student’s plan, which must include at least 15 graduate credits. UNM uses two tracks (A and B) based on prior preparation and goals, but does not describe them publicly.

For scale, the full FNP specialty block in the BSN-DNP is 37 credits, about $23,244 in resident tuition (derived). A nurse who also needs the APRN core would face up to 46 credits. Students already certified as APRNs in another population will typically need less.

  • APRN core (if not already completed): advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, health assessment
  • FNP didactic courses: primary care concepts, diagnostic reasoning, mental health in primary care, sexual and reproductive health, procedures
  • FNP clinical courses: adult and pediatric primary care sequences and advanced fieldwork
You Should Know
  • Total credits, clinical hours, and duration for the FNP certificate are not published.
  • Program-page wording describes synchronous online instruction plus hands-on teaching and simulation; expect the same in-person specialty and block structure as the DNP.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Clinical hours required for national FNP certification are built into the individualized plan.
  • Total hours for the FNP certificate: not clearly stated.
  • Placement model for certificate students: not stated separately from the DNP.

Because the certificate uses the DNP’s clinical courses, a student completing the full FNP clinical sequence would log hours on the 825-hour scale. Ask the concentration coordinator for your exact hour count before enrolling.

Certificate Admissions

The certificate follows a separate application window from the DNP.

  • Graduate degree in nursing.
  • Applications open August 1; final deadline January 15 (annual cycle).
  • Admission to some concentrations is subject to screening for limited enrollment.
You Should Know
  • UNM’s WRGP tuition break is described for degree-seeking graduate students. Whether certificate students qualify is not clearly stated.
  • APRN certification, licensure, and experience requirements for certificate applicants are not detailed publicly.
  • State boards set their own rules for adding a second APRN population focus. Graduates are responsible for confirming eligibility outside New Mexico.

Tuition

UNM’s College of Nursing charges $628.22 per credit for New Mexico residents and $1,405.62 for non-residents in 2026–27. Both rates are published and already include the college’s tuition differential and mandatory per-credit fees.

Component (per credit)ResidentNon-Resident
HSC graduate tuition$306.38$1,083.78
Mandatory student fees$61.58$61.58
Facility fee$5.78$5.78
Nursing tuition differential$254.48$254.48
Total$628.22$1,405.62
BSN-DNP Cost ItemResidentNon-Resident
Tuition (70 credits)$43,975.40$88,287.20
Estimated course fees$940.00$940.00
Required HSC fees$1,605.00$1,605.00
Required UNM fees$3,178.00$3,178.00
Published total$49,698.40$94,010.20
  • Residents: 70 credits × $628.22 = $43,975.40, matching the published total.
  • Non-residents: the published total reconciles only if 13 credits are billed at the resident rate (57 × $1,405.62 + 13 × $628.22), reflecting UNM’s rule that non-resident doctoral nursing students pay in-state rates in summer.
  • Residents of WICHE states (AK, AZ, CA, CO, HI, ID, MT, NV, ND, OR, SD, UT, WA, WY, and Pacific territories) pay resident rates for the full program through WRGP.
  • Sources: College of Nursing tuition and fees and the Bursar’s Fall 2026 HSC graduate rate sheet.

Be aware that:

  • The 13 summer credits behind the non-resident total are derived from the published figures, not stated by UNM.
  • Non-residents taking 12–18 credits in a fall or spring term are billed a block rate, which can lower the real total below $94,010.
  • Travel and lodging for rural rotations and Albuquerque campus blocks are not included and can be significant.
  • The published UNM fee line ($3,178) does not reconcile exactly with the Bursar’s per-term fee schedule; the college’s figure is used here.
  • Certificate tuition depends on the gap analysis and is not published.
  • Rates are set each year and apply to the term billed.

For a New Mexico resident or WICHE-region nurse, about $49,700 all-in for a DNP with 825 clinical hours and school-arranged placement is a moderate price. For other out-of-state students, the cost nearly doubles, and the in-state RN license requirement adds a practical reason to relocate. The bigger hidden cost for most students is reduced work income during block rotations.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for New Mexico nurses who want a doctoral FNP with clinical placements handled for them and are ready to train in rural communities.

Placement without the search. UNM’s Office of Clinical Affairs finds sites and preceptors, manages onboarding, and works across a statewide network that includes community health centers, VA clinics, and Indian Health Service sites. Many preceptors are program graduates. For nurses who have watched classmates in other programs lose a semester to a preceptor search, this is the main reason to apply.

Real rural primary care volume. 825 clinical hours plus two to three semesters outside Albuquerque produce graduates trained for the settings New Mexico needs most. The ANEW stipend of up to $20,000 helps offset the cost of an extended rural rotation, and New Mexico grants NPs full practice authority, so graduates can practice independently where they trained. UNM reports a 100% certification pass rate, though no cohort or year is given.

The workload is the deciding factor. This is not a program to fit around a full-time job. Clinical semesters combine weeks on campus with 4–5 week rotations that can approach 40 hours a week, sometimes far from home. Nurses who can cut back to part-time work, or who live near Albuquerque, will manage it best. Nurses who need an online program with local, self-paced clinicals should look elsewhere.


Accreditation

The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) accredits UNM’s Doctor of Nursing Practice program and its post-graduate APRN certificate program. Both FNP routes on this page are covered, which matters because CCNE reviews certificate programs separately from degree programs.

The College of Nursing is also approved by and in good standing with the New Mexico Board of Nursing.

The University of New Mexico is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). Institutional accreditation affects federal financial aid eligibility and how other universities and employers recognize the degree.

Graduates of either route are eligible to sit for the national FNP certification exam (AANP or ANCC). Passing it is required for APRN licensure in New Mexico.


More FNP Programs in New Mexico