University of Tennessee at Chattanooga FNP Programs

College of Nursing • Chattanooga, TN • Hybrid • $649/credit

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:

  • DNP (BSN entry)
  • Post-Graduate Certificate

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. Tuition (In-State )Est. DurationCredit Hours
DNP$56.7K8 sems (2.5 yrs)83
Post-Grad Certificate$19.6K 4 semesters25

UTC’s defining feature is a fixed weekly campus day. The plan of study assigns Mondays in year one, Thursdays in year two, and Wednesdays in year three, and every FNP specialty and practicum course is taught face-to-face in Chattanooga. The program also states outright that it does not encourage students to hold full-time employment while enrolled.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesBSN-to-DNP and post-graduate certificate. The MSN route is no longer offered.
FormatHybrid. Mix of online, hybrid, and face-to-face courses with a designated weekly class day.
Clinical Hours1,050 for the DNP. 1,050 derived for the certificate; UTC does not publish that total.
Clinical PlacementRegional sites across Chattanooga, north Georgia, and northeast Alabama. Faculty monitor preceptor sites directly.
PopulationFamily/individual across the lifespan (FNP-Lifespan).
Distinctive CourseworkSocial Gerontology and the Aging Experience; Procedures for Advanced Practice; Advanced Diagnostic Reasoning.
RN License RequirementsUnencumbered Tennessee RN license, or a multistate compact license for non-residents.
Experience GateOne year of direct patient care experience required before matriculation. Current BLS required throughout.
Start TermOne intake per year. Fall (August) start, March 1 application deadline.
Certificate EligibilityOpen only to nurses already practicing as NPs, whether MSN- or DNP-prepared.
Tuition$649/credit resident, $1,124/credit non-resident, plus flat per-semester fees.
AccreditationCCNE for the DNP and post-graduate APRN certificate. SACSCOC institutionally.

DNP – Family Nurse Practitioner Lifespan

The estimated tuition for the DNP Nurse Practitioner Concentration, Family Nurse Practitioner Lifespan at UTC is approximately $56,713 in-state or $90,929 out-of-state (83 credits at a $649/credit resident rate plus flat semester fees).

The program can generally be completed in about eight semesters, or 2.5 years, and it runs full-time only — there is no part-time plan of study.

DNP Curriculum

The 83-credit sequence is a true BSN-entry doctorate, which means roughly a third of the credit load goes to doctoral coursework rather than FNP clinical preparation. Reading the plan of study by delivery mode is the most useful thing a prospective student can do, because UTC labels every course as online, hybrid, or face-to-face — and the pattern is not random.

Doctoral Core. Year one is where the online coursework concentrates. Technology and Transformation of Health Care, Health Promotion and Illness Prevention, and Leadership in Complex Health Care Systems are all online. Philosophic Underpinnings and Evidence-Based Practice: Methods of Evaluation are hybrid. This front-loading means the first two semesters are the least travel-intensive of the program.

The 3 Ps, Delivered On Campus. Advanced Pathophysiology, DNP Physical Assessment and Diagnosis, and Advanced Pharmacology are each taught face-to-face. Many FNP programs push these online; UTC keeps all three in a classroom. Physical Assessment carries four credits rather than the more common three, which reflects the hands-on examination testing built into it.

FNP Specialty Sequence. The clinical spine runs across years two and three in three population blocks, each pairing a didactic course with its own practicum: adults and the aging individual, reproductive health, then children. A final practicum closes the program. Every one of these courses is face-to-face. Procedures for Advanced Practice, a two-credit hybrid course, sits alongside the first block.

Unusual Coursework. Social Gerontology and the Aging Experience is a three-credit requirement that most FNP curricula do not carry as a standalone course. Advanced Diagnostic Reasoning is likewise a discrete three-credit course rather than content folded into a management class. Both signal a curriculum built to slow down and teach reasoning explicitly.

Translational Project. Four courses totaling 16 credits — Development I and II, Implementation, and Evaluation and Dissemination — run from year two through graduation. That is a substantial share of the degree and is the main reason the credit total sits at 83 rather than the 60s or low 70s typical of BSN-to-DNP FNP programs.

  • NURS 7100 DNP Advanced Pathophysiology (3, face-to-face)
  • NURS 7120 DNP Physical Assessment and Diagnosis (4, face-to-face)
  • NURS 7110 DNP Advanced Pharmacology (3, face-to-face)
  • NURS 7230 Social Gerontology and the Aging Experience (3, hybrid)
  • NURS 7240 Advanced Diagnostic Reasoning (3, hybrid)
  • NURS 7400 Procedures for Advanced Practice (2, hybrid)
  • NURS 7450 Primary Care of Adults and the Aging Individual (3, face-to-face)
  • NURS 7410 Reproductive Health in the Primary Care Setting (3, face-to-face)
  • NURS 7430 Primary Care of Children (3, face-to-face)
  • NURS 7470 Final Practicum (5, face-to-face)

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The published plan of study is filed under a Spring 2027 start, yet the program page advertises a March 1 deadline for an August start and lays out Year 1 Semester 1 as a fall term. Confirm which cohort calendar applies before planning around it.
  • The program page markets 2.5 years, but the plan of study spans three calendar years across eight consecutive semesters, including two summers. Both statements are defensible; the second is what you will actually live.
  • Semester credit loads run 9 to 12 hours with no part-time option, so pacing cannot be adjusted to fit a work schedule.

DNP Clinical Requirements

  • 1,050 total clinical hours, itemized by UTC and confirmed by course-level math: 225 (adults and aging) + 225 (women) + 225 (children) + 375 (final practicum).
  • The final practicum is a 375-hour immersion. UTC states students may use part of it to explore specialty practice rather than staying entirely in primary care.
  • Didactic and clinical courses are taken concurrently rather than sequentially, so classroom content and patient contact reinforce each other in the same term.
  • Clinical sites span the Chattanooga region, including northern Georgia and northeastern Alabama.
  • UTC states that faculty communicate directly with preceptors at each rotation site and that the clinical program is monitored and evaluated on that basis.
  • Typhon, the clinical tracking system, carries a one-time $99 fee.

At 1,050 hours, UTC requires more than twice the 500-hour national certification floor and well above the 600-to-700-hour range common among FNP programs. That volume is not padding — the extra hours sit almost entirely in the 375-hour final practicum, which is unusually long and functions closer to a residency than a capstone rotation. The practical effect is that a UTC graduate enters the job market having already carried something close to a working caseload. The trade-off is time: 1,050 hours across roughly four semesters is a schedule that a full-time nursing job cannot easily absorb, which is precisely why UTC says what it says about employment.

You Should Know
  • UTC does not state whether it places students or whether students source their own preceptors. The language describes faculty oversight of placements, not responsibility for finding them. Ask directly — this is the single most consequential unanswered question on the page.
  • No preceptor credential requirements, faculty site-visit schedule, or out-of-region placement policy is published.
  • Because the specialty and practicum courses are face-to-face in Chattanooga, clinical sites realistically need to sit within commuting range of the campus.

DNP Admissions

Two gates narrow this applicant pool more than the GPA minimum does: a full year of direct patient care experience must be complete before matriculation, and there is a single annual intake with no waiting list. Interviews are extended selectively, not to every applicant.

  • BSN from a program accredited by CCNE, ACEN, or NLN. A bachelor’s degree in another field is not accepted.
  • Minimum 3.0 cumulative undergraduate GPA on a 4.0 scale, with strong science coursework expected.
  • Unencumbered Tennessee RN license, or a multistate compact license if Tennessee is not your state of residence.
  • Minimum one year of direct patient care experience for the FNP specialty.
  • Current BLS certification, maintained throughout the program.
  • Undergraduate health assessment and statistics courses required as prerequisites.
  • Personal statement essay questions; a formatted personal statement may accompany the resume.
  • No GRE or MAT required.
  • Apply by March 1 for an August (fall) start.
  • Up to 9 graduate credits may transfer, with a grade of B or better, if not already applied to another degree.
You Should Know
  • The compact-license requirement quietly excludes residents of non-compact states. If you live in California, New York, Oregon, or another non-compact jurisdiction and cannot obtain Tennessee licensure, this program may not be open to you.
  • UTC’s DNP admissions materials mention a $500 non-refundable seat fee applied later to tuition, but that language appears under the post-master’s DNP entry pathway. Whether it is charged to NP concentration admits is not clearly stated.
  • Interviews are described as a selective step, so an application meeting every stated minimum is not assured of advancing.
  • UTC encourages applicants to shadow a nurse practitioner before applying. It is not required, but it is signaled strongly enough to be worth doing.

Post-Graduate Certificate – Family Nurse Practitioner Lifespan

The estimated tuition for the Post-Graduate Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner Lifespan at UTC is approximately $19,552 in-state or $31,427 out-of-state (25 credits at a $649/credit resident rate plus flat semester fees).

The program can generally be completed in about four semesters.

Certificate Curriculum

The certificate is the FNP specialty sequence lifted out of the doctorate with the doctoral core removed. That structure explains both its brevity and its restriction: 25 credits covers the three population blocks, their practicums, procedures training, and the final practicum, and nothing else. There is no translational project, no leadership or policy coursework, and no 3 Ps sequence — UTC assumes you completed those in your original NP program.

Because it maps onto the same courses the DNP students take, the certificate carries the same face-to-face delivery. Every population course and every practicum in the sequence meets in Chattanooga. Procedures for Advanced Practice is the one hybrid course in the set. The certificate is therefore more campus-intensive per credit than the DNP, not less, since none of the online doctoral core dilutes it.

  • NURS 7400 Procedures for Advanced Practice (2)
  • NURS 7450 Primary Care of Adults and the Aging Individual (3)
  • NURS 7460 Primary Care of Adults and Aging Practicum (3)
  • NURS 7410 Reproductive Health in the Primary Care Setting (3)
  • NURS 7420 Reproductive Health Practicum (3)
  • NURS 7430 Primary Care of Children (3)
  • NURS 7440 Primary Care of Children Practicum (3)
  • NURS 7470 Final Practicum (5)

UTC also offers a separate post-master’s DNP: Nursing (36 credits) for nurses who already hold advanced practice certification and want the doctorate. That degree does not confer FNP eligibility on its own; it is a credential-completion route, not a population-focus route.

You Should Know
  • The 25-credit course list above is derived. UTC publishes the total and the practicum names but not a certificate plan of study. The eight courses shown sum to exactly 25 credits and match the described preceptorships, which is why they are presented here — but confirm the sequence with the program before enrolling.
  • The certificate is open only to nurses already practicing as nurse practitioners. An MSN in nursing education, administration, or informatics does not qualify. Many programs are more permissive here.
  • UTC reviews prior transcripts to confirm appropriate coursework was completed, so the 25-credit total can grow if gaps are found.
  • Stand-alone certificates are frequently ineligible for federal financial aid. UTC does not address the question on its NP pages.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Derived total of 1,050 clinical hours, matching the DNP. Derivation: the certificate includes the same four practicums — adults and aging (225), reproductive health (225), children (225), and the final practicum (375).
  • UTC does not publish a certificate clinical hour total anywhere in its NP materials.
  • Didactic and clinical courses run concurrently, as in the DNP.
  • Same regional site network and same faculty-to-preceptor communication model.

If the derivation holds, the certificate delivers identical clinical volume to the doctorate in less than a third of the credits and roughly a third of the in-state cost. That is an efficient trade for an already-certified NP adding a population focus, and it is the strongest argument for this track. The caution is that 1,050 hours compressed into four semesters is a heavier per-term clinical load than the DNP carries, since the DNP spreads the same hours across a longer runway while also absorbing doctoral coursework.

Certificate Admissions

UTC does not publish a separate admissions checklist for the post-graduate certificate. The eligibility statement is the practical filter: you must already be a practicing nurse practitioner, MSN- or DNP-prepared, and your prior program of study will be reviewed for equivalent coursework.

  • Current practice as a nurse practitioner, MSN- or DNP-prepared.
  • Prior program of study reviewed to confirm appropriate coursework was completed.
  • Deadline, start term, GPA minimum, and license requirements are not separately stated for the certificate. The NP concentration’s March 1 deadline and Tennessee or compact licensure requirement are the reasonable working assumptions until UTC confirms otherwise.

Tuition

UTC does not publish a single FNP program rate. The cost per credit is built from stacked components on the university’s FY 2026-27 fee schedule: $534 per credit in graduate maintenance fees, plus a $115 per credit College of Nursing differential, for a published resident rate of $649 per credit. Non-residents add $475 per credit in out-of-state tuition, reaching $1,124 per credit. Two caps matter: maintenance and out-of-state tuition both stop increasing at nine credit hours, while the nursing differential is charged on every credit with no cap.

Because every DNP semester carries nine or more credits, all eight semesters bill at the capped rate. That produces a flat $5,896 per semester in-state for tuition and mandatory fees, plus the differential.

  • DNP, in-state: 8 semesters x $5,896 = $47,168, plus 83 credits x $115 = $9,545. Total approximately $56,713.
  • DNP, out-of-state: 8 semesters x $10,173 = $81,384, plus $9,545 differential. Total approximately $90,929.
  • Certificate, in-state: derived semester loads of 8, 6, 6, and 5 credits bill at $5,277 + $4,011 + $4,011 + $3,378 = $16,677, plus 25 credits x $115 = $2,875. Total approximately $19,552.
  • Certificate, out-of-state: $28,552 in tuition and fees plus $2,875 differential. Total approximately $31,427.
  • Regional tuition credit: residents of Catoosa, Dade, Fannin, Murray, Walker, and Whitfield counties in Georgia and Jackson County in Alabama pay in-house fees plus 25% of out-of-state tuition. For the DNP that works out to roughly $6,965 per semester, or about $65,267 all-in — roughly $25,662 below the standard non-resident figure. Eligibility must be confirmed with the UTC Graduate School.
  • Published additional expenses: textbooks approximately $2,000, malpractice insurance $76 for two academic years, Typhon tracking fee $99, BLS recertification from $35, and certification exam fees of $240 (AANP) or $395 (ANCC) for members.
  • Required health insurance: proof of coverage must be submitted every semester. Students cannot register or attend clinicals without it on file.

Be aware that:

  • UTC’s NP Expenses page instructs applicants to add a $105 per credit hour nursing fee. The bursar’s FY 2026-27 fee schedule lists the College of Nursing differential at $115 per credit. Using the program page’s figure understates the DNP by about $830. Treat the bursar’s schedule as authoritative.
  • The fee schedules state that students in an on-campus program who register for online courses are assessed an additional $56 per credit hour. Nineteen credits of the FNP plan of study are online-designated, which would add roughly $1,064 and push the in-state total near $57,777. UTC does not clarify whether the DNP-NP concentration is coded as an on-campus degree, and the answer changes the bill. Ask the bursar’s office in writing.
  • UTC publishes a separate, cheaper online and distance fee schedule where out-of-state graduate tuition is only $50 per credit instead of $475. If the NP concentration were billed on that schedule, non-resident cost would fall dramatically. Given the weekly face-to-face requirement, the on-campus schedule is the reasonable assumption — but confirm your billing code, because the difference runs into tens of thousands of dollars.
  • The online and distance schedule expressly excludes students from the regional tuition credit. Georgia and Alabama border-county applicants should verify that the credit is preserved under whatever schedule they are assigned.
  • UTC states costs may increase modestly each academic year. Figures here reflect FY 2026-27 and are not locked for a cohort.
  • Certificate semester loads are derived from the DNP plan of study, not published. If UTC sequences the certificate differently, the flat-fee count changes and the total shifts with it.
  • Per credit, the certificate is the more expensive of the two tracks — about $782 all-in in-state versus $683 for the DNP — because flat semester fees are spread across fewer credits.

The headline number is only part of the picture. UTC’s real cost driver is not tuition but foregone income: a full-time-only program that discourages full-time work turns 2.5 years of reduced earnings into the largest line item on the ledger, and no fee schedule shows it.

Current rates can be confirmed on UTC’s Bursar fee information page.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for nurses who live within driving distance of Chattanooga, can restructure their work life around a fixed weekly class day, and want classroom-based clinical training rather than an online degree.

The format is the product, not a limitation. Most FNP programs compete on how little they ask of you. UTC competes on the opposite. Advanced pathophysiology, physical assessment, pharmacology, and every population-focused specialty course meet face-to-face, with a designated class day for each year of the program. For nurses who learn assessment skills through hands-on practice and want faculty in the room during diagnostic reasoning, that is worth paying for in travel time. For nurses who need to study at 10 p.m. after a shift, it is disqualifying. There is no middle position here, and UTC does not pretend there is.

Clinical volume is genuinely high. 1,050 hours is more than double the national certification floor, and the weight sits in a 375-hour final practicum that gives students something closer to residency-scale continuity than a rotation. Paired with concurrent didactic-clinical scheduling and faculty who communicate directly with preceptors, this is a program structured around supervised patient contact rather than around convenience. The certificate carries the same hours in a quarter of the credits, which makes it an efficient route for an already-certified NP adding a family population focus.

The employment warning is the honest part. UTC tells applicants plainly that it does not encourage full-time work during enrollment and suggests using saved leave or flexible part-time hours. Few programs say this out loud. It is a service to applicants, but it is also a real constraint: with no part-time plan of study, 9 to 12 credits every term, and a single annual intake, there is no pressure valve if life changes mid-program. Budget for reduced income, not just tuition.

Geography decides a lot of this. In-state cost is moderate for a doctorate. Non-resident cost is not — unless you live in one of six north Georgia counties or Jackson County, Alabama, where the regional tuition credit cuts roughly $25,000 off the bill. That makes UTC an unusually strong value for nurses in the tri-state corner around Chattanooga and a hard sell for anyone who would need to relocate.

The verdict is a feasibility test more than a preference test. Ask three questions in order: Can I reach Chattanooga reliably on a weekday, every week, for three academic years? Can I absorb 2.5 years of reduced income? Do I hold a Tennessee or compact license? A yes to all three makes UTC a strong choice with clinical depth most online programs cannot match. A no to any one of them is not a close call — it is a different program.


Accreditation

The Doctor of Nursing Practice and the post-graduate APRN certificate at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). This scope was verified from UTC’s own College of Nursing accreditation statement, which names the baccalaureate degree, the Doctor of Nursing Practice, and the post-graduate APRN certificate.

The certificate’s inclusion in that scope matters. Post-graduate certificates are not always covered by a school’s nursing accreditation, and certification boards care about the distinction. At UTC, the certificate is named explicitly.

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga is institutionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees.

UTC states that graduates of both the DNP FNP track and the FNP-L certificate are prepared for the national FNP certification exam offered by either the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) or the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP). Dual eligibility is standard for FNP graduates and gives you a choice of certifying body.

You Should Know
  • Some UTC accreditation statements still list a master’s degree in nursing within the CCNE scope. The MSN NP route has been discontinued and replaced by the DNP; the certificate is the remaining non-doctoral option.
  • UTC does not publish a CCNE accreditation term end date on its NP pages. Current status can be verified directly through CCNE.
  • The unit is referred to as both “School of Nursing” and “College of Nursing” across UTC’s own pages, reflecting a recent rename. It is the same unit.

Compare More Family NP Programs