Olivet Nazarene University offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:
- Master of Science in Nursing
- Post-Graduate APRN Certificate
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN | $38.4K | 36 mo | 53 |
| Certificate | $20.3K | 13 mo | 28 |
Olivet’s defining feature is that both credentials carry the same 750 clinical hours, but the certificate compresses them into 13 months against the MSN’s 36. That is roughly 2.8 times the monthly clinical pace for the same total obligation.
Coursework is fully online for both tracks with no stated campus requirement, and clinical hours are completed locally with a preceptor the student finds.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MSN-FNP; Post-Graduate APRN Certificate (FNP-C) |
| Format | Online. Three start terms per year; no campus attendance stated on either program page. |
| Clinical Hours | 750 for both tracks, across four clinical courses |
| Clinical Placement | Student-secured preceptor. MSN escalates to staff support after 30 unsuccessful attempts; certificate has no stated threshold. |
| Population | Family across the lifespan |
| Distinctive Coursework | Each population course pairs with a separate co-registered clinical course; capstone FNP Immersion |
| RN License Requirements | Unencumbered RN license in any U.S. jurisdiction; practicum must sit in a state Olivet has approved |
| RN Experience Gate | 2,000 documented RN hours required for both tracks |
| Tuition | $725 per credit hour, both tracks |
| Accreditation | CCNE, covering the master’s program and the post-graduate APRN certificate |
Master of Science in Nursing: Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the MSN-FNP at Olivet Nazarene University is approximately $38,425 (53 credits at $725 per credit; derived by multiplication, not published as a total). The program can generally be completed in about 36 months across three start terms per year.
Full details are on the Master of Science in Nursing: FNP program page.
MSN Curriculum
Shared core. Five courses run across every MSN track at Olivet: foundations of advanced practice, healthcare innovation and policy, informatics and quality improvement, population health, and a four-credit evidence translation course. These 16 credits are the portion an FNP applicant pays for that a certificate applicant does not.
Paired didactic and clinical design. The FNP sequence does not pool clinical hours into one generic practicum. Each population course carries a matching clinical course taken alongside it, so adult and older adult, women’s health, pediatric, and lifespan content each have dedicated hours attached. The practical effect is that a student cannot bank hours in a convenient setting and count them broadly. Placement has to match the population being studied that term, which is harder to arrange but produces a more evenly distributed clinical record.
Three separate advanced practice sciences. Olivet’s other MSN track compresses advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment into one combined course. The FNP track breaks them into three FNP-specific courses instead. That is a meaningful depth difference within the same school, and it accounts for nine of the credits separating the MSN from the certificate.
- NRSG 601 Foundations for Advanced Nursing Practice
- NRSG 604 Population Health
- NRSG 681 Nursing Inquiry and Evidence Translation
- NRSG 635 Professional Role Development of the FNP
- NRSG 643 / 644 / 645 Advanced Pathophysiology, Pharmacology, and Health Assessment for the FNP
- NRSG 636 / 636C Adult and Older Adult Primary Care and Clinical
- NRSG 637 / 637C Women’s Health Primary Care and Clinical
- NRSG 638 / 638C Pediatric Primary Care and Clinical
- NRSG 639 / 639C Primary Care Across the Lifespan and Clinical
- NRSG 688 FNP Immersion
More curriculum details are available in the Olivet graduate catalog MSN record.
You Should Know
- The catalog lists the FNP course sequence under a header reading “Effective July 2028,” yet the program admits students for August 2026. ⚠ Ask the program director which course list governs a 2026 start.
- Per-course credit values are not published. The 53-credit total is Olivet’s figure; the internal split shown above is derived from the arithmetic and should be confirmed.
- Up to 9 credits may transfer in, which would reduce tuition to roughly $31,900. Transfer eligibility is limited to a named list of courses and requires syllabus review before enrollment.
- Any course older than five years must be repeated. Clinical courses finished more than two years before graduation may require an audit, extra continuing education, or a competency check.
- Only one grade of C or C-plus is accepted on the final transcript, and a student may repeat at most two different nursing courses.
MSN Clinical Requirements
- 750 total clinical hours across four clinical courses, averaging 187.5 hours each
- Hours completed locally, under an approved preceptor the student selects
- Students are directed first to their own professional networks
- The School of Nursing Clinical Coordinator provides substantial assistance after 30 unsuccessful preceptor attempts
- Placements arranged by the coordinator may not match the student’s preferred location
- Practicum must be completed in a state Olivet has determined meets APRN educational requirements
750 hours sits 50 percent above the 500-hour national certification floor and slightly above the 600 to 700 range most FNP programs land in. Spread across 36 months that works out to under five hours a week, which is why the MSN is the more workable option for a nurse staying in a full-time bedside job. The placement model is the harder part. Olivet publishes a specific escalation number rather than a vague promise of help, which is more honest than most programs manage, but 30 documented attempts is a substantial amount of unpaid administrative work before institutional support begins.
You Should Know
- NRSG 688 is titled “FNP Immersion.” Olivet’s own video library has advertised FNP Immersion sessions on specific dates with limited seating, which raises the question of whether the course involves travel. Neither program page states a campus requirement, and the format is not clearly stated. Confirm before assuming zero travel.
- Olivet does not publish how the 750 hours divide among the four clinical courses, so the 187.5-hour average is derived and the real distribution may be uneven.
- No clinical placement guarantee is stated. Support is described, not promised.
MSN Admissions
Two gates matter more than the rest here: a documented 2,000 hours of RN work experience, and an outright bar on applicants dismissed from another MSN program.
- Earned BSN from a regionally accredited institution
- Minimum 3.0 undergraduate GPA in the BSN
- Current unencumbered RN license in a U.S. jurisdiction
- Completed undergraduate statistics course with a grade of C or better
- Evidence of at least 2,000 hours worked as an RN
- Signed consent for criminal background check and drug screening
- No personal interview required
- Applicants dismissed from another MSN program are not admitted
You Should Know
- The 2,000-hour requirement can be satisfied after admission, but it must be complete by the end of the evidence translation course. Falling short triggers a temporary withdrawal until the hours are met.
- Applicants below the GPA, license, or transcript thresholds may be considered for conditional enrollment through an admissions counselor.
- Olivet has not determined APRN licensure eligibility in every state. The FNP disclosure is published as a downloadable Word document dated March 12, 2026, marking each state Met, Not Met, or Undetermined. Check your state on that document before applying, and notify the university if you move mid-program.
- The MSN page lists one start date while describing three starts a year. Confirm the term you intend to enter.
Post-Graduate APRN Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate
The estimated tuition for the Post-Graduate APRN Certificate at Olivet Nazarene University is approximately $20,300 (28 credits at $725 per credit; derived by multiplication, not published as a total). The program can generally be completed in about 13 months, provided the applicant arrives with all prerequisite coursework already satisfied.
Full details are on the Post-Graduate APRN Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate Track page.
Certificate Curriculum
The certificate runs the same FNP population and clinical sequence as the MSN. What it drops is the five-course MSN core and the three FNP-specific advanced practice science courses, which is how 53 credits becomes 28. Admission requires that pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment were already completed at the graduate level within the past five years, so the certificate assumes that foundation rather than teaching it.
That assumption is the whole basis of the 13-month timeline. Olivet’s own footnote states that an applicant missing prerequisite coursework will see both credit hours and program length increase. A master’s-prepared nurse whose advanced practice sciences are six or seven years old is either sitting a competency test or adding courses, and the published duration no longer applies.
- NRSG 635 Professional Role Development of the FNP
- NRSG 636 / 636C Adult and Older Adult Primary Care and Clinical
- NRSG 637 / 637C Women’s Health Primary Care and Clinical
- NRSG 638 / 638C Pediatric Primary Care and Clinical
- NRSG 639 / 639C Primary Care Across the Lifespan and Clinical
- NRSG 688 FNP Immersion
You Should Know
- Olivet publishes no course-by-course list specific to the certificate. The sequence above is derived from the catalog’s combined FNP and post-graduate track listing and the 28-credit total.
- A competency test can substitute for expired advanced practice science coursework, but the program reviews prior courses and makes the final call.
- The downloadable program sheet was marked as not yet available at the time of review.
Certificate Clinical Requirements
- 750 total clinical hours across four clinical courses, identical to the MSN
- Hours completed locally under an approved, self-selected preceptor
- The School of Nursing Clinical Coordinator provides support in securing a preceptor, with no attempt threshold stated
- Placements may fall outside the student’s preferred geography
- Practicum must sit in a state Olivet has approved
This is where the certificate gets demanding. The same 750 hours that spread across 36 months in the MSN have to fit inside 13, which averages about 13 hours a week if the load were even across the whole program. It is not even. Clinical courses cannot start in the first term, so a realistic estimate lands closer to 18 to 22 hours a week during the clinical stretch. For a nurse working full time, that is a second job. The one thing working in the certificate student’s favor is placement support: the certificate page describes coordinator help without the 30-attempt condition attached to the MSN, which matters when there is far less calendar to absorb a failed search.
You Should Know
- The weekly hour estimates above are derived from the published 750 hours and 13-month duration. Olivet does not publish a term-by-term clinical schedule.
- The two pages describe preceptor support differently. Whether that reflects a real policy difference or inconsistent page copy is not stated, so confirm it with the clinical coordinator.
- The certificate lists two start dates while also describing three starts a year.
Certificate Admissions
The prerequisite rule is the gate that decides whether the advertised 13 months applies to you.
- Earned MSN from a regionally accredited institution
- Minimum 3.0 graduate GPA
- Current unencumbered RN license in a U.S. jurisdiction
- At least two of advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment completed with a B-minus or better, the third no lower than a C, within the past five years
- Competency test available where the five-year window has lapsed
- Evidence of at least 2,000 hours worked as an RN
- Signed consent for criminal background check and drug screening
You Should Know
- Applicants short on GPA, licensure, or the advanced practice sciences may be considered for conditional enrollment.
- State APRN eligibility is not determined everywhere. Check your state on Olivet’s March 2026 FNP licensure disclosure document before applying.
- Certificate holders should verify with their state board that a post-graduate APRN certificate from this program satisfies licensure requirements, since some boards treat certificate credentials differently from degree credentials.
Tuition
Olivet publishes a flat rate of $725 per credit hour for both FNP tracks. There is no resident or non-resident distinction, and no separate rate for the certificate.
| Track | Credits | Rate | Derived Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN-FNP | 53 | $725 | $38,425 |
| MSN-FNP with 9 transfer credits | 44 | $725 | $31,900 |
| Post-Graduate APRN Certificate | 28 | $725 | $20,300 |
All three totals are derived by multiplying credits by the published rate. Olivet does not publish program totals.
Confirmed costs:
- $725 per credit hour, identical across both tracks and all states
- $38,425 derived MSN tuition; $20,300 derived certificate tuition
- Maximum 9 transfer credits on either track, worth $6,525
- Discounts available for practice partners, alumni, and faculty
- A one-time $250 scholarship for attending a virtual open house
Be aware that:
- Program-specific nursing fees exist and are published on a separate fee sheet that was not available for review. Amounts are not clearly stated, so the derived totals above are tuition only and understate the real cost.
- Background check, drug screening, immunization, and malpractice coverage costs are not disclosed on either program page.
- The certificate’s $20,300 assumes no prerequisite coursework is added. Olivet’s own footnote says credits and length both increase if prerequisites are missing, so a student adding the three advanced practice sciences could pay roughly $6,525 more.
- The transfer discount is conditional. Only specific courses qualify, the grade floor is a B-minus, the work must be within five years of matriculation, and the evidence translation course caps transfer at three of its four credits.
- No academic year is stated for the $725 rate, and no multi-year rate lock is published. Budget for possible increases across a 36-month MSN.
The honest read on cost is that the per-credit rate is uncomplicated and the arithmetic is easy, but the published figures are incomplete. Until you have the nursing fee sheet in hand, treat $38,425 and $20,300 as floors rather than estimates. The certificate is the better value per clinical hour by a wide margin, since it delivers the same 750 hours for roughly 53 percent of the MSN’s tuition, but it only reaches that price if your prerequisites are current.
Why Choose This FNP Program?
Best suited for nurses who already know which credential they need and can be honest with themselves about how many clinical hours a week they can actually cover.
A genuinely long MSN runway. Thirty-six months is longer than many online FNP programs, and that is the point. Spreading 750 hours across three years puts the weekly clinical burden under five hours on average, which is what makes the degree survivable alongside a full-time nursing job. Nurses who need to keep earning while they study get more from Olivet’s pacing than from a compressed program that looks faster on paper and then collides with their schedule.
Clinical depth above the common range. 750 hours exceeds the 500-hour certification floor by half and sits above the 600 to 700 band most FNP programs occupy. Combined with the paired course design, where every population course carries its own clinical course, graduates finish with documented hours in adult, geriatric, women’s health, pediatric, and lifespan settings rather than a single-setting concentration. That is a stronger clinical record entering a first NP job.
The trade-off is placement work. Olivet does not guarantee placements, and MSN students carry the search themselves until 30 attempts have failed. If you live somewhere with thin preceptor supply, or you have no existing clinical network, that is real risk on a program where the clinical requirement is above average. Nurses who already have preceptor relationships in place will find this program considerably easier than nurses starting cold.
Accreditation
The baccalaureate degree program in nursing, master’s degree program in nursing, and post-graduate APRN certificate program at Olivet Nazarene University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. That scope statement matters because it names the post-graduate APRN certificate explicitly, so certificate students are covered by the same accreditation as MSN students rather than relying on institutional accreditation alone.
CCNE will conduct a reaccreditation site visit covering all School of Nursing programs and tracks on October 7 through 9, 2026. This is a scheduled renewal review, not a sanction, and current accreditation remains in effect. Third-party comments were due to CCNE by September 16, 2026.
Olivet Nazarene University is a regionally accredited institution. Institutional accreditation determines federal financial aid eligibility and whether other universities will accept your credits, which is the practical reason it matters if you later pursue a DNP elsewhere.
Graduates of both tracks are educationally prepared to sit for the national FNP certification exam through either the American Nurses Credentialing Center or the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board. Dual eligibility gives you a choice of exam rather than locking you into one certifying body. State authorization and licensure eligibility are addressed in each track’s admissions section above.
Compare More Family NP Programs
- Aurora University - Aurora
- Bradley University - Peoria
- Chamberlain University - Addison
- DePaul University - Chicago
- Governors State University - University Park
- Illinois State University - Normal
- Loyola University Chicago - Maywood
- North Central College - Naperville
- North Park University - Chicago
- Northern Illinois University
- Rush University - Chicago
- Saint Anthony College of Nursing - Rockford
- Saint Xavier University - Chicago
- Southern Illinois University Edwardsville - Edwardsville
- University of St. Francis - Joliet