Carlow University

School of Nursing • Pittsburgh, PA • Mostly Online or Hybrid • $946/credit

Carlow University offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:

  • MSN
  • Post-Master’s Certificate

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
MSN$46.4K2–2.5 yrs49
Post-MSN Cert.$34.1K1–2.5 yrs 36

Carlow’s defining advantage is a clinical placement network paid for with federal money. A $2.6 million HRSA grant built 32 partner sites in medically underserved areas, 19 of them Federally Qualified Health Centers, and Carlow states that clinical sites are provided for students rather than left to them to arrange.

Two caveats carry equal weight. The grant’s $23,000 tuition award is closed to new applicants and the funding period ends in 2027. Carlow’s own disclosure page also bars MSN enrollment for residents of 14 states, a restriction that appears on none of the program pages.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesMSN and post-master’s certificate; each offered online or on campus
FormatOnline option: Mostly Online with a campus residency. Campus option: Hybrid, one evening every other week
Clinical Hours760 (MSN); 525–600 (certificate, varies by NP licensure status)
Clinical PlacementCarlow states clinical sites are provided for students; urban and rural mix
PopulationFamily / individual across the lifespan
Distinctive CourseworkPrimary care skills lab: suturing, splinting and casting, joint injections, radiograph interpretation
ConcentrationsNone offered; HRSA-funded rotations emphasize women’s health and behavioral health
RN License RequirementsCurrent, valid, unrestricted RN license required at application
Experience GateOne year direct-care nursing experience required before clinical rotations, not before admission
Admissions InterviewRequired; the program director schedules an interview with qualified applicants
Start TermsOnline: fall and spring. Campus hybrid: fall only
Transfer CreditUp to 9 graduate credits accepted into the MSN
Tuition$946 per credit, the flat nurse practitioner rate for all Carlow NP programs
AccreditationCCNE; Middle States institutional; approved by the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing

MSN — Family (Individual Across the Lifespan) Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Online MSN FNP at Carlow University is approximately $46,354 (49 credits at $946 per credit). The program can generally be completed in about 2.5 years online, or in 24 months full-time and 36 months part-time through the on-campus hybrid option.

MSN Curriculum

Carlow builds the FNP degree out of an unusually large number of small courses. Twenty-three courses fill 49 credits, and seven of them are half-credit to two-credit clinical practicums attached to a specific didactic course. The practical effect is that clinical work never runs as a standalone block at the end. Each practicum is bolted to the theory course it belongs with, so assessment hours accompany the assessment course and pediatric hours accompany the pediatric course.

NOTE: The two published course lists do not agree. Carlow’s online course page lists 23 courses totaling 48 credits while claiming 24 classes and 49 credits. The campus plan of study omits NU 743 Organizational Leadership entirely, lists NU 737 twice, and assigns NU 793 two credits rather than one.

The lists reconcile at 49 credits over 23 courses only if you take NU 743 from the online page and NU 793’s two-credit value from the plan of study. Ask the program director which version governs your cohort before assuming the total.

Foundation Courses — pathophysiology carries four credits, more than the three most FNP programs assign, and a one-credit scholarly writing course sits ahead of the research sequence.

Diagnostic Sequence — Carlow separates differential diagnosis into its own one-credit course rather than folding it into assessment. NU 749 teaches the move from symptom to diagnosis using algorithms and test sensitivity, and it sits between the assessment course and the primary care management sequence.

Unique Coursework — NU 7481 is a primary care skills lab covering suturing, extremity splinting and casting, joint injections, and reading radiographs and lab values. It runs on campus and carries 47.5 clinical hours. Procedural training at this level of specificity is not standard in FNP curricula, and it maps directly to what a rural or FQHC clinic expects a new NP to handle without referral.

  • NU 741 Human Pathophysiology (4 credits)
  • NU 745 Advanced Physical Assessment and Diagnostics (3 credits)
  • NU 7481 Primary Care Clinical Skill Lab (0.5 credits, on campus)
  • NU 749 Differential Diagnosis (1 credit)
  • NU 742 Advanced Practice Nursing Pharmacology (3 credits)
  • NU 746 / NU 747 Chronic and Episodic Management of the Family I and II (3 credits each)
  • NU 752 Advanced Practice Nursing in Women’s Health (2 credits)
  • NU 751 Advanced Practice Nursing in Pediatrics (2 credits)
  • NU 748 Health Promotion in Families and Communities (3 credits)
  • NU 793 Professional Transitions, including a quality improvement project and IRB proposal (1–2 credits ⚠)

More curriculum details are available here.

MSN Clinical Requirements

  • 760 total clinical hours, confirmed by summing the seven practicum courses
  • NU 7451 Assessment Practicum: 47.5 hours
  • NU 7481 Primary Care Skills Lab: 47.5 hours, completed on campus
  • NU 7461 and NU 7471 Chronic and Episodic Management Practicums: 190 hours each
  • NU 7521 Women’s Health Practicum: 95 hours
  • NU 7511 Pediatrics Practicum: 95 hours
  • NU 7151 Community Practicum: 95 hours
  • Hours convert at a consistent 95 clinical hours per practicum credit
  • Carlow states clinical sites are provided for students, placed across a mix of urban and rural agencies
  • Assessment clinicals take place in clinics in rural and medically underserved areas
  • Faculty site visit policy, preceptor approval process, and student travel radius are not stated

At 760 hours, Carlow sits well above the 500-hour certification floor and above the 600 to 700 range common among FNP programs. That extra volume is not padding. It buys 380 hours in the two primary care management practicums alone, which is where diagnostic independence actually develops. The placement claim matters more than the hour count for most applicants.

Programs that assign sites remove the single largest failure point in NP education, since a nurse who cannot find a preceptor cannot progress regardless of grades. Carlow’s grant-funded network of 32 sites gives that claim substance rather than leaving it as marketing language. What Carlow does not publish is how placement works if you live outside the Pittsburgh region, which is the question an online student in another state most needs answered.

MSN Admissions

Two features shape the timeline. The program director interviews every qualified applicant, so budget scheduling time beyond the application deadline. The one-year experience requirement is tied to the start of clinical rotations rather than to admission, which means a nurse with ten months of experience can still apply and begin coursework.

  • BSN from an accredited college or university
  • Undergraduate nursing GPA of 3.00 or higher (stated as required on one page, preferred on another ⚠)
  • Current, valid, and unrestricted RN license
  • Official transcripts from all degree-granting institutions
  • Personal essay describing academic objectives
  • Current resume or curriculum vitae
  • Two letters of recommendation, one from a supervisor
  • Completed undergraduate statistics course
  • One year of current direct-care clinical nursing experience before clinical rotations begin
  • Interview with the program director
  • No GRE or GMAT required; application is free
  • Two start dates per year online; the campus hybrid admits in fall only

Post-Master’s Certificate — Family (Individual Across the Lifespan) Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Online Post-Master’s FNP Certificate at Carlow University is approximately $34,056 (36 credits at $946 per credit). Completion time depends on what you already hold: three semesters for a nurse practitioner already licensed in another specialty, seven semesters for everyone else.

Certificate Curriculum

The distinguishing feature here is who gets in. Carlow accepts both licensed nurse practitioners changing population focus and master’s-prepared nurses who have never held NP licensure. Most post-master’s FNP certificates assume you are already an NP and are simply adding a population. Carlow’s seven-semester path exists for the second group, and it is close to a full FNP education delivered without a second degree attached.

Certificate students may also take up to six credits of doctoral coursework inside the certificate, which shortens a later DNP if Carlow is where you continue.

⚠ Carlow publishes no course list for the certificate. The 36-credit figure is stated alongside the phrase “depending on if you are a licensed nurse practitioner,” which cannot both be true. A licensed NP finishing in three semesters is not completing the same 36 credits as a non-NP finishing in seven. Treat 36 credits and $34,056 as the ceiling for the longest path, and expect a gap analysis to set your actual plan of study. For NP graduates in another specialty, Carlow states that a gap analysis determines the study plan after evidence of current licensure and certification is submitted.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • 525 to 600 clinical hours, the range depending on whether you are already a licensed NP
  • Clinical training spans primary care, substance use disorders, women’s health, and telehealth
  • No per-course clinical hour breakdown is published, so the range cannot be independently verified
  • Placement model is not separately stated for the certificate

The certificate’s floor of 525 hours clears the 500-hour certification minimum by a narrow margin, and its ceiling of 600 still lands 160 hours below the MSN’s 760. That gap is the trade-off for entering with prior graduate preparation. If you are a licensed NP transferring population focus, 525 hours is defensible because your assessment and pharmacology foundation is already built. If you are entering without NP licensure, ask specifically which end of the range applies to you, since arriving at the low end with no prior advanced practice experience is a materially thinner clinical preparation than the MSN provides at the same school.

Certificate Admissions

The certificate carries a provisional admission route the MSN does not advertise. Applicants who fall short of the criteria but show strong likelihood of academic success can be admitted provisionally, which gives a nurse with a weak undergraduate GPA a path that most competing programs close.

  • Completed application and official transcripts from all degree-granting institutions
  • Current, valid, and unrestricted RN license
  • Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher preferred, with provisional admission possible below that
  • Personal essay, current resume, and two letters of recommendation (one from a supervisor)
  • Completed undergraduate statistics course
  • One year of bedside nursing experience
  • Interview with the program director
  • NP applicants in another specialty must show current licensure and certification for gap analysis
  • No GRE or GMAT required

Tuition

Carlow charges a flat $946 per credit for every nurse practitioner program, with no residency distinction and no separate online rate. That produces an estimated $46,354 for the 49-credit MSN and $34,056 for the 36-credit certificate. Both figures are tuition only. Carlow’s published fee schedule adds roughly $5,754 to the MSN, about 12 percent on top of the advertised total.

  • Cost per credit: $946 (nurse practitioner rate)
  • MSN tuition: 49 credits × $946 = $46,354, matching Carlow’s published figure
  • Certificate tuition: 36 credits × $946 = $34,056 (derived estimate)
  • Nursing fee: $100 per NU course. Across 23 MSN courses, an estimated $2,300
  • College of Health and Wellness fee: $300 per graduate clinical course. Across seven practicums, an estimated $2,100
  • University fee: $21 per credit, an estimated $1,029 across the MSN
  • Orientation fee: $325, charged once
  • Estimated MSN all-in tuition and fees: approximately $52,108
  • Carlow participates in Yellow Ribbon and is Military Friendly designated

Be aware that:

  • Carlow’s published MSN total of $46,354 carries an asterisk stating it excludes course fees and additional mandatory fees. The all-in figure above is our derivation from Carlow’s fee schedule, not a Carlow-published number.
  • The $300 clinical course fee is defined as applying per graduate clinical course. We applied it to the seven practicum courses. If Carlow also counts the didactic management courses as clinical, the fee total rises.
  • The adult and graduate Health and Wellness fee of $67 appears on the schedule without a stated basis. Whether it is charged per semester or once is not specified, and it is excluded from the estimate above.
  • Carlow states an average tuition and fee increase of 3 to 5 percent per academic year and reserves the right to modify charges at any time. A 2.5-year MSN spans three billing years, so the rate you enroll under is not the rate you finish under.
  • The certificate total assumes the full 36 credits. A licensed NP finishing in three semesters will pay materially less, but Carlow publishes no reduced credit count to calculate from.
  • The $23,000 HRSA IMPACT tuition award is closed to new students, and the grant period ends in 2027. Do not model it into your cost.
  • The graduate certificate line on Carlow’s fee schedule reads “cost of masters credits with which certificate aligns,” which resolves to the $946 NP rate but is not stated as a dollar figure.

Full tuition detail is on Carlow’s MSN FNP tuition page. The practical takeaway is that Carlow’s real MSN cost sits closer to $52,000 than to the $46,354 headline, and that fees here are course-count driven rather than semester driven, so the program’s many small courses work against you on the fee line.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for nurses who intend to practice in underserved primary care, want their clinical sites arranged for them, and can confirm their state is not on Carlow’s exclusion list.

Carlow has built something most FNP programs only describe. The $2.6 million HRSA award produced 32 clinical partner sites in medically underserved areas, 19 FQHC partnerships, and a preceptor stipend of up to $500 per student per semester that gives working clinicians a reason to take students. Combine that with 760 clinical hours and a procedural skills lab covering suturing, splinting, and joint injections, and the program is visibly designed around graduates who will be the only provider in the room. Four graduates hired directly by Pittsburgh FQHCs is a small number, but it is a published outcome rather than an aspiration.

The honest trade-off is timing and geography. The tuition assistance that made this program exceptionally affordable for underserved-care students is closed to new applicants, and the grant that funds the preceptor stipends and site relationships ends in 2027. A nurse starting a 2.5-year MSN now finishes around the time the funding does. The clinical network may well outlast the money, since institutional relationships tend to persist, but nobody has published a commitment to that effect. The separate HRSA Nurse Faculty Loan Program remains open and can cancel up to 85 percent of principal and interest, but it pays for teaching, not for FQHC practice, which is a different career than the one this program markets.

Geography is the harder gate. Fourteen states are excluded from the MSN, and that list lives on a policy disclosure page rather than any program page. It is a longer exclusion list than most Pennsylvania FNP programs carry. Before anything else, confirm three things in writing: that your state is eligible, that Carlow will place you within reasonable distance of where you live, and what specifically continues after the grant ends. If the answer to the third question is that the FQHC relationships stand on their own, Carlow is a strong choice for underserved primary care. If the answer is vague, you are buying a program whose distinguishing feature has an expiration date.


Accreditation

Carlow University’s baccalaureate, master’s, Doctor of Nursing Practice, and post-graduate APRN certificate programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), 655 K Street NW, Suite 750, Washington, DC 20001. That scope statement covers both FNP tracks explicitly, including the post-master’s certificate. All Carlow nursing programs are approved by the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing, and the university is institutionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Carlow states that graduates are eligible to sit for family nurse practitioner certification through either the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) or the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), which is the dual eligibility most FNP graduates hold.


Compare More Family NP Programs

Compare all Pennsylvania online FNP programs