La Roche University FNP Programs

Department of Nursing • Pittsburgh, PA • Mostly Online • $932/credit

La Roche University offers a Post-Master’s Certificate Family Nurse Practitioner Track.


Program Track Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
Post-Master’s Cert.$27,960 ($22,290 discounted)2 yrs (part-time)30

La Roche’s defining feature is a narrow front door. The FNP is a certificate only — there is no MSN or DNP entry point — and applicants must already hold a master’s degree plus an active, unrestricted Pennsylvania RN license.

Two things follow from that. Nurses licensed outside Pennsylvania are not eligible unless they hold a multistate license, and nurses who fit the profile get a compact 30-credit sequence with a published 20% tuition discount for employees of partner health systems. La Roche does not publish a clinical hour total or a placement policy for this program.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesPost-master’s certificate only. No MSN or DNP FNP entry point.
FormatMostly Online — online coursework, virtual simulation, simulation-center hours. Modality never formally stated.
Clinical HoursNot clearly stated . Eight practicum credits across four courses.
Clinical PlacementNot clearly stated . No preceptor, placement, or faculty-visit policy published.
PopulationIndividuals and families across the lifespan, birth to end of life.
Distinctive CourseworkAdult care split across two diagnosis-and-management courses; women and children combined into one.
ConcentrationsNone. Fixed 12-course sequence with no electives.
RN License RequirementsActive, unrestricted Pennsylvania RN license. International applicants need PA or multistate.
Experience GateMinimum one year of professional RN experience.
Start TermSummer only. Six-semester lockstep sequence, part-time throughout.
Tuition$932/credit standard; $743/credit for alumni, partner-employer, and corporate-discount students.
AccreditationACEN (nursing); Middle States Commission on Higher Education (institutional).

Post-Master’s Certificate — Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Family Nurse Practitioner Post Master’s Certificate at La Roche University is approximately $27,960 (30 credits at $932/credit), or $22,290 at the $743 discounted rate.

The program can generally be completed in six semesters over two years, running summer start through spring of the second year.

Post-Master’s Certificate Curriculum

No graduate core. Because every applicant already holds a master’s degree, La Roche charges nothing toward theory, research methods, policy, or informatics. All 30 credits are advanced practice content. That is the practical argument for the certificate route over a second full degree: you pay only for the clinical preparation you don’t already have.

Two didactic semesters before any clinical. The first 11 credits — pathophysiology, health promotion, pharmacology, and comprehensive assessment — carry no practicum. Nurses still lining up a preceptor have roughly a year of runway before placement matters. The trade-off is that classroom and clinical learning stay separated longer than in programs that start practicum in term one.

Adult-weighted specialty sequence. Diagnosis and management of adults occupies two full courses; women and children share a single 3-credit course with its own 2-credit practicum. The lifespan is covered, but the depth is not evenly distributed. Nurses aiming at pediatric-heavy or women’s-health-heavy practice should ask how the single combined course allocates content.

Course sequence:

  • FNPC 6000 — Advanced Pathophysiology (3)
  • FNPC 6005 — Health Promotion & Disease Prevention (2)
  • FNPC 6010 — Advanced Pharmacology (3)
  • FNPC 6015 — Comprehensive Health Assessment & Clinical Decision Making (3)
  • FNPC 6020 / 6020P — Diagnosis & Management of Adults I + Practicum (3 + 2)
  • FNPC 6025 / 6025P — Diagnosis & Management of Women & Children + Practicum (3 + 2)
  • FNPC 6030 / 6030P — Diagnosis & Management of Adults II + Practicum (3 + 2)
  • FNPC 6040 / 6040P — Integration of the Advanced Practice Role + Practicum (2 + 2)

Semester credits run 5, 6, 5, 5, 5, and 4, totaling 30. 

More curriculum details are available here.

Post-Master’s Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Total clinical hours: not clearly stated. No hour figure appears on the program page, in the catalog, or in the official program guide.
  • Practicum credits: 8, split evenly across four courses (2 credits each).
  • Practicum begins in semester 3 and runs continuously through semester 6.
  • Simulation: certificate students complete 15 hours of assessment experience in the simulation center as part of FNPC 6015. ⚠ Whether these are on-campus or virtual is not stated.
  • Placement model, preceptor requirements, and faculty site visits: not clearly stated ⚠.

The missing hour count is the single biggest gap on this program. National FNP certification requires a minimum of 500 supervised direct-patient-care hours, and La Roche states its graduates meet the criteria for both the AANP and ANCC exams — so the program necessarily delivers at least 500. That is an inference from the school’s own eligibility claim, not a published figure. Since many FNP programs land in the 600–750 range, a prospective student cannot tell from public materials whether La Roche sits at the floor or well above it. Ask for the number in writing before you apply.

The absent placement policy matters just as much. Programs vary from full faculty-managed placement to leaving the student to source every preceptor independently, and that difference decides whether a part-time working nurse finishes on schedule. La Roche publishes neither.

Post-Master’s Certificate Admissions

The Pennsylvania license requirement is the gate that eliminates most out-of-state applicants, and the master’s requirement eliminates BSN-prepared nurses entirely.

  • Active, unrestricted Pennsylvania RN license.
  • MSN from an accredited program. The catalog specifies BSN and MSN, or MSN alone if the entry-level nursing program was at master’s level; the program page lists only “MSN from an accredited program.”
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA from the master’s program.
  • At least one year of professional RN experience.
  • All official transcripts, sent sealed directly from the issuing school.
  • Current resume or CV.
  • Two letters of reference — waived for La Roche alumni.

International applicants face an additional layer: TOEFL iBT 100, IELTS 7.0, or Duolingo 125; proof of 1,000 hours of US clinical practice within the past year; and a Pennsylvania or multistate RN license held before admission.


Tuition

The published graduate rate is $932 per credit for 2026–2027. Across 30 credits, that puts estimated tuition at $27,960. At the $743 discounted rate, the same 30 credits cost $22,290 — a difference of $5,670.

  • Rate basis. ⚠ The FNP certificate is not named on the fee schedule. The standard graduate rate applies by exclusion: it covers all graduate coursework except DEMSN, DNP, and DNAP.
  • Graduate fee: $96. ⚠ The schedule does not state whether this is charged per semester, per term, or annually. At six semesters, a per-semester basis would add $576.
  • Discounted rates ($743/credit) apply to La Roche alumni, employees of health care systems with executed partnership agreements, employees of corporate partners, and Sisters of the Congregation of Divine Providence. La Roche’s Corporate Discount Program describes this as a 20% graduate discount plus a waived application fee and deferred billing.
  • Part-time billing applies throughout. Semester loads of 4–6 credits never reach a full-time threshold, so per-credit pricing is the correct basis rather than any flat semester rate.
  • Rates are dated to the 2026–2027 academic year and are subject to annual increase across a two-year program.

All-in cost therefore falls somewhere near $28,500 at the standard rate and $22,900 at the discount rate, once the graduate fee is included. Verify the fee basis with student accounts, and verify partner-employer eligibility before assuming the lower number.

See the graduate tuition and fees schedule for current figures.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for master’s-prepared nurses in the Pittsburgh region who already hold a Pennsylvania license, want a compact credentialed route into family practice, and work for an employer that qualifies them for the discounted rate.

The value proposition is efficiency. Thirty credits, no graduate core, no electives, no thesis or scholarly project, and a schedule light enough (4–6 credits per semester) to hold a full-time nursing job throughout. For a nurse who already has an MSN in administration, education, or clinical nurse leadership and now wants prescriptive authority, this is a targeted add-on rather than a second degree. The partner-employer discount takes roughly $5,670 off the total, and the waived application fee and deferred billing lower the entry friction further.

The honest trade-offs are structural. The summer-only start means a missed application cycle costs a full year. The lockstep sequence offers no acceleration for a nurse who could carry a heavier load. And because the program launched in 2023, the published track record is thin — no certification pass rates, completion rates, or employment outcomes appear for this program specifically. Add the unpublished clinical hour total and placement policy, and a prospective student is asked to commit two years and roughly $23,000–$28,500 on materially incomplete information.

None of those gaps signal a weak program; small, recently launched programs frequently publish less than large ones. But they are answerable questions, and they should be answered before a deposit. Before applying, get four things in writing: the total clinical hour requirement, who is responsible for securing preceptors, whether any component requires travel to the McCandless campus, and whether the graduate fee is charged per semester. If the answers are strong, the cost-to-credential math here works well for a working PA nurse. If the program cannot produce them, that itself is information.


Accreditation

La Roche University’s nursing programs are approved by the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing and accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN), 3390 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 1400, Atlanta, GA 30326 — verified on La Roche’s own nursing accreditation page. ACEN accredits master’s and post-master’s certificate nursing programs as a single category, so the FNP certificate falls under the school’s master’s-level ACEN accreditation rather than carrying a separate listing. ⚠ Because the program page names the accreditor without stating a specific accreditation decision for the FNP certificate, confirm its current status directly in the ACEN program directory. Note that most FNP programs nationally are CCNE-accredited; ACEN is an equally recognized nursing accreditor, and both satisfy certification and state licensure requirements. Institutionally, La Roche is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, whose scope explicitly includes post-baccalaureate certificates and master’s degrees. La Roche states that graduates meet the criteria to sit for both the American Nurses Credentialing Center (FNP-BC) and American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (FNP-C) certification exams.


Compare More Family NP Programs

Choose the best online FNP program for you in PA