Moravian University FNP Programs

Helen S. Breidegam School of Nursing • Bethlehem, PA • Hybrid • $999/credit

Moravian University offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:

  • MSN
  • Post-Master’s Certificate

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
MSN$45,954~2 yrs ⚠46
Post-MSN Cert.$23K–$34K Not stated23–34

Moravian’s defining requirement is a second state RN license. Every FNP student must hold active licensure in both Pennsylvania and New Jersey before entering the clinical year — regardless of where they live or intend to practice.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesMSN and Post-Master’s Certificate
FormatHybrid — weekly clinical seminars, campus lab hours ⚠
Clinical Hours650 (MSN, stated) ; certificate hours set individually
Clinical PlacementCoordinator-facilitated; students may not contact sites directly
Faculty OversightClinical faculty advisor performs a mid-semester site visit
PopulationPrimary care across the lifespan, outpatient settings
RN License RequirementsPennsylvania and New Jersey both required before clinical year
RN Experience GateMinimum 1 year recent RN experience before the clinical year
Admissions InterviewRequired — Program Admissions Committee, both tracks
Specialty Rotation CapER, inpatient, and subspecialty hours capped at 100, internship only
Tuition$999/credit, held flat through 2026–27
AccreditationCCNE (baccalaureate and master’s); PA State Board approved

MSN — Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the MSN Family Nurse Practitioner track at Moravian University is approximately $45,954 (46 credits at $999/credit). The program can generally be completed in about two years, with a three-term clinical year running fall through summer.

Moravian does not publish a completion timeline; the two-year estimate is derived from the published course sequence.

MSN Curriculum

The structural signature of Moravian’s FNP curriculum is course consolidation. Where most FNP programs split the clinical year into six or more separate specialty courses, Moravian delivers it in five — two of which are 7-credit blocks that fuse theory, weekly seminar, and 200 practicum hours into a single enrollment. That design has a practical consequence: you cannot take the theory without the clinical, or fail one half and salvage the other. Each block is pass-or-repeat as a unit.

General Core — four courses, 12 credits, covering epidemiology, health policy, role theory, and health law. Notably, three of these four are cross-listed with Moravian’s graduate business programs, which is where the “interdisciplinary exchange” language in the school’s materials comes from.

Direct Care Core — the 3 Ps plus NP role preparation, 11 credits. Advanced Health and Physical Assessment carries 30 laboratory practice hours and requires prior completion of a baccalaureate assessment course. NP Roles and Responsibilities is scheduled specifically in the spring term immediately preceding the clinical year.

Clinical Year — 23 credits across fall, spring, and summer. The sequence moves younger adults, then older adults, then women and children, then a capstone internship synthesizing all three.

  • NURS 502 — Epidemiology and Bioinformatics (3)
  • NURS 536 — Law, Regulations, and Ethics in Healthcare (3)
  • NURS 534 — Advanced Health and Physical Assessment (3, incl. 30 lab hours)
  • NURS 507 — Nurse Practitioner Roles and Responsibilities (2)
  • NURS 720 — Care of Younger Adults, Primary Care Theory and Practicum (7)
  • NURS 721 — Care of Older Adults, Primary Care Theory and Practicum (7)
  • NURS 735/736 — Care of Women and Children in Primary Care, Theory and Practicum (5)
  • NURS 733 — Family Nurse Practitioner Seminar and Internship (4)

NOTE: Moravian publishes credit values for most but not all courses. NURS 507 is not assigned a credit value in any published document; 2 credits is derived by subtracting all stated course credits (44) from the stated program total (46).

A second conflict affects the same block: the program page lists NURS 735 as 2 credits, while the graduate catalog course description assigns it 3. If the catalog is correct, the program totals 47 credits, not 46 — a $999 difference.

Moravian’s graduate catalog also carries a parallel FNP course set that does not match the program page: it adds NURS 600 (Diagnostic Reasoning, 2 credits) and NURS 700 (Introduction to Primary Care Patient Evaluation and Management, 2 credits) as prerequisites to the clinical year, and describes an alternative capstone, NURS 738, at 7 credits. Neither NURS 600 nor NURS 700 appears in the published FNP curriculum table. Confirm which course map governs your entry cohort before estimating cost or duration.

More curriculum details are available here.

MSN Clinical Requirements

  • Stated total: 650 practicum hours
  • NURS 720 — 200 hours, younger adults in primary care (family medicine preferred, also internal medicine, urgent care, retail clinics, college health)
  • NURS 721 — 200 hours, older adults (family medicine preferred, also skilled nursing, long-term care, assisted living, geriatric medicine)
  • NURS 736 — 150 hours, pediatrics and women’s health (family medicine preferred, also women’s health, pediatric clinics, urgent care)
  • NURS 733 — 100 hours, family practice internship
  • Math check: 200 + 200 + 150 + 100 = 650 ✓
  • Placement is coordinated by the school. Students who identify a prospective site or preceptor submit the name to the clinical coordinator within 60 days of the clinical course start; the coordinator handles approval and confirmation.
  • Students are explicitly instructed not to contact practices or institutional personnel directly.
  • A clinical faculty advisor is assigned to each student, communicates with the preceptor, monitors clinical documentation, and performs a site visit at the midpoint of each semester.
  • Specialty rotations (ER, inpatient, cardiology, palliative care, dermatology, pulmonology, trauma) are capped at 100 hours and permitted only during the final internship.

Four different clinical-hour totals appear across Moravian’s own published documents. The program page states 650.

The NP Program Handbook’s clinical pathway table assigns 250 hours to NURS 733 instead of 100, which produces 800. The graduate catalog’s course description for NURS 721 requires a minimum of 250 hours rather than 200, which produces 700.

And the catalog’s alternative capstone, NURS 738, carries 300 hours, which produces 900. The 650 figure is the only one Moravian states as a program total, and it is the one reconciled by the site-selection table — but the 150-hour spread between the low and high readings is a full semester’s worth of clinical time.

Get the governing total in writing.

Taking 650 as the operative figure, Moravian sits comfortably above the 500-hour national certification floor — 30 percent above it — and lands in the normal band for FNP programs, where 600 to 700 hours is common.

What distinguishes the program is not volume but supervision density. A mid-semester faculty site visit for every student every term is a real resource commitment, and it is the kind of oversight that surfaces a struggling preceptor relationship while there is still time to fix it. Combined with coordinator-run placement, this is a program that takes responsibility for the clinical experience rather than delegating it to the student.

The trade-off is control: the explicit instruction not to contact sites yourself means you cannot leverage your own professional network directly, and the 100-hour specialty cap means you cannot use the FNP clinical year to build a subspecialty concentration.

MSN Admissions

Three requirements sit above the usual FNP baseline here: dual-state licensure, a one-year RN experience minimum tied to the clinical year, and a committee interview. All three are gates, not preferences.

  • BSN from an accredited program with a minimum 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale
  • Official transcripts from all postsecondary institutions attended
  • Active Pennsylvania RN license; an additional New Jersey RN license required before entering the clinical year
  • Minimum one year of recent RN experience before entering the clinical year
  • Undergraduate or graduate statistics course, grade of C or better
  • Two professional references, one from a supervisor
  • Written statement of professional goals
  • Professional resume or CV
  • Interview with the Program Admissions Committee
  • Application deadlines: October 19 for spring entry, July 1 for fall entry (annual cycle)

NOTE: The published goals-statement requirement on the FNP program page asks applicants to explain their reasons for pursuing study “to become an Adult-Gerontology Primary Nurse Practitioner” — carried over from the AGPCNP page. The certificate page uses the correct FNP wording. Write to the FNP role and ask admissions to confirm.


Post-Master’s Certificate — Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Post-Master’s Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate at Moravian University is approximately $22,977 to $33,966 (23 to 34 credits at $999/credit).

Moravian does not publish a credit total, duration, or clinical hour requirement for this track; all figures here are derived. The program can generally be completed in about one year if only the clinical-year specialty sequence is required, since those four courses run fall through summer as a single cohort block.

Certificate Curriculum

This certificate is individually scoped rather than fixed. Every student completes, at minimum, the FNP specialty courses required for the MSN. Beyond that, the NP Program Director conducts a gap analysis to determine which of the four direct care core courses are still needed — and any of them taken more than five years before enrollment must be repeated regardless of whether they were passed. The number of clinical hours is likewise set by the Program Director on a per-student basis.

One design detail matters more than it first appears: certificate students take the practicum courses alongside the MSN cohort rather than in a separate sequence. That means the same weekly seminars, the same faculty advisors, and the same site-visit schedule — not a bolted-on independent study.

  • NURS 720 — Care of Younger Adults, Primary Care Theory and Practicum (7; 200 hours)
  • NURS 721 — Care of Older Adults, Primary Care Practicum (7; 200 hours)
  • NURS 732 — Care of Women and Children in Primary Care, Theory and Practicum (5) ⚠
  • NURS 733 — Family Nurse Practitioner Capstone, Seminar and Internship (4)
  • Possible additions after gap analysis: NURS 507 (2), NURS 530 (3), NURS 532 (3), NURS 534 (3)

NOTE: The 23-credit floor assumes only the specialty sequence is required; the 34-credit ceiling assumes all four direct care core courses are added. The gap between them is $10,989 — a swing large enough that no applicant should commit before the gap analysis is complete and priced in writing.

Course numbering for the women-and-children component is inconsistent across Moravian’s documents: the certificate page and handbook pathway table use NURS 732 (theory and practicum combined), the MSN program page and catalog use NURS 735 plus NURS 736 as separate courses, and the catalog’s NURS 720 prerequisite note refers to NURS 737, “formerly NURS 735.” These appear to describe the same content under three numbering schemes.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Total hours: Not clearly stated — determined individually by the NP Program Director
  • The same specialty courses carry 650 hours in the MSN track, which is the reasonable working assumption
  • Clinical practicum experiences are arranged by the MSN/NP Program Director and CRNP faculty
  • Certificate students are placed within the MSN cohort’s practicum sequence
  • Dual Pennsylvania and New Jersey RN licensure required before the clinical year

The placement language here is stronger than on the MSN page. Where MSN materials describe a coordinator who facilitates and approves placements, the certificate page states that practicum experiences will be arranged by the Program Director and clinical faculty — school-sourced rather than student-sourced. For a working NP adding a population focus, that removes the single most common obstacle to certificate completion. The offsetting uncertainty is that an unstated hour requirement is an unstated time commitment, and a certificate you cannot schedule is difficult to fit around a full-time clinical job.

Certificate Admissions

The entry standard here is unusually narrow: this certificate is not open to MSN-prepared nurses generally, only to those who are already board-certified nurse practitioners in another population focus.

  • Completion of an accredited MSN-NP program with a minimum 3.0 GPA
  • Current board certification as a nurse practitioner
  • Official transcripts from all postsecondary institutions
  • Active Pennsylvania RN license; additional New Jersey RN license before the clinical year
  • Statistics course, grade of C or better
  • Two professional references, one from a supervisor
  • Written statement of professional goals
  • Professional resume or CV
  • Interview with the Program Admissions Committee
  • Application deadlines: October 19 for spring, July 1 for fall (annual cycle)

The board-certification requirement excludes MSN graduates from non-NP tracks — nurse educators, administrators, and clinical nurse leaders who hold an MSN but were never certified as NPs. Nurses in that position need a different pathway; Moravian’s own MSN would require full matriculation.


Tuition

Moravian publishes a flat nurse practitioner rate of $999 per credit, equivalent to $2,997 per standard three-credit course. Estimated total tuition is $45,954 for the MSN (46 credits) and $22,977 to $33,966 for the certificate (23 to 34 credits, depending on gap analysis).

  • Cost per credit: $999, applied to all nurse practitioner coursework
  • Cost per standard course: $2,997 (3 credits × $999)
  • The rate is published as identical for both 2025–26 and 2026–27 — a two-year flat rate with no scheduled increase
  • NURS 534 Advanced Health and Physical Assessment carries a $500 course fee
  • NP clinical courses carry a $500 fee
  • NP capstone courses carry a $500 fee
  • Official rates: Graduate Tuition and Fees

Be aware that:

  • The fee schedule does not specify whether the $500 clinical and capstone fees are charged once or per course. The FNP clinical year contains three clinical courses and one capstone. Read per-course, fees total $2,500 and all-in MSN cost is $48,454; read as one-time charges, fees total $1,500 and all-in cost is $47,454. The $1,000 difference is unresolved in Moravian’s published materials.
  • The published “cost per course” column assumes three-credit courses. Three FNP courses are larger: NURS 720 and NURS 721 are 7 credits each and bill at $6,993 apiece, and NURS 733 is 4 credits at $3,996. Budgeting by course count rather than credit count will substantially understate the clinical year.
  • If the catalog’s 3-credit value for NURS 735 governs rather than the program page’s 2-credit value, the MSN totals 47 credits and $46,953 in tuition.
  • The certificate’s credit total is not published. The $10,989 spread between the 23-credit and 34-credit readings turns entirely on the Program Director’s gap analysis, which happens after admission.
  • Neither track’s tuition figure includes New Jersey RN licensure costs, which are mandatory here and not part of any published estimate. Application, fingerprinting, and renewal costs for a second state license are the student’s responsibility.
  • Books, malpractice insurance, background clearances, immunizations, and travel to clinical sites are not included in these estimates.

The honest all-in number for the MSN is roughly $47,500 to $48,500 in tuition and university fees, plus New Jersey licensure costs on top. The two-year rate freeze is a genuine and unusual benefit — most private programs in Pennsylvania raise per-credit rates annually, and a student completing in two years at Moravian is protected from an increase that would otherwise land mid-program.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for nurses in the Lehigh Valley and northern New Jersey corridor who already hold or can easily obtain licensure in both states, want the school to handle clinical placement, and value close faculty supervision over scheduling flexibility.

The dual-licensure requirement is the first thing to reckon with, because it is the requirement most likely to disqualify an otherwise strong candidate. Moravian sits in Bethlehem, roughly twenty minutes from the New Jersey border, and its clinical network spans both states. Requiring both licenses lets the program place any student at any site in its network without a licensure obstruction. For a nurse already working in the Lehigh Valley — where crossing into Warren or Hunterdon County is an ordinary commute — that is a modest administrative step that buys access to a wider placement pool. For a nurse in Pittsburgh or Erie, it is a license in a state they will never practice in, obtained solely to satisfy a program requirement, with its own application, fingerprinting, and renewal costs.

What you get in exchange is a program that runs clinicals rather than outsourcing them. The clinical coordinator handles site approval and confirmation and instructs students not to approach practices themselves. Each student is assigned a clinical faculty advisor who communicates with the preceptor, reviews clinical documentation, and visits the site at the midpoint of every semester. Compared with the significant number of FNP programs that leave preceptor-hunting to the student, this is a materially different experience — and the mid-semester site visit in particular is a level of oversight that many programs do not attempt. The 650-hour requirement is solidly above the 500-hour certification floor without being unusually heavy.

The honest trade-offs are format and documentation. Moravian never describes the FNP as an online program, and the structure — weekly clinical seminars, 30 campus laboratory hours in assessment, a cohort that moves through the clinical year together — points to regular in-person attendance rather than distance study. This is not a program for a nurse who needs to study from another state. And Moravian’s published materials disagree with themselves more than they should: four clinical-hour totals, two credit values for the same course, three numbering schemes for the same content, and a leftover reference to the Adult-Gerontology role on the FNP admissions page. None of these are red flags about program quality — the CCNE accreditation is settled and the clinical oversight model is stronger than most — but they mean you should insist on written confirmation of credits, hours, and fees before you commit.


Accreditation

The baccalaureate and master’s degree programs in nursing at Moravian University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), and the pre-licensure BSN and MSN programs are approved by the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing. Both statements appear verbatim on Moravian’s graduate catalog and on the FNP program page.

The accreditation statement names the baccalaureate and master’s programs; it does not separately name post-graduate APRN certificates.

Certificate applicants should ask the program to confirm in writing that the FNP certificate falls within the CCNE-accredited master’s program scope, since certification eligibility depends on it. Moravian does not state which certification examinations its FNP graduates are eligible for; in practice most FNP program graduates may sit for the national FNP certification exam offered by either the AANP or the ANCC, but confirm this with the program directly.

Separately, Moravian’s post-master’s DNP is not yet CCNE-accredited — the university states it will seek accreditation after the first academic year with enrolled students. That does not affect the MSN or the FNP certificate, but it matters if you are considering Moravian for doctoral progression after the FNP.


Compare More Family NP Programs

How to choose the best online Pennsylvania FNP program