Thomas Jefferson University FNP Programs

School of Nursing • Philadelphia, PA • Online / Hybrid (varies by track) • $1,390/credit

Thomas Jefferson University offers 3 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:

  • MSN
  • Post-BS DNP
  • Post-Graduate Certificate

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
MSN$62.6K2–5 yrs45
Post-BS DNP$91.7K–$94.5K 4–6 yrs66–68
Certificate$25K–$37.5K Not stated18–27

Jefferson’s defining advantage is its position inside a working health system rather than beside one. The college is clinically partnered with Jefferson Health, its teaching hospital holds Magnet designation, and nurses already employed by Jefferson Health have the letters-of-recommendation requirement waived entirely at application.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesMSN, Post-BS DNP, Post-Graduate Certificate
FormatMSN: Hybrid. DNP: Online. Certificate: Online.
Clinical Hours750 (MSN, stated); 750 derived for DNP and certificate
Clinical PlacementShared student/faculty responsibility; student expected to network
PopulationFamily/Individual Across the Lifespan, infancy through older adulthood
Distinctive CourseworkNU 713 Digital Transformation in Healthcare (required core, MSN and DNP)
RN Experience RequiredNone for the FNP population focus, unlike four other Jefferson NP tracks
Start TermsThree per year: spring, summer, and fall
RN License RequirementsPennsylvania RN or compact multistate license required by program start
Enrollment RestrictionNo I-20 issued; visa-dependent international applicants ineligible
Tuition$1,390 per credit, plus departmental, IT, and library fees
AccreditationCCNE, covering the MSN, DNP, and post-graduate APRN certificate

MSN — Family/Individual Across the Lifespan Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the MSN Family/Individual Across the Lifespan Nurse Practitioner at Thomas Jefferson University is approximately $62,550 (45 credits at $1,390/credit). The program can generally be completed in about two to five years, with two- and three-year plans of study most commonly described.

MSN Curriculum

Jefferson builds every nurse practitioner track on an identical 12-course, 45-credit chassis. What changes between specialties is only which three clinical courses fill the specialty block. For FNP students, that block is unusually consolidated: three 6-credit courses rather than the four or five smaller practicum courses common elsewhere, which means fewer, longer clinical placements and fewer preceptor handoffs across the program.

Graduate Core (18 credits). Policy, research, evidence-based practice methods, APRN role, leadership, and a dedicated digital health course.

APRN Core (9 credits). The standard advanced pathophysiology, assessment, and pharmacotherapeutics sequence.

Specialty Sequence (18 credits). Three 6-credit management courses split by population: common primary care problems, women and children, then adults and older adults.

  • NU 717 Health and Social Policy (3)
  • NU 713 Digital Transformation in Healthcare: Trends and Opportunities (3)
  • NU 704 Philosophy, Foundations, and Methods for Evidence-Based Practice (3)
  • NU 570 Pathophysiology of Human Disease (3)
  • NU 673 Comprehensive Assessment for Clinical Decision-Making (3)
  • NU 560 Advanced Pharmacotherapeutics (3)
  • NU 674 Management of Common Health Problems in Primary Care (6)
  • NU 675 Management of Women and Children in Ambulatory Care (6)
  • NU 676 Management of the Adult and Older Adult in Ambulatory Care (6)

NU 713 is worth flagging as genuinely uncommon. Most FNP curricula treat informatics as a unit inside a broader course or park it in an elective slot; Jefferson makes a full 3-credit digital health course a required part of the graduate core, consistent with the college’s stated integration of simulation and health technology across its programs.

NOTE: The Jefferson course catalog’s MSN course list still shows NU 602 Health Policy where the program page’s current curriculum shows NU 717 Health and Social Policy. The credit total is unaffected at 45 either way, but the catalog list appears to reflect the pre-Summer 2025 curriculum. 

More curriculum details are available here.

MSN Clinical Requirements

  • 750 total clinical hours at program completion, as stated by Jefferson
  • Distributed across the three specialty courses, working out to roughly 250 hours each
  • Minimum 16 hours per week during each of the three clinical courses
  • At 16 hours weekly, 250 hours consumes approximately 15 to 16 weeks, matching a full semester
  • Placement is a shared responsibility: students are supported but expected to network to find sites
  • If a student cannot be placed, progression may be delayed or the student may be required to travel
  • One mandatory on-campus orientation day before the program begins, where the individual plan of study is built

750 hours sits well above the 500-hour national certification floor and at the upper end of the 600 to 700 range most FNP programs occupy. The weekly floor matters more than the total for planning purposes: 16 hours per week is effectively two full clinical days, sustained across three separate semesters, which is difficult to absorb around a full-time nursing schedule without cutting shifts.

The placement language deserves close reading. Jefferson describes placement as a partnership, but the operative sentences put the search burden on the student and state plainly that failure to secure a site can delay progression or force travel. That is an honest disclosure rather than a hidden one, and it is the single largest practical caveat attached to a program otherwise embedded in a large hospital system.

MSN Admissions

The FNP population focus carries no RN work-experience requirement, which distinguishes it from four other Jefferson NP tracks that each require a year of relevant clinical practice. Three application cycles run each year.

  • BSN from a regionally accredited institution at time of application
  • Minimum 3.0 BSN GPA
  • Active unencumbered Pennsylvania RN license or compact multistate license by program start; another state’s license is acceptable at application
  • Prerequisites: undergraduate statistics, BSN-level nursing research, and undergraduate physical assessment, each with a grade of B or better and no pass/fail
  • Two letters of reference, waived for nurses employed at Jefferson Health
  • Personal statement of 750 to 1,000 words
  • Current professional résumé and a $50 application fee
  • Maximum of six MSN semester credits transferable after matriculation, subject to approval

Application deadlines run on an annual cycle with priority and final dates for each of the three entry terms. For a spring start, the priority date falls in early August with a final date in mid-October; for summer, early October and mid-February; for fall, early February and early June. ⚠ Confirm the current year’s dates directly, since Jefferson publishes them term by term and the cycle rolls forward.


Post-BS DNP — Family/Individual Across the Lifespan Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the DNP Post-Baccalaureate Entry at Thomas Jefferson University is approximately $94,520 (68 credits at $1,390/credit).

The program can generally be completed in a minimum of four years and a maximum of six.

DNP Curriculum

Structure. The DNP wraps the full 45-credit MSN curriculum and adds 23 credits of doctoral work. The MSN degree is conferred once the master’s-level competencies are complete, and Jefferson states that students are then academically eligible to sit for national certification before continuing into the doctoral coursework. In practice, that means a student can certify and begin practicing as an FNP while the doctorate is still in progress.

Doctoral Core (16 credits). Practice inquiry design and analysis, safety and improvement science, leading strategic change, community engagement and population health, an introduction to DNP studies, and a doctoral elective.

Scholarly Project Sequence (7 credits). A two-course, year-long project sequence developed with faculty mentorship and aligned to the student’s career interests.

  • NU 702 Practice Inquiry: Designs, Methods and Analyses (3)
  • NU 714 Healthcare Systems Safety, Quality and Improvement Science (3)
  • NU 715 Leading Strategic Change in an Era of Healthcare Transformation (3)
  • NU 716 Perspectives in Community Engagement and Population Health (3)
  • NU 718 Introduction to DNP Studies (1)
  • Doctoral Elective (3)
  • NU 719 DNP Scholarly Project Seminar I (4)
  • NU 720 DNP Scholarly Project Seminar II (3)

NOTE: Jefferson publishes two post-baccalaureate DNP curricula, at 66 and 68 credits, and describes the difference two incompatible ways on the same catalog page. The version headers frame it as an admission-date distinction, with 68 credits for students admitted summer 2025 and later. The prose immediately below frames it as an entry-background distinction, with 66 credits for graduates of accelerated BSN programs and 68 for graduates of traditional pre-licensure BSN programs. The gap is 2 credits, or $2,780. Ask which figure applies to you before you budget.

The two curricula also differ structurally, not just in total. The 66-credit version carries three 3-credit specialty practicum courses; the current 68-credit version carries three 6-credit clinical courses. That is a doubling of specialty clinical credit weight, which matters if you are comparing an older published plan against a current one. 

More curriculum details are available here.

DNP Clinical Requirements

  • The FNP specialty block is the same three 6-credit clinical courses used in the MSN
  • Derived: 750 FNP clinical hours, on the basis of identical specialty coursework; Jefferson does not publish a stated DNP clinical hour total
  • Hours attached to the NU 719 and NU 720 scholarly project sequence are not published
  • Placement follows the same shared-responsibility model as the MSN, with the same delay and travel caveats
  • NOTE: Whether the MSN’s mandatory on-campus orientation day applies to DNP entrants is not stated

The unpublished total is the practical problem here. Doctoral programs are typically built to a 1,000-hour post-baccalaureate practice standard, and the 750 derived FNP hours plus an unquantified project sequence may or may not reach it. Because the scholarly project hours are not disclosed, a prospective student cannot verify the DNP’s total practice hours from published materials. Request the figure in writing before enrolling.

DNP Admissions

The DNP applies a higher academic gate than the MSN at the same school, which is the one requirement most likely to route an applicant between the two tracks.

  • Minimum 3.2 BSN GPA, compared with 3.0 for the MSN
  • BSN from a regionally accredited institution at time of application
  • No RN work-experience requirement for the FNP population focus
  • Same prerequisite coursework as the MSN, each with a grade of B or better
  • Personal statement of 750 to 1,000 words addressing interest in a practice doctorate specifically
  • Two letters of reference, waived for nurses employed at Jefferson Health
  • Holistic committee review of academic record, motivation, leadership potential, and life experience

A nurse with a 3.1 BSN GPA can enter the Jefferson MSN but not the Jefferson DNP. Since the MSN is fully contained within the DNP curriculum, the practical workaround is to complete the MSN, certify, and evaluate a post-master’s DNP afterward. Jefferson runs a separate 32-credit post-master’s DNP for exactly that population.


Post-Graduate Certificate — Family/Individual Across the Lifespan Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Post-Graduate FIAL Nurse Practitioner Certificate at Thomas Jefferson University is approximately $37,530 (27 credits at $1,390/credit), or about $25,020 if the 18-credit figure Jefferson also publishes proves correct. ⚠ Program duration is not clearly stated.

Certificate Curriculum

The certificate is the MSN with everything non-clinical removed. It carries the three APRN core courses and the three specialty clinical courses and nothing else, which makes it the most concentrated of the three tracks: every credit is either advanced practice foundation or direct patient management.

  • NU 560 Advanced Pharmacotherapeutics (3)
  • NU 570 Advanced Physiology/Pathophysiology (3)
  • NU 673 Advanced Health Assessment (3)
  • NU 674 Management of Common Health Problems in Primary Care (6)
  • NU 675 Management of Women and Children in Ambulatory Care (6)
  • NU 676 Management of the Adult and Older Adult in Ambulatory Care (6)

Jefferson adds a provision worth understanding before you apply. Nurse practitioners returning for a certificate in a population focus they are not currently practicing in or certified for may receive academic credit for prior didactic and clinical experience, awarded through a gap analysis of the applicant’s academic and practice portfolio. This is not a transfer-credit policy in the usual sense; it evaluates practice history, not just prior coursework, so two applicants with identical transcripts but different clinical backgrounds can end up with different credit requirements.

NOTE: The published credit count conflicts within Jefferson’s own materials. The program page’s summary panel states 18 credits while the curriculum table on that same page and the catalog both total 27. The gap is $12,510. The gap-analysis provision may explain individualized reductions, but it does not explain a published figure that contradicts the course list beside it. 

More curriculum details are available here.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Derived: 750 clinical hours, on the basis of the same three specialty courses used in the MSN
  • Jefferson does not publish a stated clinical hour total for the certificate
  • Whether gap-analysis credit can reduce clinical hours below the certification floor is not addressed
  • Placement follows the same shared-responsibility model as the other two tracks

The unstated total combined with the gap-analysis provision creates a specific risk for certificate applicants. Both certifying bodies require a minimum of 500 supervised direct patient care hours in the population focus, and an applicant granted substantial portfolio credit needs written confirmation that the remaining plan still satisfies that floor. Get the final hour count in your admission letter, not in conversation.

Certificate Admissions

Entry requires an existing graduate nursing credential, which makes this the narrowest of the three tracks.

  • Master’s or doctoral degree in nursing
  • Intended for nurse practitioners adding a population focus they do not currently hold
  • Gap analysis of academic and practice portfolio may adjust required coursework
  • ⚠ Jefferson does not publish certificate-specific GPA, licensure, or deadline requirements separately from its general APRN certificate admissions materials; confirm which of the graduate nursing requirements apply

Tuition

Jefferson publishes a single flat rate: $1,390 per credit for all Jefferson College of Nursing programs except the DNP Nurse Anesthesia program. That rate does not vary by degree level, so a certificate credit and a doctoral credit cost the same. Applied to each track, estimated tuition is approximately $62,550 for the MSN (45 credits), $94,520 for the 68-credit DNP or $91,740 at 66 credits, and $37,530 for a 27-credit certificate or $25,020 at 18 credits.

Confirmed costs and fees for the 2026–2027 academic year:

  • Tuition: $1,390 per credit
  • General fee: $0 for graduate College of Nursing programs
  • Departmental fee: $1,096 per academic year
  • IT and library fees, charged per term on a load-based scale: $142 combined at 1–4.99 credits, $285 at 5–8.99 credits, $570 at 9 or more credits
  • IT and library fees are not charged in the summer term for College of Nursing programs
  • Application fee: $50
  • Derived annual fee load: roughly $1,380 at a light part-time pace to roughly $2,236 at a full-time fall and spring pace
  • Derived all-in estimate for a two-year MSN: approximately $65,300 to $67,000
  • Derived all-in estimate for the DNP across four to six years: approximately $101,000 to $104,500

Be aware that:

  • The published rates cover one academic year only. Jefferson states that programs containing additional terms such as summer may incur additional tuition and fees, and that rates for subsequent years should be confirmed with the department.
  • Fee totals depend on how you distribute credits. Two students completing identical degrees can pay materially different fee totals depending on whether they cluster credits into fewer heavy terms or spread them across more light ones, because the IT and library fees are tiered by per-term load while the departmental fee recurs annually.
  • Stretching a program across more years increases the departmental fee burden, since it is charged annually rather than per credit. A six-year DNP pays that fee six times; a four-year DNP pays it four.
  • The 15% tuition discount Jefferson publishes for employees, senior citizens, active military, and veterans is scoped to the College of Population Health, not the College of Nursing. Do not assume a Jefferson employment discount applies to these nursing programs without written confirmation.
  • The DNP’s 66-versus-68-credit ambiguity carries a $2,780 tuition swing, and the certificate’s 18-versus-27-credit ambiguity carries a $12,510 swing. Neither is resolved in Jefferson’s published materials.
  • Jefferson states it reserves the right to amend or rescind published charges without prior notice, and that students are responsible for the amounts shown on their bills.

The real cost is the per-credit rate plus roughly $1,400 to $2,200 a year in fees, and the fee component is the part most likely to be missed when comparing programs, because it scales with calendar time rather than credits.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

This program fits nurses who already work inside a large health system, or who want to, and who value three annual entry points over the lowest available price.

The health-system connection is structural rather than promotional. Jefferson College of Nursing sits within Thomas Jefferson University and is clinically partnered with Jefferson Health; the college’s named educational partner for clinical skills and patient care, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, holds Magnet designation from the ANCC. Faculty are described as practicing clinicians active across the system. The most concrete expression of the relationship is at the application stage: nurses employed by Jefferson Health have the two-letter recommendation requirement waived entirely, which removes the single most logistically awkward part of a graduate nursing application. From fall 2026, the college is also expanding programming to Center Valley through a partnership with Lehigh Valley Health Network, adding a second system-scale employer relationship in eastern Pennsylvania.

Access is the second real advantage. The FNP population focus carries no RN work-experience requirement, while four of Jefferson’s other NP tracks each demand a year of relevant clinical practice. Combined with spring, summer, and fall entry, that makes this one of the more open front doors for a newly licensed BSN nurse who already knows primary care is the destination. The 45-credit MSN is fully contained inside the 68-credit DNP, so choosing the master’s does not close the doctoral path.

The trade-offs are real and should be weighed against all of that. Clinical placement is student-driven despite the system affiliation, and Jefferson states directly that an unsuccessful search can delay progression or require travel. Being embedded in a hospital network does not translate into a placement guarantee. The published employee tuition discount does not extend to the College of Nursing. And Jefferson’s own materials disagree with themselves in three places that carry money: the DNP credit total, the certificate credit total, and the DNP’s total clinical hours, which are not published at all.

The decision here turns largely on your employment relationship. If you work for Jefferson Health, you get a materially easier application, a familiar clinical environment, and an institution with an explicit interest in retaining you; the placement caveat also lands more softly when you already have relationships inside a large network. If you do not, you are paying a private per-credit rate for a program that still asks you to find your own preceptors, and the calculation becomes an ordinary comparison of cost, format, and clinical support against Pennsylvania’s other options. Answer that question first, and the rest of the page sorts itself.


Accreditation

Verified from Jefferson’s own accreditation page: the baccalaureate degree program in nursing, master’s degree program in nursing, Doctor of Nursing Practice program, and post-graduate APRN certificate program at Thomas Jefferson University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. All three FNP tracks fall within that scope. Thomas Jefferson University is institutionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Jefferson explicitly states dual certification eligibility for the MSN and the post-graduate certificate: graduates meet the academic eligibility requirements for the family nurse practitioner certification examination offered by the ANCC, leading to the FNP-BC credential, and for the examination offered by the AANP Certification Board, leading to the FNP-C credential.


Compare More Family NP Programs

View our Pennsylvania online FNP program comparison