Messiah University offers 3 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:
- MSN
- Post-BSN DNP
- CAGS
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN | $47.6K | 2–3 yrs | 58 |
| Post-BSN DNP | $80.4K | 3 yrs | 82 |
| CAGS | $27.1K | 4 semesters | 33 |
Messiah’s defining advantage is that graduate work you have already finished can count toward the doctorate. The post-BSN DNP accepts up to 18 transfer credits from prior master’s-level study, including non-nursing degrees such as public health or health policy, worth about $17,600 at the published rate.
One caveat belongs up front: Messiah’s published CCNE accreditation statement names the baccalaureate, master’s, and DNP programs. It does not name the post-master’s CAGS certificate. See the accreditation section below.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MSN (58 cr), post-BSN DNP (82 cr), post-master’s CAGS certificate (33 cr) |
| Format | Mostly Online — all three tracks include two required on-campus intensives |
| Clinical Hours | 750 direct patient care hours in every track (derived from course-level totals) |
| Clinical Placement | Not clearly stated — Messiah says hours are “planned and meaningfully assigned” |
| Population | Family across the lifespan; five separate population-specific practica |
| Distinctive Coursework | Standalone diagnostics course; dedicated graduate writing course; Christian faith integration |
| Concentrations | None offered within the FNP tracks |
| Transfer Credits | Up to 18 graduate credits into the DNP; up to 9 into the CAGS |
| RN License Requirements | Active U.S. or territory RN license required for all tracks |
| Experience Gate | DNP: 500 RN direct patient care hours before clinical courses begin |
| International Enrollment | No F-1 visa sponsorship; students living outside the U.S. cannot enroll |
| Tuition | $820/credit (MSN, CAGS) and $980/credit (DNP); no university fees |
| Accreditation | CCNE (BSN, MSN, DNP named); Middle States institutionally; CAGS not named |
MSN — Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the MSN Family Nurse Practitioner track at Messiah University is approximately $47,560 (58 credits at $820/credit). The program can generally be completed in about three years, with a two-year fast-track option for students able to carry a heavier load.
MSN Curriculum
How the track is built. The MSN is not a trimmed-down version of the doctorate. It is the doctorate minus the DNP scholarly project and its supporting health-systems courses. The 24-credit gap between the 58-credit MSN and the 82-credit DNP consists entirely of coursework that has nothing to do with FNP clinical training: health informatics, healthcare economics, graduate writing, evidence translation, quality and safety, and the four-course DNP project sequence. Every clinical and specialty course in the DNP also appears in the MSN.
Foundation courses. The three Ps are taught as three separate three-credit courses rather than a combined survey, and they sit alongside bioethics, health policy, population health, and a four-credit evidence appraisal course. Messiah’s other MSN tracks compress the three Ps into a single four-credit course (NURS 515); the FNP track does not, which adds five credits of pharmacology, pathophysiology, and assessment depth relative to its sibling tracks.
Specialty sequence. Clinical training runs through five population-specific practica plus a capstone immersion, sequenced from adult primary care through pediatrics, women’s health, and geriatrics. A standalone three-credit diagnostics course sits alongside them rather than being folded into the practica — a design choice that gives differential diagnosis its own graded coursework instead of treating it as something absorbed during rotations.
- NURS 503 — Advanced Pathophysiology (3)
- NURS 504 — Advanced Pharmacology (3)
- NURS 505 — Advanced Physical Assessment Across the Lifespan (3)
- NURS 601/602 — Foundational Concepts of the FNP Role I and II (1 each, on-campus intensives)
- NURS 701/703 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice of Adults I and II (5 each)
- NURS 707 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice of Children and Adolescents (4.5)
- NURS 709 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice for Women’s Health (4.5)
- NURS 721 — Clinical Diagnostics and Differential Diagnosis (3)
- NURS 725 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice of Older Adults (4.5)
- NURS 728 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice Clinical Immersion (4.5)
More curriculum details are available here.
MSN Clinical Requirements
- Messiah states the track requires 770 clinical practicum hours.
- Of that total, 750 hours are direct patient care: 120 (Adults I) + 120 (Adults II) + 90 (Children and Adolescents) + 90 (Women’s Health) + 90 (Older Adults) + 240 (Clinical Immersion).
- The remaining 20 hours are service hours attached to the population health course, not patient care. ⚠ This derivation comes from the DNP plan of study, which annotates hours course by course; the MSN catalog page states only the 770 total.
- The final immersion carries 240 hours in a single course — roughly a third of all clinical training concentrated at the end.
- Placement model not stated. Messiah’s marketing says clinical hours are “intentionally planned and meaningfully assigned,” which suggests faculty involvement but stops well short of a placement commitment.
At 750 direct patient care hours, this track sits meaningfully above the 500-hour national certification floor and above the 600–700 range that is common in FNP programs. The structure is worth noting as much as the volume: five distinct population rotations mean you cannot concentrate your hours in one comfortable setting, and the 240-hour immersion is long enough to function as something closer to a residency than a rotation. The unresolved question is who finds those sites. Until Messiah publishes a placement policy, treat this as a student-arranged program and ask directly before you deposit — a 750-hour requirement is a heavy lift if you are sourcing six preceptors on your own.
MSN Admissions
Requirements are conventional, with one gap worth raising: Messiah’s published experience requirement for the MSN references a course FNP students never take.
- BSN from an ACEN-, CCNE-, or CNEA-accredited program at a regionally accredited institution
- Active RN licensure (United States and territories)
- Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, with B or better in BSN nursing courses
- Grade of C or better in statistics, nursing research, and health assessment
- Statement of purpose (300–500 words), resume or CV, official transcripts
- No GRE, no application fee
- NOTE: Messiah’s stated experience requirement for “all MSN tracks” is one year of recent practice before taking NURS 520 — a nurse educator course that is not in the FNP curriculum. As published, the FNP track has no clear experience gate, even though the DNP-FNP requires 500 direct patient care hours. Ask which applies.
Post-BSN DNP — Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the DNP Family Nurse Practitioner program at Messiah University is approximately $80,360 (82 credits at $980/credit). The program can generally be completed in about three years, and applicants entering with a prior master’s degree may transfer up to 18 graduate credits, reducing the estimate to roughly $62,720.
DNP Curriculum
Two-level structure. Messiah describes the program as core coursework followed by clinical and DNP-specific courses. In practice the two levels interleave: the plan of study spreads 82 credits across six sub-terms per year — early fall, late fall, early spring, late spring, and two summer sessions — using 6-, 8-, 12-, and 16-week course lengths. That calendar is how a 27-credit annual load becomes survivable. It also means you are almost never between courses.
What the doctorate adds. Beyond the MSN’s clinical spine, the DNP adds health informatics, healthcare economics, a dedicated two-credit graduate writing course, evidence translation, quality and safety management, and a four-course DNP project sequence carrying 300 project hours. The writing course is unusual; most DNP programs assume scholarly writing rather than teaching it, and its presence signals that Messiah expects students arriving from bedside practice to need that scaffolding.
Faith integration. Messiah teaches the FNP role from an explicitly Christian perspective, and bioethics is a required three-credit course rather than a module inside a policy class. This is a genuine sorting mechanism rather than branding — the framing runs through role coursework, not just the mission statement.
- NURS 510 — Advanced Writing for Health Professions (2)
- HLTH 500 — Health Informatics (3)
- HLTH 506 — Bioethics (3)
- HLTH 640 — Economics of Healthcare (3)
- NURS 623 — Translating Evidence into Practice (3)
- NURS 632/633 — DNP Project Proposal and Readiness (3, 1)
- NURS 731 — DNP Project Implementation (3; 180 project hours)
- NURS 732 — DNP Project Analysis and Evaluation (3; 120 project hours)
- NURS 740 — Managing Healthcare Quality and Safety (3)
- Plus the full MSN clinical sequence listed above
More curriculum details are available here.
DNP Clinical Requirements
- Direct patient care clinical hours: 750, identical to the MSN and CAGS tracks and verified against the same six course-level totals.
- Population health service hours: 20.
- DNP project hours: 300 (180 in Project Implementation, 120 in Project Analysis and Evaluation).
- The plan of study states a combined total of 1,070 hours. That figure checks out: 750 + 20 + 300 = 1,070.
- Messiah’s program details page separately advertises 1,215 clinical hours. Nothing in the plan of study or catalog supports that number, and it exceeds the plan’s own stated total by 145 hours.
- Applicants must complete 500 hours of RN direct patient care before clinical courses begin.
The important distinction here is what counts as clinical. A prospective student comparing programs on advertised hours would see 1,215 and assume this doctorate delivers far more patient contact than a 750-hour MSN elsewhere. It does not. The direct patient care requirement is 750 in every Messiah FNP track; the doctorate adds project hours, which build scholarly and systems-change skills but do not put you in front of additional patients. That is not a criticism of the design — DNP project hours are supposed to be different work — but the advertised figure blurs a line that matters when you are comparing clinical preparation across schools. Note also the 500-hour RN experience gate: it is a scheduling constraint, not just an admissions box, and nurses admitted short of it will wait.
DNP Admissions
The DNP-FNP accepts either a BSN or a master’s degree at entry, which is unusual — Messiah’s other two DNP tracks require a master’s.
- Bachelor’s or master’s degree in nursing from an ACEN-, CCNE-, or CNEA-accredited program at a regionally accredited institution
- Active RN licensure (United States and territories)
- Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, with B or better in BSN nursing courses
- Statement of purpose (300–500 words), resume or CV, official transcripts
- 500 RN direct patient care hours required before clinical courses begin
- No GRE, no application fee
- Up to 18 graduate transfer credits accepted, including from nursing education, nursing administration, non-family NP, clinical nurse leader, public health, and health policy degrees
- NOTE: Messiah does not publish which specific courses transfer credits can replace, so the actual reduction is determined case by case after transcript review.
CAGS — Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the CAGS Family Nurse Practitioner track at Messiah University is approximately $27,060 (33 credits at $820/credit). The program can generally be completed in as little as four semesters, and applicants may transfer up to 9 graduate credits.
CAGS Curriculum
The certificate is the FNP specialty sequence with nothing else attached. All 33 credits are role foundation, population practica, diagnostics, and immersion — the same courses that appear inside the MSN and DNP, with the general graduate coursework stripped out. The 25-credit gap between the 33-credit CAGS and the 58-credit MSN consists exactly of bioethics, health policy, the three Ps, evidence appraisal, advanced nursing theory, and population health.
That arithmetic exposes a question the published requirements do not answer. Because the CAGS contains no advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, or physical assessment, a nurse whose master’s was in leadership or education would arrive without the three Ps that national certification requires. Messiah’s published CAGS admissions criteria ask only for a master’s degree, a 3.0 GPA, and an RN license. If you hold a non-clinical master’s, ask before applying whether prerequisite coursework will be added to your plan — and what it will cost.
- NURS 601/602 — Foundational Concepts of the FNP Role I and II (1 each)
- NURS 701/703 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice of Adults I and II (5 each)
- NURS 707 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice of Children and Adolescents (4.5)
- NURS 709 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice for Women’s Health (4.5)
- NURS 721 — Clinical Diagnostics and Differential Diagnosis (3)
- NURS 725 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice of Older Adults (4.5)
- NURS 728 — Advanced Family Nursing Practice Clinical Immersion (4.5)
CAGS Clinical Requirements
- Messiah does not publish a clinical hour total for the CAGS.
- Derived from course-level annotations, the six clinical courses carry 750 direct patient care hours: 120 + 120 + 90 + 90 + 90 + 240.
- The CAGS does not include the population health course, so it carries none of the 20 service hours counted in the MSN’s 770 figure.
- Placement model not stated for this track either.
A certificate that carries the full 750-hour clinical load is worth pausing on. Post-master’s certificates often compress clinical requirements on the theory that the student already has graduate clinical experience; Messiah does not. You complete the same six rotations as a doctoral student, at roughly a third of the price and in about half the time. The trade-off is intensity — 750 hours across four semesters is a demanding pace for someone working full time.
CAGS Admissions
Entry is gated on holding a graduate degree, with a wording inconsistency worth resolving before you apply.
- Master’s degree, active RN licensure, 3.0 cumulative GPA with B or better in graduate coursework
- Statement of purpose (300–500 words), resume or CV, official transcripts
- Up to 9 graduate transfer credits accepted
- No GRE, no application fee
You should know:
- Messiah’s prerequisite list requires a master’s degree in nursing from an accredited program; its admission requirements list asks only for “a master’s degree.” Confirm which standard applies if your graduate degree is outside nursing.
- No RN direct patient care hour minimum is published for the CAGS, though the DNP-FNP requires 500. Whether the certificate is genuinely exempt is unclear.
Tuition
Messiah publishes two per-credit rates for its FNP tracks at the 2026–2027 rate: $820 per credit for the MSN and the CAGS certificate, and $980 per credit for the DNP. The doctoral rate is about 20% higher per credit, which compounds against a credit total that is already 41% larger than the MSN’s.
Confirmed costs:
- MSN: 58 credits × $820 = $47,560
- DNP: 82 credits × $980 = $80,360
- CAGS: 33 credits × $820 = $27,060
- DNP with the maximum 18 transfer credits: 64 credits × $980 = $62,720, a reduction of $17,640
- CAGS with the maximum 9 transfer credits: 24 credits × $820 = $19,680, a reduction of $7,380
- No-fee tuition: Messiah charges no university lab, course, service, or technology fees, and no application fee. Deferred billing is available for students with employer reimbursement.
- Books are billed separately through an automatic rental program students may opt out of.
- A $200 non-refundable pre-registration deposit applies to new graduate students and is credited toward first-semester tuition.
Be aware that:
- Messiah’s own tuition page states the DNP-FNP total as $84,280 for “the entire 86 credit-hour program.” Both the program page and the graduate catalog state 82 credits, and the catalog course list sums to exactly 82. The $84,280 figure is 86 credits × $980. One of the two numbers is wrong, and the gap is $3,920.
- The MSN tuition block on Messiah’s site quotes $31,160 to $31,980 for “38 to 39 credits.” That range does not apply to the 58-credit FNP track — it appears to describe Messiah’s shorter MSN tracks, and even those are listed at 40 credits in the catalog. The FNP figure above is derived from the published per-credit rate.
- The CAGS page repeats that same 38-to-39-credit MSN block. The certificate rate is confirmed separately: all CAGS and graduate certificate coursework bills at $820 per credit.
- Tuition is adjusted annually. Messiah states increases have historically averaged 2–3% per year, so a three-year DNP will not finish at the rate it started.
- Transfer-credit reductions are estimates. Messiah does not publish which courses transfer credits replace, so your actual total depends on transcript review.
- The published catalog is the 2025–2026 edition while the tuition rates are 2026–2027. Confirm that credit totals have not shifted with the newer catalog cycle.
- Travel and lodging for two on-campus intensives are not included in any of these figures.
The all-in picture is genuinely simpler here than at most schools. Once travel to the intensives and books are accounted for, the per-credit rate is close to the whole story — there is no per-semester program fee, no clinical fee, and no differential to discover after enrollment. What you should not rely on is the school’s own published DNP total until the 82-versus-86-credit discrepancy is resolved.
Why Choose This FNP Program?
This program fits nurses who have already banked graduate credits and want them to count toward something larger — particularly those holding a master’s in nursing education, administration, public health, or a non-family NP specialty who want the FNP credential and a doctorate without starting from zero.
The transfer allowance is the substantive draw. Eighteen credits is a meaningful fraction of an 82-credit doctorate, and the list of qualifying degrees is unusually broad: Messiah names public health and health policy master’s degrees alongside nursing ones. For a nurse with an MPH who has spent years in community health and now wants prescriptive authority, that pathway is uncommon. The DNP-FNP also accepts BSN-prepared applicants directly, so the same program serves two very different entry points — something Messiah’s own nursing leadership and nurse educator doctorates do not do.
The second draw is pricing you can actually plan around. No-fee tuition is not a small thing in a field where clinical fees, per-semester program charges, and technology surcharges routinely add thousands to a published estimate. Combined with deferred billing for employer-reimbursed students, the cost structure is unusually legible. That said, legible is not the same as cheap: at $980 per credit, the doctorate is priced above several Pennsylvania alternatives, and the transfer allowance only helps if you already hold a graduate degree.
The honest trade-offs are the data gaps. No published clinical placement model, an advertised clinical hour figure the plan of study does not support, a credit total the tuition page contradicts, and a certificate track that Messiah’s own CCNE statement does not name. None of these signals a weak program — the curriculum is coherent, the clinical volume is above average, and the accreditation on the degree tracks is sound. But they do mean this is a program you should call before you commit rather than one you can evaluate entirely from the website.
The verdict is arithmetic. Run your existing transcript against all three tracks before choosing. If you hold an MSN in nursing and want to practice as an FNP, the CAGS at roughly $27,000 delivers the identical 750 clinical hours for a third of the doctorate’s price — take it unless you specifically want the doctoral credential. If you hold a non-nursing or non-clinical master’s, the DNP is likely the better route, because the CAGS contains no three-Ps coursework and you would need it added anyway. And if you are BSN-prepared with no graduate credits to transfer, the transfer allowance is worth nothing to you — at that point the choice is the $47,560 MSN against the $80,360 DNP for the same clinical preparation, and the extra $32,800 buys a scholarly project and a doctoral title, not more patient contact.
Accreditation
The baccalaureate, master’s, and Doctor of Nursing Practice programs at Messiah University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), verified from Messiah’s own program and accreditation pages. Institutionally, Messiah University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. Messiah advertises a 100% first-time pass rate on the FNP board exam but does not publish the reporting year or cohort size, so the figure cannot be interpreted without asking.
Messiah’s program pages refer to “national FNP certification exams” without naming the certifying bodies; most FNP graduates are eligible for both the AANP (FNP-C) and ANCC (FNP-BC) exams, but since Messiah does not state dual eligibility, confirm it directly if a specific credential matters to your employer.
The CAGS certificate warrants a direct question. CCNE accredits post-graduate APRN certificate programs as a separate category, and Messiah’s accreditation statement — reproduced verbatim on the CAGS page itself — names only the baccalaureate, master’s, and DNP programs. This may simply be an omission in how the statement is written, and it is not evidence of a problem. But because certificate accreditation can affect certification eligibility and employer recognition, ask Messiah in writing whether the FNP CAGS falls within its CCNE accreditation before enrolling, and verify the answer against the CCNE directory.
Compare More Family NP Programs
- Carlow University - Pittsburgh
- Cedar Crest College - Allentown
- Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania - Bloomsburg
- Drexel University - Philadelphia
- Duquesne University - Pittsburgh
- Gannon University - Erie
- Holy Family University - Philadelphia
- Immaculata University - Immaculata
- La Roche University - Pittsburgh
- La Salle University - Philadelphia
- Millersville University - Millersville
- Moravian University - Bethlehem
- Pennsylvania State University - University Park
- Saint Francis University - Loretto
- Saint Joseph's University - Lancaster
- Thomas Jefferson University - Philadelphia
- University of Pennsylvania - Philadelphia
- University of Pittsburgh - Pittsburgh
- University of Scranton - Scranton
- Villanova University - Villanova
- Widener University - Chester
- Wilkes University - Wilkes Barre
- York College of Pennsylvania - York