Case Western Reserve University offers three Family Nurse Practitioner pathways:
- MSN
- Post-Graduate APRN Certificate
- Post-Licensure DNP (dual MSN/DNP)
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN | $98.0K | 4 sem | 40 |
| Certificate | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| MSN/DNP | $98.0K + DNP stage | Not stated | 40 + DNP stage |
Case Western’s defining advantage is credential blending: the FNP major can be paired with the Pediatric or Women’s Health NP major, or with a second master’s degree in public health, bioethics, or anthropology. The trade-off is format and price, since nine of the fifteen MSN courses meet on campus in Cleveland for three to six consecutive days at $2,449 per credit hour.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MSN FNP major, Post-Graduate APRN Certificate, Post-Licensure dual MSN/DNP |
| Format | Mostly Online. Nine of fifteen MSN courses meet on campus as multi-day intensives |
| Clinical Hours | About 600 for the MSN. Certificate and DNP-stage hours not clearly stated |
| Clinical Placement | Sites across Northeast Ohio or in your local area. Who arranges them is not clearly stated |
| Population | Individuals across the lifespan, from children through older adults |
| Distinctive Coursework | A dedicated reproductive health course; adults and children split into separate clinical courses |
| Concentrations | FNP may be blended with the Pediatric NP or Women’s Health NP major |
| Interview | Required for all MSN majors, including APRN specialties |
| Clinical Sequencing | Clinical courses start in spring, run in fixed order, and depend on enrollment |
| RN License Requirements | Active RN license required. No minimum years of RN experience stated |
| Tuition | $2,449 per credit hour for 2026-27, applied to all graduate nursing credit hours |
| Accreditation | CCNE through June 30, 2031, covering the MSN, APRN certificate, and DNP |
MSN, Family Nurse Practitioner Major
The estimated tuition for the MSN Family Nurse Practitioner major at Case Western Reserve University is approximately $97,960 (40 credits at $2,449 per credit, derived).
The program can generally be completed in four semesters of full-time study, with part-time plans available.
MSN Curriculum
Advanced practice core. Advanced pathophysiology, advanced physical assessment, and advanced pharmacology total 10 credits and function as prerequisites or co-requisites for every clinical course. Pathophysiology carries 4 credits rather than the more common 3, which adds depth but also front-loads the first semester at 12 credits.
FNP major sequence. The four major courses total 15 credits and are structured by patient population rather than by disease system. Adults and older adults get a 5-credit course, children and adolescents a 4-credit course, and reproductive health its own 4-credit course. Most FNP programs fold reproductive and women’s health content into a general primary care course. Separating it out gives roughly a full semester’s worth of credit to an area where new FNPs frequently report feeling underprepared, and it explains why this curriculum reaches 40 credits rather than the 36-credit MSN minimum.
Professional and inquiry core. A three-course inquiry sequence and a three-part health care delivery series (ethics, finance, then policy and legal) run alongside the clinical work. The 1-credit modular structure of the delivery series is unusual and lets the school spread that content across three separate semesters instead of concentrating it in one course.
- NURS 453 Advanced Pathophysiology (4)
- NURS 459 Advanced Physical Assessment (3)
- NURS 430 Advanced Pharmacology (3)
- NUNP 410 Health Promotion Across the Life Span (2)
- NUNP 419 Family Health Nursing: Health of Adults and Older Adults (5, clinical)
- NUNP 429 Reproductive Health Promotion and Common Reproductive Health Problems of Adolescents and Adults (4, clinical)
- NUNP 439 Family Health Nursing: Health of Children and Adolescents (4, clinical)
- NURS 405, 425, 502 Inquiry I, II, and III (2, 3, 2)
- NURS 444A, 444B, 444C Health Care Delivery, Legal and Ethical Issues (1 each)
- NURS 451 Leadership for Quality Healthcare within Organizations and Systems (3)
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- Nine of the fifteen courses are marked as intensives. Those meet on the Cleveland campus from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for three to six consecutive days. The load is roughly three intensive blocks in the first fall, two in spring, one in summer, and three in the second fall.
- Syllabi are released about a month before an intensive begins, and required reading is expected to be done in advance. Major papers come due in the semester after the intensive ends.
- The FNP major can be blended with the Pediatric NP or Women’s Health NP major, and the MSN can be joined with a master’s in public health, bioethics, or anthropology. Additional credits and cost for those combinations are not clearly stated.
- The MSN general curriculum page labels the Professional Development Core as six courses but lists five rows totaling 8 credits, and describes ten core courses where eleven appear. The FNP plan of study itself sums correctly to 40 credits.
MSN Clinical Requirements
- About 600 clinical hours, described elsewhere by the school as a minimum of 600
- Three clinical courses carry the hours: NUNP 419, NUNP 429, and NUNP 439, totaling 13 credits
- Sites include family, adult, and pediatric primary care clinics, specialty clinics, retail clinics, and emergency department fast tracks
- Placement locations may be across Northeast Ohio or in your local area
- Clinical courses begin in spring and must be taken in the published sequence
- A one-time $175 clinical placement fee applies to first-time entrants
- Lead faculty: Carol Savrin, DNP, CPNP, FNP-BC, FAANP, FANP
Six hundred hours sits 100 above the 500-hour national certification floor and lands inside the 600 to 700 band most FNP programs occupy. That is a reasonable, unremarkable volume. What is more consequential here is the sequencing rule. Because clinical courses start only in spring and must run in fixed order, a single deferred or failed clinical course can push graduation a full year rather than a single term. The school also states that clinical course availability depends on enrollment, which means seat capacity, not just your own progress, can govern your timeline.
You Should Know
- The school publishes the 600-hour figure three different ways: “about 600,” “600 hours,” and “at least 600.” Treat 600 as a floor rather than a fixed total, and confirm the number your cohort is held to.
- Per-course clinical hour allocations are not published, so the 600 total cannot be verified against the individual courses. The three clinical courses total 13 credits, which does not divide evenly into 600 at any standard hours-per-credit ratio.
- Whether the school secures preceptors and sites or whether you are responsible for finding them is not clearly stated. The existence of a clinical placement fee and a clinical compliance platform fee suggests school-managed infrastructure, but the division of responsibility is not spelled out.
- Travel to clinical sites is an additional cost the school lists separately from tuition.
MSN Admissions
Every MSN major at Case Western, including the APRN specialties, now requires an admissions interview. That is a meaningful gate: it adds a scheduling step and a screening stage that many online FNP programs do not have.
- Online application with a $75 application fee
- Official transcripts from your BSN or equivalent degree and from all prior institutions
- Two essays of roughly 250 words each, covering your reason for applying now and something not visible elsewhere in your application
- Three recommenders, with a stated preference for nurses familiar with your clinical work
- Resume or CV covering employment, military service, fellowships, memberships, and publications
- Admissions interview
- Language testing for international applicants
- Application deadlines run on an annual cycle: March 15 for fall and summer entry, October 1 for spring entry
You Should Know
- No minimum GPA, minimum RN experience, or GRE requirement is stated for MSN admission. Progression, however, requires a 3.0 cumulative GPA plus a 2.5 or higher GPA across the APRN core and APRN clinical courses.
- Two failing grades result in separation from the school. A failed required course must be repeated the next semester it is offered.
- Case Western participates in SARA and states that its MSN curriculum is built around Ohio APRN scope of practice. Graduates licensing in another state may face additional requirements, including a state-specific rules or regulations course before prescribing.
- Enrollment for an intensive closes at 9 a.m. on the first day of that class, and no refunds are issued after 1 p.m. on the first day.
Post-Graduate APRN Certificate, Family Nurse Practitioner
Tuition for the Post-Graduate APRN Certificate is not published as a program total, because the certificate has no fixed length. Every admitted student receives a gap analysis that produces an individualized program plan, and the resulting credit count drives the cost at the same $2,449 per credit rate.
Certificate Curriculum
The certificate is built directly on the MSN requirements. Case Western states that post-graduate certificate completion requirements are based on the MSN degree program requirements, so the FNP certificate draws from the same course inventory described above rather than from a separate curriculum. What the gap analysis determines is which of those courses you still need given your prior graduate education and existing certifications.
That design has a practical consequence worth understanding before you apply. A nurse already certified in a population close to family practice, such as adult-gerontology primary care, may need only the pediatric and reproductive health clinical courses. A nurse coming from a distant specialty may need the full four-course FNP major sequence and possibly refreshed advanced practice core courses. Case Western describes post-graduate certificates generally as achievable “in as few as one to three additional classes,” but that framing describes the best case, not the typical one, and the school does not publish a distribution.
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- Credit count, duration, total cost, and clinical hour requirements are all determined after admission. You will not have a firm price or timeline when you decide whether to enroll.
- For scale only, and not as a published figure: the four FNP major courses total 15 credits, which at the published rate would be $36,735. A single 3-credit course would be $7,347. Your actual figure depends entirely on the gap analysis.
- The certificate is delivered as a mix of online content and short weeklong or weekend in-person sessions. The school labels this “hybrid,” though the described structure is a finite set of campus events rather than a weekly cadence.
- Certificate holders should confirm how employers and their state board treat a post-graduate certificate versus a degree in the FNP population, since recognition can vary.
Certificate Admissions
The certificate is aimed at nurses who already hold a graduate nursing degree and want to add the family population focus. Case Western directs certificate inquiries to the nursing admissions office directly rather than publishing a separate requirements list.
- A completed graduate nursing degree and existing APRN preparation, since the gap analysis is built against prior education and certifications
- Active RN license
- Gap analysis completed after admission, which then defines the program plan
- Contact: admissionsfpb@case.edu
You Should Know
- Whether the certificate follows the same March 15 and October 1 deadlines as the MSN is not clearly stated.
- Whether the interview requirement extends to certificate applicants is not clearly stated. It is announced for MSN majors including APRN specialties.
Post-Licensure DNP (Dual MSN/DNP)
The estimated tuition for the MSN stage of the Post-Licensure DNP is approximately $97,960 (40 credits at $2,449 per credit, derived), with additional DNP-stage credits billed at the same rate. Total duration and total credits for the combined pathway are not clearly stated.
MSN/DNP Curriculum
This is a single application that covers both degrees. Students apply to the MSN and DNP programs at the same time and follow a blended curriculum, beginning DNP coursework while still completing master’s requirements. The MSN is conferred once MSN requirements are met, and the student continues into the remaining DNP courses.
The structural advantage is credential timing rather than credit savings. Because the MSN is awarded at the midpoint, you can sit for national FNP certification and begin practicing as an FNP while finishing doctoral coursework. Compare that to a program that withholds the credential until the doctorate is complete, and the difference is potentially two years of nurse practitioner salary and clinical experience earned during the program instead of after it. The cost of that structure is commitment: you are declaring for the doctorate at application, not deciding later.
You Should Know
- Total DNP-stage credit hours, total program cost, and total duration for the FNP version of this pathway are not clearly stated in the material reviewed.
- DNP coursework also uses the intensive format. In-person DNP intensive sessions are held three times a year, in January, May, and August. Some elective sequences offer remote intensives instead, typically across two weekends per semester.
- Three DNP courses run fully online and asynchronously across the semester: applied statistics, informatics, and translating evidence into nursing practice.
- Progression requires a 3.0 cumulative GPA, a 2.5 or higher APRN core and clinical GPA, and a successful oral presentation of the DNP project.
MSN/DNP Admissions
Applicants submit one package covering both programs, including two separate essays uploaded as a single document.
- Active RN license
- Separate MSN and DNP essays, submitted together
- Recommenders, with the same preference for nurses familiar with your clinical work
- Transcripts from all prior institutions
- Deadlines run on an annual cycle: March 15 for summer and fall entry, October 1 for spring entry
You Should Know
- Materials for this pathway are directed to a mailing address at 9501 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, rather than handled entirely through the online portal. Confirm current submission method with admissions before assembling your file.
- Whether the MSN interview requirement applies to this pathway is not clearly stated.
Tuition
Case Western publishes a single graduate nursing rate of $2,449 per credit hour for academic year 2026-27, applied to all credit hours with no residency distinction. The same rate appears in both the MSN table and the “All Other Programs” table, so the MSN, the APRN certificate, and the DNP stage all bill identically. One exception exists on the same schedule and does not apply here: the Leadership Excel and Achievement Program graduate certificate bills at $1,719 per credit and is a separate, non-FNP program.
Derived program tuition: 40 credits × $2,449 = $97,960 for the MSN FNP major. Case Western does not publish this total; it is calculated from the published per-credit rate and the published 40-credit requirement.
The mandatory fee stack for academic year 2026-27, reconstructed from the published schedule:
| Fee | Amount | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Graduate Student Council Fee | $20 per term | Fall and spring |
| RTA Transportation Fee | $70 per term | Fall and spring |
| Nursing Activity Fee | $15 per term | Charged at 4 or more credit hours |
| Nursing ACEMAPP Fee | $55 | Fall only |
| Clinical Placement Fee | $175 | One time, first-time entrants |
| Student Medical Plan | $2,110 per term | Waivable with proof of coverage |
| One to One Fitness Membership | $150 fall, $187.50 spring | Opt-out available; 8% sales tax applies |
Derived mandatory fee total across the four-semester plan: $600. That figure assumes fees are charged in three fee-bearing terms, since the published schedule lists no fees in the summer column, and it excludes the waivable medical plan and the opt-out fitness membership. It combines $105 per term across three terms, the $55 ACEMAPP fee in two fall terms, and the one-time $175 clinical placement fee.
Confirmed costs:
- $2,449 per credit hour, published, no residency distinction
- $75 application fee
- $105 per term in non-waivable fees at 4 or more credit hours
- $55 ACEMAPP fee each fall
- $175 one-time clinical placement fee for first-time entrants
Be aware that:
- The $97,960 MSN figure and the $600 fee figure are both derived, not published. Case Western publishes the rate and the credit requirement, not the product.
- The four-semester full-time plan crosses two academic years. Only 2026-27 rates are published, so year-two tuition and fees may differ. Case Western does not state a cohort rate lock.
- Intensive attendance carries unpriced costs. The school states plainly that students are responsible for their own transportation, lodging, and meals for on-campus intensives. With roughly nine intensive blocks in the full-time plan, this can add materially to your real total, and the amount depends entirely on how far you live from Cleveland.
- The Student Medical Plan is $4,220 for the year unless you waive it, and the waiver must be redone for spring if you miss the fall deadline.
- The fee schedule prints $175 in both the fall and spring clinical placement cells but shows $175 as the fall-and-spring total, confirming it is a one-time charge rather than per term.
- Two different book allowances appear in the same source: $74 per credit hour in the narrative and $86 per credit hour in the 2026-27 table. Both are financial aid allowances rather than charges, and neither is included above.
- The $115,200 figure published on the same tuition page belongs to the two-year Graduate Entry Master of Nursing program, a pre-licensure degree unrelated to the FNP pathways.
- Clinical site travel is listed as a separate estimated expense.
The honest read on cost is that Case Western prices at the private-university end of the FNP market, and the published rate understates the real figure in one specific way. The per-credit rate is not fee-inclusive, but the fees are small: roughly $600 in mandatory charges against nearly $98,000 in tuition is a rounding error.
The variable that actually matters is intensive travel. A nurse in Akron drives in nine times over two years. A nurse in Arizona buys nine round-trip flights and roughly thirty nights of lodging, which can quietly become a five-figure line item that appears nowhere on the tuition page. Price this out by mapping the intensive schedule against your own zip code before you compare Case Western to anything else.
Full details are on the School of Nursing tuition page.
Why Choose This FNP Program?
Best suited for nurses who want more than one credential out of a single enrollment, and who can absorb both a private-university price and repeated travel to Cleveland.
The blended-major architecture is the real product. Most FNP programs give you one population focus. Case Western lets the FNP major be combined with the Pediatric NP or the Women’s Health NP major, and lets the MSN be joined with a master’s in public health, bioethics, or anthropology. For a nurse who knows they want to work in pediatric primary care but wants family scope for employability, or who intends to move into policy or program leadership, this is a structural fit that a single-major program cannot replicate. The gap is that Case Western does not publish the additional credits or cost for any of these combinations, so you cannot price the advantage before you talk to an advisor.
The curriculum spends its extra credits deliberately. At 40 credits the FNP major sits 4 above the school’s own 36-credit MSN minimum, and you can see where the surplus goes: a 4-credit pathophysiology course instead of 3, and a full 4-credit reproductive health course that most programs compress into general primary care. Combined with the Health Education Campus shared with Cleveland Clinic, where nursing students train alongside medical and dental students, the emphasis is on clinical depth rather than on convenience.
The format is the thing to be honest about. “Distance-friendly” is accurate, but it does not mean online. Nine of fifteen courses run as three-to-six-day, nine-to-five campus blocks, and the school is explicit that travel, lodging, and meals are your expense. Add the interview requirement, the spring-only clinical start, and a fixed clinical sequence in which availability depends on enrollment, and this is a program with more structural rigidity than a typical asynchronous FNP program. If your work schedule cannot accommodate multiple full weeks away per year, this format will fight you regardless of how strong the curriculum is.
Accreditation
The BSN, MN, MSN, Post-Graduate APRN Certificate, and DNP programs at Case Western Reserve University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) through June 30, 2031, with the next accreditation visit due in 2030. That scope matters here because it names the certificate explicitly. Post-graduate APRN certificates are not always covered by a school’s nursing accreditation, and when they are not, certification eligibility can become complicated.
Case Western Reserve University is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Institutional accreditation is what governs federal financial aid eligibility and whether other universities will accept your credits, so it functions as a floor beneath the program-level accreditation rather than a duplicate of it. The university is also chartered under Ohio law and holds a Certificate of Authorization from the Ohio Department of Higher Education.
Graduates of the MSN majors are eligible to apply to sit for the national certification exam in their major. For the family population focus, that means the national FNP certification exam offered by the American Association of Nurse Practitioners or the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Successful certification is the prerequisite for APRN licensure in Ohio and in other states.
Compare More Family NP Programs
- Cedarville University - Cedarville
- Cleveland State University - Cleveland
- Franciscan University of Steubenville - Steubenville
- Kent State University - Kent
- Miami University - Hamilton & Oxford
- Mount Carmel College of Nursing - Columbus
- Ohio State University - Columbus
- Ohio University - Athens
- University of Cincinnati - Cincinnati
- University of Mount Union - Alliance
- University of Toledo - Toledo
- Ursuline College - Pepper Pike
- Walsh University - North Canton
- Wright State University - Dayton
- Xavier University - Cincinnati
- Youngstown State University - Youngstown