Miami University offers an MSN Family Nurse Practitioner Track.
Program Track Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN | $37.4K | 21 mo | 47 |
Miami’s defining advantage is a two-day on-campus procedural skills workshop covering suturing, casting, incision and drainage, and pelvic exams, with the cost built into tuition. Miami also guarantees clinical placement for every FNP student, and that workshop is the only campus travel the program requires.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | One FNP track: MSN-FNP. A post-MSN DNP exists but is leadership-focused, not an FNP pathway. |
| Format | Mostly Online. Coursework online plus one required two-day on-campus skills workshop. |
| Clinical Hours | 750 precepted hours. |
| Clinical Placement | Guaranteed by the school for all FNP students. |
| Population | Family and individual primary care across the lifespan. |
| Distinctive Coursework | Procedural skills workshop; a dedicated billing, coding, and care management course. |
| Experience Gate | 1,000 hours of RN clinical experience required before the first practicum course. |
| Enrollment Restriction | Residents of Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, or Kentucky only. U.S. citizens or permanent residents. |
| RN License Requirements | Unencumbered RN license in your practice state, plus eligibility to license in clinical states. |
| Tuition | $795 per credit, flat. No non-resident surcharge. |
| Accreditation | CCNE accredits Miami’s baccalaureate and master’s nursing programs. |
MSN – Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the MSN Family Nurse Practitioner track at Miami University is approximately $37,365 (47 credits at $795/credit).
The program can generally be completed in about 21 months of full-time study, with part-time scheduling available for working nurses.
MSN Curriculum
Shared core, separate specialty. The 47 credits split into a 25-credit foundation block that every Miami MSN student takes and a 22-credit FNP specialty block. The foundation carries the expected advanced practice science alongside leadership, informatics, and health systems coursework. Because the same core also feeds the PMHNP track, students in both specialties sit in the same foundation classrooms, which widens the peer group beyond primary care.
Business of practice, taught explicitly. The specialty block includes NSG 620, a full course on billing, coding, and care management. Most FNP curricula fold reimbursement into a role seminar or skip it. Treating it as its own course is a practical choice: new NPs are frequently evaluated on documentation and coding accuracy in their first year, and the material is hard to pick up on the job.
Population sequencing. The specialty courses move through women’s health, pediatrics and adolescents, then adults in two parts, so the lifespan is covered in discrete blocks rather than one survey course. Clinical practice runs alongside as a three-course sequence ending in a capstone.
- NSG 610 Primary Care of Women Across the Lifespan
- NSG 612 Primary Care of Children and Adolescents
- NSG 614 Primary Care of Adults I
- NSG 616 Primary Care of Adults II
- NSG 620 Primary Care Skills: Billing, Coding, and Care Management
- NSG 622 Family Nurse Practitioner Clinical I
- NSG 624 Family Nurse Practitioner Clinical II
- NSG 626 Family Nurse Practitioner Capstone Clinical III
- NSG 630 Nurse Practitioner Synthesis (foundation block)
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- Miami does not publish per-course credit values. The foundation block lists nine courses totaling 25 credits, so at least two courses carry fewer than 3 credits. Which ones is not stated.
- The catalog’s program requirements header reads “46 semester hours minimum,” which matches the PMHNP track. The FNP track is separately stated at 47 credits. The extra credit is real and is priced into the total above.
- Course sequencing by term is not published, so the part-time timeline cannot be modeled from the catalog.
MSN Clinical Requirements
- 750 precepted clinical hours, stated in the graduate catalog.
- Delivered across three clinical courses: NSG 622, NSG 624, and NSG 626.
- Roughly 250 hours per clinical course if divided evenly. This is a derived figure. Miami does not publish per-course hour allocations.
- Clinical placement is guaranteed by the school for all FNP students.
- Stated settings include urgent care centers, private practices, and community health centers.
- The first clinical/practicum course runs in the first summer session for full-time students.
- A two-day on-campus skills workshop covers pelvic exams, suturing, casting, and incision and drainage. Miami states the cost is included in tuition and fees.
750 hours sits 250 above the 500-hour national certification floor and above the 600 to 700 range most FNP programs use. Spread across three clinical terms of roughly 15 weeks, that works out to about 17 hours per week, or two full clinical days. That is a meaningful commitment for a nurse still working, and it is the main reason the 21-month full-time pace is aggressive. The placement guarantee changes the calculation more than the hour count does. Self-arranged placement is the single most common failure point in online FNP programs, and Miami removing it means the hours are a scheduling problem rather than a search problem.
You Should Know
- Per-course clinical hour allocations are not published. The 250-hour figure is derived by even division.
- Preceptor qualification rules, faculty site-visit frequency, and clinical evaluation methods are not stated on any Miami page reviewed.
- The guarantee’s terms are not published. Whether it covers geographic radius, specialty mix, or timing is unstated. Ask admissions for it in writing.
- You must be eligible to hold an RN license in any state where you complete clinical hours, which can constrain where placements are usable.
- Workshop dates, campus location (Hamilton or Oxford), and whether travel or lodging is covered are not stated.
MSN Admissions
Two gates matter more than the rest: you must be a resident of Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, or Kentucky and a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, and you must log 1,000 hours of RN clinical experience before your first practicum course.
- BSN from an ACEN- or CCNE-accredited nursing school by the start of the MSN program.
- Minimum cumulative undergraduate GPA of 2.75 on a 4.0 scale.
- U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
- Resident of Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, or Kentucky.
- Current, unencumbered RN license in the state where you practice, held before the program starts.
- Eligibility to obtain an active RN license in any other state required for clinical experiences.
- 1,000 hours of RN clinical experience completed before the first clinical/practicum course.
- Résumé or curriculum vitae.
- College transcripts.
- Written responses to four experiential questions.
- Two academic or professional references. At least one recommender must hold a master’s degree or higher.
- Application submitted through NursingCAS.
You Should Know
- Start terms conflict across Miami’s own pages. The FNP program page lists a single fall start with an August 1 deadline. The MSN-FNP degree facts page lists fall, spring, and summer starts with August 1, January 1, and April 1 deadlines. Treat these as annual recurring cycles and confirm the current intake with admissions.
- The 1,000-hour experience requirement is tied to the first practicum, not to matriculation. A nurse just short of it can begin coursework, but the timing is tight for full-time students whose first practicum falls in the first summer session.
- The 2.75 GPA minimum is below the 3.0 bar common at graduate nursing programs. It is a floor, not a signal of admission odds. Cohort size and selectivity are not published.
- Residency is assessed at the point of enrollment. Miami’s state authorization policy treats licensure-program students as located in Ohio when they attend at least one in-person course at a Miami campus at initial enrollment. Confirm how the two-day workshop affects your determination if you live outside Ohio.
- The four-state limit and the citizenship requirement are stated on the program page rather than in a general policy document, so verify both before paying an application fee.
Tuition
Miami charges the MSN-FNP at a published flat rate of $795.00 per credit hour. This sits on Miami’s Market Driven Tuition schedule, which covers graduate nursing programs (DNP, FNP, NEL) and applies the same rate regardless of state of residency. There is no non-resident surcharge.
Program total, derived: 47 credits × $795.00 = $37,365. Miami does not publish a program-level total, so this figure is derived by multiplication.
| Rate Basis | Per Credit | 47-Credit Equivalent (derived) |
|---|---|---|
| FNP flat rate (applies to this program) | $795.00 | $37,365.00 |
| Miami standard graduate, Ohio resident | $747.33 | $35,124.51 |
| Miami standard graduate, non-resident | $1,686.42 | $79,261.74 |
The standard graduate rates above are Miami’s own 2026–2027 published figures, shown for context only. They do not apply to this program. The resident rate reconstructs as $640.82 tuition plus $106.51 fees; the non-resident rate adds a $939.09 surcharge.
Confirmed costs:
- $795.00 per credit hour, published, identical for every admitted student.
- 47 credits for the FNP track.
- The two-day on-campus skills workshop is stated as included in tuition and fees.
- No non-resident surcharge applies.
- The overload fee applies only above 18 credits per term, which this program’s pace does not reach.
Be aware that:
- The flat rate runs $47.67 per credit above Miami’s standard graduate resident rate, about $2,240 across 47 credits. Ohio residents pay a modest premium against the general graduate schedule. Illinois, Indiana, and Kentucky residents pay far below the standard non-resident rate.
- Market Driven Tuition cannot be covered by internal fee waivers. Miami names the TEAM Scholarship, graduate assistantships, Grant-in-Aid awards, and McNair awards as excluded. A faculty, staff, or family tuition waiver covers only the standard instructional portion of the rate, not the full $795.
- Rates shown are 2026–2027 and are stated as subject to change. A 47-credit program spans more than one rate year, so the derived total assumes a rate that may not hold.
- Student health insurance runs $2,226 annually unless waived ($933 fall, $1,293 spring). Miami’s market-driven schedule frames this as an optional purchase for these students rather than a mandatory charge, which conflicts with the standard graduate table’s waiver-or-buy language. Confirm with the One Stop.
- Miami notes that some courses carry additional fees. None are itemized for nursing, so course-level fees cannot be ruled out.
- Travel, lodging, and meals for the two-day campus workshop are not stated as covered. The workshop fee is included; getting there is a separate cost.
- Books, APEA certification-prep materials, background checks, immunizations, drug screening, and malpractice insurance are not itemized anywhere in Miami’s published cost material.
The practical read: $37,365 is close to a true all-in tuition figure, which is unusual. Most nursing programs stack a technology fee, a program fee, and a clinical fee on top of an advertised per-credit rate. Miami’s market-driven rate absorbs those, and it absorbs the skills workshop as well. The real budget additions are travel to campus, insurance if you need it, and the standard clinical compliance costs. What the flat rate takes away is scholarship leverage: the aid instruments Miami students normally reach for are explicitly closed to this program, so external scholarships, employer tuition benefits, and federal loans are the funding paths left.
Verify current figures on Miami’s graduate tuition and fees page before budgeting.
Why Choose This FNP Program?
Best suited for nurses in Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, or Kentucky who already have a year or more of bedside hours behind them and would rather have procedural training and clinical placement handled than assembled themselves.
Procedural training that online programs usually skip. Suturing, casting, incision and drainage, and pelvic exams cannot be taught through a screen, and many online FNP programs simply leave graduates to learn them on the job or at a paid continuing education course later. Miami builds two days of supervised hands-on practice into the program and into the price. For a nurse heading toward urgent care, rural primary care, or any setting where minor procedures are routine, that is a concrete skill transfer rather than a marketing line.
Placement is the school’s problem. Miami states it guarantees clinical placement for every FNP student. In online FNP education, preceptor hunting is where students stall, extend, or withdraw, and 750 hours is a lot of hours to find on your own. Pair the guarantee with a flat per-credit rate that ignores residency and the program becomes unusually predictable on both of the axes students most often get surprised by: whether they can finish, and what it will cost.
The gates are the trade-off, and they are firm. Enrollment is closed to anyone outside four states and to anyone who is not a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. The 1,000-hour experience requirement rules out new graduates on the full-time track, where the first practicum lands in the opening summer. And the flat rate is walled off from Miami’s own internal aid instruments, so the sticker price is closer to the real price than at schools where assistantships are in play. This is a program that trades openness for delivery: fewer people qualify, and the ones who do get more handled for them.
Accreditation
The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education accredits Miami University’s baccalaureate and master’s degree nursing programs. The MSN-FNP falls under that master’s scope. CCNE accreditation is the credential that matters most here, because it is what national certification bodies check when they evaluate an application to sit for boards.
Miami University is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Institutional accreditation governs federal financial aid eligibility and determines whether credits transfer if you later pursue a DNP, at Miami or elsewhere.
Graduates are eligible to sit for the national FNP certification exam through either the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board or the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Dual eligibility is standard for CCNE-accredited FNP programs and gives you a choice of credential. Miami reports a 100% FNP national certification pass rate for 2024 and 2025. Cohort sizes behind those figures are not published, which matters when reading any pass-rate claim.
Miami also offers a post-MSN DNP. It is worth naming because it is a natural next step, but it is a leadership and systems degree rather than a second clinical credential, and it does not carry an FNP population focus of its own.
Compare More Family NP Programs
- Case Western Reserve University - Cleveland
- Cedarville University - Cedarville
- Cleveland State University - Cleveland
- Franciscan University of Steubenville - Steubenville
- Kent State University - Kent
- Mount Carmel College of Nursing - Columbus
- Ohio State University - Columbus
- Ohio University - Athens
- University of Cincinnati - Cincinnati
- University of Mount Union - Alliance
- University of Toledo - Toledo
- Ursuline College - Pepper Pike
- Walsh University - North Canton
- Wright State University - Dayton
- Xavier University - Cincinnati
- Youngstown State University - Youngstown