University of Cincinnati FNP Programs

College of Nursing • Cincinnati, OH • UPDATE • $893/credit

The University of Cincinnati offers 3 Family Nurse Practitioner tracks:

  • MSN
  • Post-Graduate Certificate
  • DNP

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. Tuition (In-State )Est. DurationCredit Hours
MSN$45.5K ~2 yrs51
Certificate$893 per creditIndividualizedVaries
DNP$68.8-71.4K3 yrs77-80

UC’s defining advantage is one price across all three credentials: $893 per credit for Ohio residents, $908 for everyone else, with every mandatory fee already inside those numbers. The catch is eligibility. UC’s enrollment map is narrower than most online FNP programs, and it gets narrower still at the doctoral level.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesMSN, Post-Graduate Certificate, BSN-to-DNP
FormatMostly Online. Online coursework, local precepted clinicals, on-campus immersions
Clinical Hours672 (MSN); minimum 504 (Certificate); not stated (DNP)
Clinical PlacementClinical Site Coordinator assigned to every student; no placement guarantee stated
PopulationPrimary care across the lifespan
Distinctive CourseworkDNP adds differential diagnosis, biostatistics, informatics, and a defended DNP project
RN License RequirementsActive, unrestricted US RN license, no disciplinary action, plus one year of US RN experience
Enrollment RestrictionsClosed to AZ, LA, MA, NY, OR, RI, TN. DNP also closed to WA. All US territories excluded
Start TermsSpring, summer, fall for MSN and Certificate. Fall only for DNP
Tuition$893/credit resident, $908/credit non-resident, all three tracks
AccreditationCCNE (nursing); Higher Learning Commission (institutional)

MSN Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the MSN Family Nurse Practitioner at the University of Cincinnati is approximately $45,543 in-state and $46,308 out-of-state (51 credits at $893 and $908 per credit; derived, methodology shown in the Tuition section). The program can generally be completed in about two years, using spring, summer, and fall terms rather than sitting out summers.

MSN Curriculum

The MSN runs 51 credits and 672 clinical hours. At 51 credits it sits above the typical 45-to-49-credit BSN-entry FNP master’s, and the extra weight is buying clinical volume rather than additional theory coursework.

Term structure. Courses run in all three semesters, so a nurse carrying a reduced load can still finish near two years by using summers. This matters more than it sounds. Programs that go dark in summer force part-time students into a three-year calendar whether they want one or not.

Faculty model. UC states that courses are taught by clinically active, practicing nurses. Pharmacology and primary care management are the parts of an FNP curriculum that age fastest, and faculty who are still seeing patients tend to keep that content current.

Transfer credit. UC states that transferring credits is an option for this track. If you completed graduate coursework elsewhere, ask for a transcript evaluation before you calculate your cost, since the 51-credit figure assumes you are starting from zero.

The published curriculum covers:

  • Advanced pathophysiology
  • Advanced pharmacology for advanced practice nurses
  • Advanced health assessment
  • Primary care management across the lifespan
  • Precepted FNP practicum sequence
  • Evidence translation for advanced practice

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • UC does not publish a course-by-course credit and clinical-hour breakdown for the MSN. The 51-credit and 672-hour figures are stated only at the program level, so per-course practicum hours cannot be verified from public materials.
  • Starting Spring 2027, students in Advanced Health Assessment must complete a three-day on-campus immersion in Cincinnati to demonstrate competency before entering practicum. This is a stated future requirement, not a current one, and it applies to all three FNP tracks.

MSN Clinical Requirements

  • 672 total clinical hours
  • In-person precepted clinical practice completed in the student’s own area
  • A Clinical Site Coordinator is assigned to guide students through clinical and practicum requirements
  • Derived: 672 hours across 51 credits is roughly 13.2 clinical hours per program credit

At 672 hours the MSN sits 172 hours above the 500-hour national certification floor, inside the 600-to-700 band most FNP programs use. That is meaningful training depth over a 500-hour program, and it is also 172 more hours of unpaid clinical time to schedule around a job. On placement, UC assigns a named Clinical Site Coordinator and describes a clinical planning support team. That is more structure than programs that simply hand students a preceptor packet, but it is support, not a guarantee, and UC publishes no guarantee.

You Should Know
  • UC does not publish a placement success rate, an average time to placement, or a fallback policy for students who cannot secure a preceptor. Ask for all three in writing.
  • Whether all 672 hours must be direct patient care, or whether simulation counts toward the total, is not clearly stated.
  • Kansas residents are admitted on a modified plan. Since March 1, 2025, the Kansas Board of Nursing has required more APRN clinical hours than UC’s standard program provides, so admitted Kansas students receive a variable-credit course (NURS8098: Clinical Elective) to close the gap. Those credits are billed on top of the 51.

MSN Admissions

The MSN has the lightest application of UC’s three FNP tracks. Applications are accepted year-round rather than in a single window, and UC does not state a reference, resume, or goal-statement requirement for this track.

  • Current, active, unrestricted RN license with no disciplinary action
  • BSN conferred by a regionally accredited institution with ACEN or CCNE nursing accreditation
  • Overall BSN GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale (recommended)
  • Science GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale
  • Undergraduate statistics course completed with a 2.0 or higher
  • Minimum of one year of RN experience in the United States
  • NursingCAS application fee: $85 domestic, $90 international

Three entry points per year on a repeating annual cycle: apply by November 15 for a January start, March 15 for a May start, and July 15 for an August start.

You Should Know
  • The 3.0 BSN GPA is described as recommended, while the 3.0 science GPA and the 2.0 statistics grade are stated flatly. A borderline overall GPA is likely discussable; a weak science record is the harder problem.
  • The one-year US RN experience requirement is a hard gate. New graduates cannot apply, regardless of GPA.
  • UC’s online graduate nursing programs are closed to applicants located in Arizona, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Tennessee, and to residents of all US territories. Check this before anything else.

Post-Graduate Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Post-Graduate Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner at the University of Cincinnati is charged at the same $893 per credit resident and $908 per credit non-resident rate as the MSN, but the total is not published because the credit count is set individually. The program has no fixed completion timeline for the same reason.

Certificate Curriculum

This is a genuinely individualized program, not a fixed block of courses. UC evaluates each applicant’s prior graduate coursework and builds a plan of study around what is missing. An adult-gerontology NP moving into family practice typically needs pediatric and women’s health content plus the practicum sequence. Someone whose master’s sits further from primary care may need more of the core rebuilt.

The practical consequence is that no two students pay the same amount or finish on the same schedule. That protects you from repeating coursework you already passed, but it also means you cannot compare UC’s price against a fixed-credit certificate elsewhere until UC has reviewed your transcript. Since this track cannot use financial aid, that sequencing problem is more serious here than it would be for a degree program.

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • Credit count, total cost, and duration are all unstated until UC issues an individualized plan of study. Request that plan in writing before accepting an offer or paying the matriculation fee.
  • UC states that transferring credits is an option for this track as well, which can shorten an already-customized plan further.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Minimum of 504 clinical hours, per UC’s College of Nursing certificate page
  • One-on-one work with experienced preceptors drawn from a range of specialties
  • Clinical experiences span the lifespan, consistent with FNP scope
  • Actual assigned hours depend on the individualized plan of study

A 504-hour floor clears the 500-hour certification minimum by four hours, and it sits 168 hours below what UC’s own MSN students complete. For a certificate that is defensible, since candidates already hold an APRN graduate degree and bring prior supervised hours into the program. But if you want depth rather than the shortest route to a second population focus, ask what additional practicum is available and what it costs.

You Should Know
  • Whether clinical hours from your previous APRN program count toward the 504 is not clearly stated.
  • The Kansas clinical-hour top-up applies to APRN certificate students the same way it applies to the MSN and DNP.

Certificate Admissions

This application is substantially heavier than the MSN’s, and UC publishes two different versions of the requirements. Both are listed below because the differences change who qualifies.

  • Current, active, unrestricted RN license with no disciplinary action
  • Graduate nursing degree from a regionally accredited institution with ACEN or CCNE nursing accreditation. One UC page names MSN, DNP, or PhD; another names only MSN or DNP
  • GPA: one UC page requires a 3.0 cumulative for the last degree earned; another recommends a 3.25 BSN or BA in Nursing GPA
  • Science GPA of 3.0 or higher; undergraduate statistics completed with a 2.0 or higher
  • Three to six references who can speak to your nursing practice from direct experience
  • CV or resume in PDF format
  • Goal statement of 500 to 700 words, also evaluated as an academic writing sample
  • Fees: NursingCAS $80, UC Graduate School $65 ($70 international), plus a non-refundable $500 matriculation fee on acceptance that is credited toward first-semester tuition

Spring, summer, and fall starts are available. UC states that application windows can close early if a program reaches capacity, so treat the published deadlines as outer limits rather than targets.

You Should Know
  • The two published deadline schedules disagree ⚠️. One lists a September 15 deadline for a spring start; the other lists November 15 for the same term. That is a two-month gap on the same intake. Confirm the current date with an enrollment advisor before you plan around either.
  • This program is not eligible for federal financial aid or other financial assistance. A Bursar’s Office payment plan is the stated alternative. Combined with an unpublished total cost, that makes advance budgeting genuinely difficult.
  • Applying costs $145 before you are admitted and $645 before your first term begins, against $85 for the MSN. The published NursingCAS fee itself differs between UC pages, at $85 on the MSN page and $80 on the certificate page.
  • One version of the requirements includes a one-year US RN experience minimum and an English proficiency requirement for internationally educated applicants; the other omits both.

Family Nurse Practitioner DNP

The estimated tuition for the Family Nurse Practitioner DNP at the University of Cincinnati is approximately $68,761 to $71,440 in-state and $69,916 to $72,640 out-of-state (77 to 80 credits at the same $893 and $908 per-credit rates; derived, and see the Tuition section for why the real figure is likely lower). The program runs three years and admits for fall semester only.

DNP Curriculum

This is a BSN-entry doctorate that layers a full DNP core on top of the FNP clinical sequence, which is why it runs 77 to 80 credits against the MSN’s 51.

What the extra credits buy. Roughly half the added weight is doctoral coursework the MSN does not include: biostatistics, informatics, research methods, quality improvement and patient safety, health policy, population health, and program planning and evaluation. The other half is the DNP project sequence, which runs across three practicum courses and ends in a public defense and a manuscript submitted to a peer-reviewed journal.

The FNP clinical spine. The specialty sequence sits in semesters 6 through 8 and is recognizable from any FNP program: adult health management in two parts, pediatrics, well women’s care, differential diagnosis, and three escalating practicum courses paired with seminars. The practicum credits scale upward, from 3 to 4 to 5, which front-loads the didactic work and back-loads the clinical hours.

Grade floor. Nearly every course carries a stated B-minus minimum. That is stricter than a standard graduate C-level pass and worth knowing before you enrol, because a single weak term has more consequence here than in most programs.

Representative courses from the published plan of study:

  • NURS8022 Advanced Physiology and Pathophysiology (3-4 credits)
  • NURS8020C Advanced Health Assessment (3 credits)
  • NURS8024 Pharmacology for Advanced Practice Nurses (3 credits)
  • NURS8026 Differential Diagnosis for the APN (3 credits)
  • ANNP8062 Clinical Management of Children for the FNP (2 credits)
  • ANNP8063 Clinical Management of Well Women for the FNP (2 credits)
  • ANNP8070 / 8072 / 8074 Family Nurse Practitioner Practicum I, II, III (3, 4, and 5 credits)
  • NDNP9025 / 9035 DNP Practicum: Strategy Development and Implementation (3 credits each)
You Should Know
  • The published plan of study lists nine semesters but shows courses for only eight. Semesters 1 through 8 total 72 to 75 credits against a stated program range of 77 to 80, so roughly 5 credits sit in an unpublished final semester. Ask what those courses are before you assume the sequence is complete.
  • UC lists the same 77-to-80 credit range for both post-baccalaureate and post-master’s entry. A post-master’s student should not need the same credit load as a BSN-entry student, so treat the post-master’s figure as unverified and request a transcript-based plan.
  • The published plan is dated Fall 2024. Confirm you are being quoted the current version.

DNP Clinical Requirements

  • FNP patient-care clinical hours: not clearly stated
  • Three FNP practicum courses totalling 12 credits (Practicum I, II, and III)
  • Three DNP practicum courses totalling 500 hours, dedicated to the DNP project
  • Clinical Site Coordinator assigned, as with the other two tracks
  • DNP project defended publicly before the project chairperson, team, and faculty

The important distinction here is that the 500 hours UC publishes for this program are DNP project hours, not patient-care hours. UC describes those practicum courses as project-focused rather than didactic, covering topic identification, proposal defense, implementation, dissemination, and final defense. They are not FNP clinical training, and they should not be read as satisfying the 500-hour certification floor. The FNP clinical hour total for this track is simply not published, which is a real gap in a program that costs upwards of $68,000.

You Should Know
  • Ask directly for the FNP patient-care hour total before applying and get it in writing. Do not accept the 500 DNP project hours as an answer.
  • DNP students living within roughly a two-hour drive of UC’s campus (about 100 miles) are expected to defend the DNP project in person. Students farther away may defend virtually. This makes one campus obligation depend on where you live rather than on the program itself.
  • Active-duty military applicants may only apply if they reside on a military base and can complete clinical requirements on that base. Clinicals cannot be completed at a US embassy.

DNP Admissions

One intake a year, a stricter GPA recommendation than the MSN, and a statistics course that must be recent rather than merely completed.

  • Current, active, unrestricted RN license with no disciplinary action
  • Bachelor’s degree in nursing from an ACEN- or CCNE-accredited institution
  • Overall BSN or BA in Nursing GPA of 3.25 on a 4.0 scale (recommended)
  • Science GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale
  • Undergraduate statistics with a 2.0 or higher, completed within the last five years
  • Minimum of one year of RN experience in the United States at the time of application
  • English proficiency documentation for applicants educated in non-English-speaking countries
  • Three to six references, a CV or resume, and a 500-to-700-word goal statement
  • Fees: NursingCAS $80, UC Graduate School $65 ($70 international), and a non-refundable $500 matriculation fee on acceptance

The FNP DNP admits for fall only, on an annual cycle with an early-summer deadline. UC notes that the window can close early if the program fills.

You Should Know
  • The five-year recency requirement on statistics is easy to miss and disqualifies otherwise-strong applicants who took the course during their BSN a decade ago. Budget a term to retake it if needed.
  • The recommended GPA is 3.25 here against 3.0 for the MSN, so a nurse near the line may find the master’s route open when the doctoral route is not.
  • The DNP carries a longer restricted-state list than the MSN and certificate: Washington State is excluded from the DNP programs but authorized for the post-graduate certificate. If you live in Washington, the credential you choose determines whether you can enrol at all.

Tuition

All three FNP tracks are charged at the same rate: $893.00 per credit hour for Ohio residents and $908.00 per credit hour for non-residents. Those figures are fee-inclusive. UC publishes them two different ways across its sites, and both reconstructions agree exactly.

Fee ComponentPer Credit HourPer Full-Time Semester
Instructional Fee$752.00$7,520.00
General Fee$39.80$398.00
ITIE Fee$18.00$184.00
Distance Learning Fee$26.20$257.00
Program / Online Learning Fee$57.00$563.00
Resident Total$893.00$8,922.00
Non-Resident Surcharge$15.00$150.00
Non-Resident Total$908.00$9,072.00

UC’s College of Nursing quotes the same cost differently, as a base rate of $836 resident or $851 non-resident plus a separate $57 online learning fee. Those are the same numbers split at a different point: $836 is the first four components above, and adding the $57 fee produces $893. The full-time semester figures reconcile the same way, at $8,359 plus $563. If an advisor quotes you $836, that number is incomplete.

Applying the per-credit rates produces these derived program totals:

  • MSN, resident: 51 × $893 = $45,543 (derived)
  • MSN, non-resident: 51 × $908 = $46,308 (derived)
  • DNP, resident: 77 to 80 credits = $68,761 to $71,440 (derived)
  • DNP, non-resident: 77 to 80 credits = $69,916 to $72,640 (derived)
  • Certificate: not calculable in advance; credit count is individualized

Confirmed costs:

  • Per-credit rates above, which include all mandatory instructional, general, technology, program, and distance-learning fees
  • Non-resident surcharge of $15.00 per credit hour, or $150.00 per full-time semester
  • Bloodborne pathogen (needlestick) insurance at $16.00 per year
  • MSN application: NursingCAS $85 domestic, $90 international
  • Certificate and DNP application: NursingCAS $80, UC Graduate School $65 ($70 international), and a $500 non-refundable matriculation fee credited toward first-semester tuition

Be aware that:

  • The $16 needlestick insurance charge is explicitly excluded from every published total. It is small, billed annually, and not optional for students with clinical exposure.
  • Full time begins at 10 credits and the semester rate is flat above that, so an 11-credit semester costs the same as a 10-credit one. The DNP plan of study includes several 11-credit semesters, which means the real cost is lower than credits multiplied by rate. Working the published sequence semester by semester produces roughly $66,900 to $69,600 for a resident, about $1,800 below the naive calculation. This is a derived estimate that assumes the unpublished ninth semester carries about 5 credits.
  • The MSN shows almost no difference between the two rate structures, at roughly $40 across the degree. Choose your load based on your schedule, not on cost.
  • The non-resident premium is $15 per credit, which comes to $765 across the MSN and roughly $1,155 to $1,200 across the DNP. For most public universities that gap runs into five figures.
  • UC’s College of Nursing publishes two tuition tables. FNP falls under Table A. Table B, which covers several other NP specialties, carries a substantially higher non-resident rate and a separate metro rate for Kentucky and Indiana residents. Confirm you are being quoted from Table A.
  • There is no metro or reciprocity rate for FNP applicants. Northern Kentucky and southeastern Indiana residents pay the full non-resident rate despite living minutes from campus. At $15 per credit the practical impact is minor, but it surprises people.
  • Kansas residents are assigned an additional variable-credit clinical course. Those credits bill at the standard rate and are not in any figure above.
  • Published rates reflect the 2025-26 academic year. UC states no cohort tuition lock for graduate nursing, so budget for annual increases across a two- or three-year sequence.

The all-in read: at $893 per credit UC is priced as a mid-tier public, and the fee-inclusive structure means the number you calculate is close to the number you pay. What moves your total is credit count, not rate. The MSN’s 51 credits run four to six above a typical FNP master’s, which is where several thousand dollars of difference lives, and the DNP’s 77 to 80 is a serious commitment at any per-credit price. The certificate is the only track you cannot price in advance, and it is also the only one that cannot borrow against the gap.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for nurses who can confirm they are eligible to enrol, and who want a cost they can calculate before they apply.

Pricing you can actually verify. UC breaks its per-credit rate into named components that add up exactly, publishes the same figure two different ways across two sites, and applies it identically to all three credentials. Most FNP programs quote a base tuition rate and let program fees, technology fees, and distance-learning charges surface term by term. Here you can build the total yourself before submitting an application, and the only costs sitting outside it are $16 a year of needlestick insurance and, for the certificate and DNP, application and matriculation fees.

A near-irrelevant out-of-state penalty. The non-resident surcharge is $15 per credit. Across the entire MSN that is $765. This is the single strongest practical argument for UC over a comparable in-state public elsewhere: if the program fits, geography barely affects the price. It does, however, affect whether you can enrol at all, which is the tension running through this whole profile.

Three real doors, one clinical infrastructure. BSN nurses take the MSN, MSN-prepared NPs adding family practice take the certificate, and nurses who want the doctorate take the DNP. All three share the Clinical Site Coordinator model and the same faculty. The MSN is also markedly easier to apply to, with no references, resume, goal statement, or matriculation fee, which makes it the low-friction option for anyone genuinely deciding between the master’s and the doctorate.

The honest trade-offs. Four. The certificate publishes neither a credit count nor a total and cannot use financial aid. The DNP does not publish its FNP patient-care clinical hours at all. UC’s own pages contradict each other on certificate deadlines and application fees. And the delivery description is inconsistent: one page calls the MSN a 100% online program with no site visits required, while the program page describes on-campus immersions and a three-day Cincinnati immersion beginning Spring 2027.

Geographic verdict. Check the map before you check the math. If you live in Arizona, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, or any US territory, UC is not an option and no other factor matters. If you live in Washington, the certificate is open to you and the DNP is not. If you live in Kansas, plan for extra clinical credits and extra cost. If you clear all of that, UC becomes a straightforward proposition: a CCNE-accredited public research university at $893 per credit with essentially no out-of-state penalty, 672 clinical hours in the master’s, and a fee structure you can audit line by line. That is a good deal, and it is available to fewer nurses than most online FNP programs.


Accreditation

All three FNP tracks sit inside UC’s nursing accreditation. The scope, verified on UC’s College of Nursing accreditation page, reads: “the baccalaureate, Master of Science in Nursing, Doctor of Nursing Practice, and post-graduate APRN certificate programs at the University of Cincinnati College of Nursing are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).” No candidacy, probation, or pending status appears in UC’s published materials.

The university itself is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. That is what governs federal financial aid eligibility and credit transfer if you later move from the MSN toward a doctorate.

UC states that all three curricula prepare graduates to sit for both national FNP certification exams: AANP (FNP-C) and ANCC (FNP-BC).


Compare More Family NP Programs