Walsh University offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:
- MSN-FNP
- Post-Master’s Certificate
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN | $35.3K | 6 sem | 45 |
| Certificate | $16.5K–$23.6K | 6 sem | 21–30 |
Walsh’s defining advantage is a Post-Master’s Certificate priced off the credential you already hold. Three courses are waivable for currently certified nurse practitioners in specialty practice, which cuts the program from 30 credits to 21 and removes $7,065 from the bill. The trade-off is unusual: Walsh excludes certificate programs from federal financial aid, so the cheaper of its two FNP credentials is the one you have to fund yourself.
Both tracks require coursework to be completed online plus two intensive experiences, one virtual and one on the North Canton campus. Enrollment is limited to residents of 23 states.
A note on the doctorate: Walsh’s 2025–2027 graduate catalog still lists a BSN-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner curriculum at 64 credits and 1,200 clinical hours, but the catalog states the Doctor of Nursing Practice is not currently accepting applications. BSN-prepared nurses seeking FNP preparation at Walsh should plan on the MSN track. The separately listed DNP Leadership track is a post-master’s degree and does not produce FNP certification eligibility.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MSN-FNP; Post-Master’s Certificate FNP |
| Format | Mostly Online. Online coursework plus two intensives, one virtual and one on campus (2–3 days) |
| Clinical Hours | MSN 700 across 3 rotations. Certificate 700 or 750, depending on source |
| Clinical Placement | Dedicated placement coordinator collaborates with students. Not stated as a guarantee |
| Population | Individuals and families across the lifespan, primary care focus |
| Distinctive Coursework | Healthcare Technology and Data Management; Application of Epidemiology to Health Services |
| RN License Requirements | Current unencumbered RN license. Certificate adds 1 year of RN experience |
| Enrollment Restrictions | Open to residents of 23 states only. 27 states are excluded from both tracks |
| Start Terms | Three per year: fall, spring, summer. Courses run 8 and 16 weeks |
| Financial Aid | Federal aid is not offered for certificate programs. The MSN is aid-eligible |
| Tuition | $785 per credit hour, both tracks, no residency distinction |
| Accreditation | CCNE (master’s and DNP); Higher Learning Commission institutionally |
Master of Science in Nursing: Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the MSN-FNP at Walsh University is approximately $35,325 (45 credits at $785/credit, derived). The program can generally be completed in about 6 semesters, or two years of full-time study, with part-time options available and three entry points each year.
MSN Curriculum
The 45-credit curriculum is built in three named blocks, and the structure tells you where Walsh puts its weight.
Foundation (9 credits). Three courses covering the advanced nursing role, theory and research for evidence-based practice, and health care policy, organization, and financing. This is the smallest block, which keeps the non-clinical overhead low relative to programs that front-load six or more core courses.
Practice Application (21 credits). This is the largest block and it holds two courses that are worth noticing. Application of Epidemiology to Health Services and Healthcare Technology and Data Management are not standard FNP fare. Most FNP curricula treat population health and informatics as topics inside a policy course rather than as separate three-credit courses. If you expect to work in a system that measures panel-level outcomes or asks you to interpret registry data, that is two full courses of preparation other programs do not give you.
Expert Knowledge (15 credits). The three-stage FNP sequence, each stage pairing a seminar with a practicum: adults and elders, then children and women, then a capstone in primary care. The seminar-plus-practicum pairing means didactic content and clinical hours advance together rather than clinical work being appended at the end.
Two zero-credit intensive courses, NURS 671 and NURS 672, sit inside the Practice Application block. They carry no credit and add no tuition, but they are required registrations and they are where the campus obligation lives.
- NURS 603 Advanced Professional Nursing Role (3)
- NURS 706 Health Care Policy, Organization and Financing (3)
- NURS 610 Advanced Pathophysiology (3)
- NURS 612 Advanced Pharmacology (3)
- NURS 614 Advanced Health Assessment (3)
- NURS 705 Application of Epidemiology to Health Services (3)
- NURS 718 Healthcare Technology and Data Management (3)
- NURS 644A / 646A / 648A FNP Seminars I–III (3 each)
- NURS 644B / 646B / 648B FNP Practicums I–III (2 each)
More curriculum details are available here.
MSN Clinical Requirements
- 700 total clinical hours across three rotations
- FNP I Practicum: 250 hours (2 credits)
- FNP II Practicum: 200 hours (2 credits)
- FNP III Practicum: 250 hours (2 credits)
- Per-course hours sum to the published total exactly
- Minimum time commitment: 20 hours per week during clinical terms, published by the school
- A clinical placement coordinator collaborates with students to secure sites and preceptors, verify clearances, and answer logistics questions
- Students are encouraged to refer their own preceptors and network locally
- Preceptors must be an NP, MD, DO, PA, or in some cases a CNS, with at least one year of experience in the population focus
- Preceptors may not be the student’s immediate supervisor, a family member, or a personal friend
- Students may precept at their own workplace, but may not log clinical hours during paid work hours
At 700 hours, Walsh sits 200 above the 500-hour national certification floor and above the 600 to 700 range most FNP programs land in. The more useful number is the one Walsh publishes and most schools do not: a 20-hour weekly minimum. That works out to roughly 35 weeks of clinical activity, and it is a direct statement that full-time employment and clinical rotations will collide. Take it as a planning figure rather than a warning. Programs that stay vague about weekly hours leave students to discover the same math in their third semester.
The placement model is collaborative rather than guaranteed. Walsh assigns a coordinator, maintains a preceptor network, and handles clearance paperwork, but the school’s own language asks students to participate actively in sourcing placements. That is a middle position between programs that place you outright and programs that leave you entirely on your own.
You Should Know
- The workplace precepting rule has a practical consequence. If your only realistic preceptor is your direct supervisor, that placement is disallowed and you will need to find another site.
- Walsh does not publish a placement guarantee or a stated timeline for securing a site. The school advises networking early because of nationwide competition for preceptors.
- Clinical courses fall toward the end of the program, so schedule pressure concentrates in the final semesters rather than spreading evenly.
MSN Admissions
Walsh does not gate the MSN on prior RN experience, which is uncommon among FNP programs and relevant if you are applying within a year or two of finishing your BSN. The binding constraint here is geographic, not academic.
- BSN from an accredited school of nursing
- Minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA
- Current, unencumbered RN license
- Grade of B or higher in an undergraduate or graduate statistics course
- Two letters of reference
- No application fee
- Three start terms per year: fall, spring, and summer
You Should Know
- The MSN-FNP is available only to residents of Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Mexico, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia. Twenty-seven states are excluded, including California, New York, Florida, and Georgia.
- Walsh’s published application deadline of July 27, 2026 has passed. Treat it as the annual pattern for a summer intake and confirm current dates with an advisor.
- The Byers School of Nursing’s general graduate admission requirements state that one year of RN experience is preferred. The MSN-FNP page does not list it as required. Confirm how the committee weighs it.
Post-Master’s Certificate: Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the PMC-FNP at Walsh University ranges from approximately $16,485 to $23,550, depending on how many courses are waived (21 to 30 credits at $785/credit, derived).
The program can generally be completed in about 6 semesters, or two years, on the same three-term-per-year calendar as the MSN.
Certificate Curriculum
The certificate is the MSN’s clinical core with the degree-level coursework removed. It drops the entire 9-credit Foundation block plus epidemiology and healthcare technology, keeping the five practice-application courses and the full three-stage FNP sequence.
How the credit range works. The catalog total is 30 credits. Advanced Pathophysiology, Advanced Pharmacology, and Advanced Health Assessment may be waived for nurse practitioners who are currently certified in a specialty practice area (adult, women’s health, pediatrics, or nurse midwifery) and currently practicing. Those three courses are 9 credits, which is exactly the difference between the catalog’s 30 and the marketing page’s floor of 21. The waiver is the whole range.
This matters more than a typical transfer-credit policy because it is scoped to your certification, not to your transcript. A certified PNP or WHNP moving to family practice reaches the low end. An MSN-prepared nurse educator or administrator without an APRN credential almost certainly does not.
- NURS 610 Advanced Pathophysiology (3, waivable)
- NURS 612 Advanced Pharmacology (3, waivable)
- NURS 614 Advanced Health Assessment (3, waivable)
- NURS 640 Clinical Assessment and Management (3)
- NURS 642 Clinical Pharmacology (3)
- NURS 644A / 646A / 648A FNP Seminars I–III (3 each)
- NURS 644B / 646B / 648B FNP Practicums I–III (2 each)
- NURS 671 and NURS 672 Intensives I and II (0 credits, required)
More curriculum details are available here.
Certificate Clinical Requirements
- 750 total clinical hours per the graduate catalog, across three rotations
- FNP I Practicum: 250 hours (2 credits)
- FNP II Practicum: 200 hours (2 credits)
- FNP III Practicum: 300 hours (2 credits)
- ⚠ The program marketing page and the clinical placement FAQ both state 700 hours for this certificate, not 750. The catalog’s per-course figures sum to 750 and its summary line repeats 750.
- Students may register for only one clinical course (FNP I, II, or III) per semester
- Same 20-hour weekly minimum, placement coordinator model, and preceptor rules as the MSN
The one-clinical-course-per-semester cap is a hard pacing constraint that is easy to miss. With three clinical courses, the certificate cannot be finished in fewer than three semesters of clinical work regardless of how many courses are waived. A candidate who waives all 9 credits still spends at least three terms in rotations. That is why the certificate carries the same stated two-year duration as the MSN despite being up to 24 credits lighter.
The 50-hour difference between the certificate and the MSN is entirely in the final capstone practicum. If the catalog figure is correct, the certificate carries a heavier clinical load than the degree, which is the reverse of the usual pattern and worth confirming before you assume the certificate is the lighter path.
You Should Know
- The clinical hour total is not settled. Two Walsh sources say 700 and the catalog says 750. Ask admissions which figure governs, since state boards evaluate the documented total.
- The catalog’s Expert Knowledge block header reads 25 credit hours, but the six courses beneath it sum to 15. The stated program total of 30 is consistent with 15, so the header appears to be a typographical error.
- The catalog says the certificate requires students to be on campus for two intensives. The marketing page and the FAQ say one intensive is virtual and one is on campus. This is a two-day travel difference.
- Waiver eligibility is decided at admission, so your cost is not fixed until the review is complete. Get the credit count in writing before you commit.
Certificate Admissions
The certificate applies gates the MSN does not: a year of RN experience, a personal statement, a resume, and a possible interview. Plan for a longer application file.
- MSN from an accredited school of nursing
- Minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA
- Current, unencumbered RN license with one year of experience
- Completion of an undergraduate or graduate statistics course
- Resume and personal statement
- Official transcripts from all institutions attended
- Two letters of reference
- An interview may be requested
- No application fee
You Should Know
- The same 23-state enrollment list applies. The certificate and MSN eligibility lists are identical.
- The MSN requires a B or better in statistics. The certificate lists completion of the course without a grade minimum. If your statistics grade is marginal, that difference is worth raising with an advisor.
- The July 27, 2026 deadline shown on this page has also passed. Treat it as an annual summer-intake pattern.
Tuition
Walsh charges $785 per credit hour for the MSN-FNP and the Post-Master’s Certificate. This is a published rate taken directly from the university’s graduate tuition schedule, which groups CHD, MSN, DNP, and PPOTD programs, including post-master’s certificates, on a single line. Walsh is private, so there is no resident or non-resident distinction. The rate is not fee-inclusive.
| Track | Credits | Rate | Tuition (derived) |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN-FNP | 45 | $785 | $35,325 |
| Certificate, no waiver | 30 | $785 | $23,550 |
| Certificate, full waiver | 21 | $785 | $16,485 |
All three totals are derived by multiplying published credit counts by the published per-credit rate. Walsh does not publish program totals for either track.
Confirmed additional costs, from the published fee schedule:
- Technology fee: $50
- Graduation fee: $165
- Transcript fee: $15
- Parking fee: $75, waived for online-only students who contact Student Services
- Full waiver saving on the certificate: $7,065 (9 credits at $785, derived)
Be aware that:
- Federal financial aid is not offered for non-degree programs, including certificate programs. Walsh states this directly on its tuition page. The certificate must be funded through savings, employer support, or private lending.
- The fee schedule does not state whether the $50 technology fee is charged per semester or once. Across six semesters that is a $250 difference. Confirm the basis before budgeting.
- Walsh notes that additional fees may apply to specific courses, required projects, and assessment tools, and directs students to ask the program. The FNP tracks use clinical logging and assessment tools, so treat this as a real and unquantified line.
- Whether the $165 graduation fee applies to a non-degree certificate is not stated.
- Walsh describes all rates as estimated and subject to change. A two-year program spans at least one rate cycle.
- Certificate cost is not final until waiver eligibility is decided at admission. The swing between the 21-credit and 30-credit outcomes is $7,065.
- Clinical costs are not in these figures: travel to sites, the two-day campus intensive, background checks, immunizations, and liability coverage where required.
Using six semesters and treating the technology fee as recurring, an all-in MSN estimate lands near $35,790 and a full-waiver certificate near $16,950, both derived and both excluding clinical and travel costs. The number that should drive your decision is not the sticker price but the funding route. The MSN costs roughly twice the discounted certificate and is federal-aid eligible. The certificate is cheaper and closed to federal aid. For a nurse without cash reserves or employer tuition support, the more expensive program can be the easier one to actually pay for.
Rates are published on Walsh’s graduate tuition and fees page.
Why Choose This FNP Program?
Walsh works best for two specific people: a certified nurse practitioner in another population focus who wants to add family practice at the lowest possible credit count, and a BSN-prepared nurse in one of the 23 eligible states who wants clinical volume above the national norm without a residency requirement.
The certificate rewards the credential you already hold. Most post-master’s FNP certificates set a fixed credit count and let you petition for transfer credit course by course. Walsh instead ties three specific waivers to active specialty certification and current practice. A practicing PNP or WHNP walks into a 21-credit program at $16,485. That is a structural discount, not a case-by-case negotiation, and it is the clearest reason to look at Walsh over a school with a flat certificate requirement. The limit is equally clear: an MSN in education or administration without an APRN credential gets none of it.
Clinical volume is high and the expectations are published. The MSN’s 700 hours sit 200 above the 500-hour certification floor and at the upper end of the 600 to 700 range. Walsh also publishes a 20-hour weekly clinical minimum, which is unusual candor. Most programs let students infer the workload. The three-stage seminar-and-practicum design keeps didactic and clinical work moving together rather than stacking rotations at the end, and the placement coordinator handles clearances and site vetting even though placement is not guaranteed.
The constraints are geographic and financial, not academic. Twenty-seven states are closed to both tracks, which rules Walsh out entirely for a large share of applicants before curriculum ever matters. The doctoral route is closed to new applicants. And the certificate’s exclusion from federal aid means the cheaper credential requires cash. Check three things in order: whether your state is on the list, whether your certification qualifies for the waivers, and how you would pay. If all three clear, the clinical depth and the three annual start terms make this a straightforward choice.
Accreditation
Walsh University’s nursing programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. The school’s published scope statement reads: “The master’s degree program in nursing and doctor of nursing practice program at Walsh University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.” That language covers the MSN-FNP directly.
Walsh University is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Institutional accreditation is what makes a school eligible to participate in federal student aid programs and is what most employers and graduate programs check when evaluating a transcript. It operates independently of nursing-specific accreditation, and both matter.
Graduates of either FNP track are eligible to sit for the national FNP certification exam through AANP or ANCC. Walsh states that certification pass rates for its program run above the national average but does not publish the figure or the reporting year.
Compare More Family NP Programs
- Case Western Reserve University - Cleveland
- Cedarville University - Cedarville
- Cleveland State University - Cleveland
- Franciscan University of Steubenville - Steubenville
- Kent State University - Kent
- Miami University - Hamilton & Oxford
- Mount Carmel College of Nursing - Columbus
- Ohio State University - Columbus
- Ohio University - Athens
- University of Cincinnati - Cincinnati
- University of Mount Union - Alliance
- University of Toledo - Toledo
- Ursuline College - Pepper Pike
- Wright State University - Dayton
- Xavier University - Cincinnati
- Youngstown State University - Youngstown