University of Mount Union offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:
- MSN
- Post-Master’s Certificate
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN | $36.8K | 22 mo | 46 |
| Certificate | $19.2K | 4 sem | 24 |
Mount Union’s defining advantage is a locked price. Tuition is fixed at your entering cohort’s rate for the full length of the program, and the same $800 per credit applies to both the MSN and the certificate. The trade-off is reach. The MSN is built for licensure in six states, and the certificate requires permanent residence in an approved state.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MSN FNP; Post-Master’s FNP Certificate |
| Format | Mostly Online. Asynchronous coursework plus two on-campus intensives, both tracks |
| Clinical Hours | 750 practicum hours, identical in both tracks |
| Clinical Placement | Not clearly stated |
| Population | Family, across the lifespan |
| Distinctive Coursework | Two credit-bearing on-campus intensives; APRN Diagnostic Reasoning; Capstone (MSN only) |
| Concentrations | None offered |
| RN License Requirements | Current, unencumbered RN license. 1,000 RN clinical hours required |
| Start Terms | MSN: August only. Certificate: January only |
| Enrollment Restrictions | MSN designed for licensure in OH, IN, KY, MI, PA, WV. Certificate requires residence in an approved state |
| Tuition | $800 per credit, 2025-2026, fixed for the duration of your cohort |
| Accreditation | CCNE (MSN and postgraduate APRN certificate); HLC institutional |
MSN Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the MSN FNP program at University of Mount Union is approximately $36,800 (46 credits at $800/credit). The program can generally be completed in about 22 months on the full-time plan, with a part-time plan running eight semesters.
MSN Curriculum
Foundation block. The first semester is a clean 3 Ps block: advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment, with no practicum attached. That sequencing matters practically. It means the first term carries no clinical scheduling burden, which is useful if you are still working full-time and lining up preceptor arrangements.
FNP specialty sequence. From Semester Two forward the program pairs a didactic Advanced Practice course with a matching practicum in every term. Diagnostic Reasoning opens the sequence, then Advanced Practice I, II, and III run alongside Practicums I through IV. The result is that clinical and classroom work advance together rather than the program front-loading theory and back-loading hours.
Credit-bearing intensives. The two on-campus intensives are graded courses, not attendance events. NUR 606 (Intensive I) sits at the front of the practicum sequence, and NUR 612 (Intensive II) at the midpoint. Both are 1 credit. Building the skills labs into the transcript means they carry assessment weight, and it means you pay tuition for them.
MSN-only coursework. Twenty-two of the 46 credits sit outside the FNP specialty sequence: the 9-credit APRN core, Healthcare Trends and Issues, APRN Role and Development, Research and Evidence-Based Practice, Core Competencies for the APRN, and a 3-credit Capstone. These are the credits the certificate track drops.
- NUR 501 Advanced Pathophysiology (3)
- NUR 502 Advanced Pharmacology (3)
- NUR 503 Advanced Health Assessment (3)
- NUR 604 APRN Diagnostic Reasoning (3)
- NUR 606 FNP Intensive I (1)
- NUR 601, 602, 603 FNP Advanced Practice I, II, III (9)
- NUR 612 FNP Intensive II (1)
- NUR 506 APRN Role and Development (2)
- NUR 605 Core Competencies for the APRN (2)
- NUR 611 Capstone (3)
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- The published full-time plan lists NUR 612 as “FNP Practicum II,” which is already the name of NUR 608 in the same table. The certificate plan lists NUR 612 as FNP Intensive II. The intensive label is the one that matches the program’s stated two-intensive structure.
- Transfer credit is capped at 9 semester hours, limited to five named non-specialty courses, and requires a grade of A or B plus a demonstrated 70% content match. Every FNP didactic and practicum course must be taken at Mount Union.
- Advanced Pharmacology must be completed within the five years preceding an APRN national certification exam under some state board rules, which limits how old a transferred pharmacology course can be.
MSN Clinical Requirements
- 750 total practicum hours
- NUR 607 Practicum I: 75 hours
- NUR 608 Practicum II: 225 hours
- NUR 609 Practicum III: 225 hours
- NUR 610 Practicum IV: 225 hours
- 10 practicum credits total, a consistent 75 hours per credit
- Two on-campus intensives required, positioned before and during the practicum sequence
- At least 1,000 clinical hours of RN practice required before registering for the first practicum course
- Practicum hours must be completed in the state where you are licensed and practice
At 750 hours, Mount Union sits 250 hours above the 500-hour national certification floor and above the 600 to 700 range most FNP programs occupy. The distribution is worth noting as much as the total. A 75-hour opening rotation gives you a genuine ramp before the workload steps up to three equal 225-hour blocks, rather than dropping you into a full rotation in your first clinical term. The practical cost is time: 225 hours across a 14-week term works out to roughly 16 hours per week, three terms running, which is difficult to sustain alongside a full-time nursing job.
You Should Know
- The placement model is not clearly stated. Mount Union does not publish whether the school secures preceptors and clinical sites or whether students are responsible for sourcing their own. Ask directly before you apply, because this is the single largest practical variable in an online FNP program.
- Faculty site visits, preceptor credential requirements, and site approval procedures are not stated.
- The 1,000-hour RN experience requirement is a practicum gate, not an admissions gate. You can be admitted before you reach it, but the first practicum arrives in Semester Two of the full-time plan, so the practical cushion is one term.
MSN Admissions
Admission runs through NursingCAS on rolling review, but the program admits one cohort a year in August, so a late application means a full year’s wait rather than a later start.
- BSN from an accredited nursing program
- Official transcripts from every institution attended
- Elementary statistics (MTH 123 equivalent) with a grade of C or better
- Cumulative undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale
- Curriculum vitae or resume
- Statement of intent covering qualifications and rationale for applying
- Current, unencumbered RN license in the state where you are licensed, practice, and will complete practicum hours
- At least 1,000 RN clinical hours before the first practicum course
- Application through the Nursing Central Application Service (CAS)
You Should Know
- The MSN FNP is designed to prepare students for licensure in Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia. Mount Union states it is working to add states. If you intend to seek APRN licensure elsewhere, the School of Nursing asks that you contact the director before enrolling, and the university’s Professional Licensure Disclosure page carries the full state-by-state determinations.
- Applicants below the 3.0 GPA threshold may be considered case by case where the file shows strong academic ability, so a marginal GPA is not an automatic exclusion.
- Single August intake, with no stated spring or summer entry point.
Post-Master’s FNP Certificate
The estimated tuition for the Post-Master’s FNP Certificate at University of Mount Union is approximately $19,200 (24 credits at $800/credit). The program can generally be completed in four semesters, running January through the following spring.
Certificate Curriculum
The same specialty sequence, nothing removed. The certificate is the MSN’s FNP half, taken intact. The same ten courses appear in the same order: Diagnostic Reasoning, both intensives, Advanced Practice I through III, and Practicums I through IV. Nothing is compressed or substituted. What gets dropped is the 22 credits of graduate core and capstone work, which is why the certificate is 24 credits rather than 46.
Prerequisites sit outside the 24. Advanced Pathophysiology, Advanced Pharmacology, and Advanced Health Assessment are treated as prerequisites for the certificate, not as part of it. If your master’s degree already includes all three, the 24-credit figure holds. If it does not, you are adding coursework the published price does not cover. Mount Union reviews prerequisites individually at application.
- NUR 604 APRN Diagnostic Reasoning (3)
- NUR 606 FNP Intensive I (1)
- NUR 601 FNP Advanced Practice I (3)
- NUR 602 FNP Advanced Practice II (3)
- NUR 612 FNP Intensive II (1)
- NUR 603 FNP Advanced Practice III (3)
- NUR 607, 608, 609, 610 FNP Practicums I through IV (10)
You Should Know
- The certificate plan of study lists NUR 612 at 3 credits , but that value breaks both the semester subtotal and the 24-credit program total. At 1 credit, the value carried in the MSN plan, both figures reconcile exactly. Treat NUR 612 as a 1-credit course.
- A missing APRN core could add up to 9 credits, roughly $7,200 at the current rate, on top of the published certificate cost.
- The certificate program page lists the APRN core under a heading reading “FNP Core Courses (9 credit hours) Pre-requisites” while labeling the specialty block “24 credit hours.” The 24 figure refers to the specialty courses only.
Certificate Clinical Requirements
- 750 total practicum hours, identical to the MSN
- NUR 607 Practicum I: 75 hours
- NUR 608 Practicum II: 225 hours
- NUR 609 Practicum III: 225 hours
- NUR 610 Practicum IV: 225 hours
- Two on-campus intensives required
- Practicum requirements must be completed in your state of residence and licensure
- At least 1,000 clinical hours of RN experience required
The certificate carries the full 750 hours at half the credit load. That is the structural point worth understanding before you compare Mount Union’s certificate to a shorter one elsewhere. Post-master’s certificates vary widely in clinical volume because some programs grant credit toward the total for hours completed in a prior specialty. Mount Union does not appear to do that, so a certificate student logs the same clinical time as a BSN-entry MSN student. It costs more time than a trimmed certificate would, and it removes any question about whether you meet a state board’s hour requirement.
You Should Know
- No published policy allows prior APRN practicum hours to reduce the 750-hour requirement. If you are already certified in another population focus, ask whether any credit is available before assuming the full 750 applies.
- As with the MSN, the placement model, faculty oversight structure, and preceptor requirements are not stated.
Certificate Admissions
The certificate carries two gates the MSN does not: a residency requirement tied to an approved-state list, and an interview at the program coordinator’s discretion.
- Completed MSN or doctoral degree in nursing from an accredited program
- Cumulative GPA of 3.0 from the master’s program
- Official transcripts from every institution attended
- Curriculum vitae or resume
- Statement of intent covering qualifications and rationale
- Current, unencumbered RN license in the state where you practice, plus permanent residence in an approved state
- Applicants already practicing as APRNs must also hold a current, unrestricted APRN license and specialty certification
- At least 1,000 clinical hours of RN experience
- Interview at the discretion of the FNP program coordinator
- Application through the Nursing Central Application Service (CAS)
You Should Know
- Permanent residence in an approved state is a hard eligibility gate, not a preference. The certificate page does not publish which states qualify, and it does not state whether the list matches the MSN’s six-state footprint. Confirm your state in writing before you apply.
- You must complete practicum hours in the state where you reside and hold licensure, and intend to obtain initial APRN licensure in that same state. Students who live near a state line cannot split rotations across it.
- Single January intake, with a stated January 2026 start date.
- The interview is discretionary rather than universal, so plan for one without assuming it will be scheduled.
Tuition
Mount Union publishes a single rate of $800 per credit hour for 2025-2026, and it applies to both the MSN and the certificate. Tuition is fixed per entering cohort for the duration of the program, so the rate you enroll at is the rate you finish at. Fees are billed separately and are explicitly subject to annual change.
| Item | Per Term | MSN (6 terms) | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Technology fee | $250 | $1,500 | $1,250 |
| Program fee | $325 | $1,950 | $1,625 |
| Graduation fee (one time) | $100 | $100 | $100 |
| Published fee total | — | $3,550 | $2,975 |
Confirmed costs:
- Per-credit rate: $800, published, both tracks, 2025-2026
- MSN tuition: $36,800, published (46 credits × $800 confirms the figure)
- Certificate tuition: $19,200, published (24 credits × $800 confirms the figure)
- MSN published fee total: $3,550
- Certificate published fee total: $2,975
- MSN all-in tuition and fees: $40,350 (derived: $36,800 + $3,550)
- Certificate all-in tuition and fees: $22,175 (derived: $19,200 + $2,975)
Be aware that:
- Both fee tables print a per-term total of $675, but the two per-term components sum to $575. The program totals reconcile at $575 per term, so $675 appears to be an error in the published tables rather than a third charge.
- The certificate fee totals are built on five terms of billing ($250 × 5 = $1,250 and $325 × 5 = $1,625), while both the table header and the plan of study show four semesters. At four terms the fees would total $2,400, a $575 difference.
- The MSN fee total assumes six terms, but the full-time plan of study runs five semesters and the part-time plan runs eight. Neither matches the six-term assumption, so your actual fee total depends on which plan you follow.
- The fee tables are labeled as a projected 2024 entering cohort while tuition is quoted for the 2026 cohort. The fee figures may not be current.
- Certificate applicants whose graduate degree does not include advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment may need up to 9 additional prerequisite credits, roughly $7,200.
- The university’s cost of attendance schedule lists $1,305 in first-semester equipment and $95 in course materials for MSN students. These are financial aid estimates rather than billed mandatory fees, but the equipment figure is a real out-of-pocket expense.
- Travel and lodging for both on-campus intensives are the student’s responsibility. The cost of attendance schedule estimates $200 for intensive food and housing, which does not include transportation to Alliance.
- The cohort tuition lock covers tuition only. Technology and program fees are stated as subject to change annually.
Fees add about 10% to the MSN’s sticker price and about 15% to the certificate’s, which puts the effective all-in rate at roughly $877 per credit for the MSN and $924 per credit for the certificate (both derived). The gap exists because the same flat per-term fees are spread across fewer credits in the shorter program. What you should take from this is that the $800 headline rate is not the whole number, but the fee stack is small, itemized, and predictable, and the cohort lock removes the year-over-year tuition increases that quietly inflate the cost of a two-year program elsewhere.
Why Choose This FNP Program?
Best suited for nurses who hold an RN license in Ohio or one of its five neighboring states, want a price they can budget from day one, and can absorb a heavy clinical load in exchange for hours well above the certification minimum.
A price you can plan around. The cohort tuition lock is the most concrete thing Mount Union offers. Most graduate nursing programs quote a current-year rate and raise it annually, which means a 46-credit program budgeted at today’s price often finishes several thousand dollars higher. Mount Union fixes tuition at your entering cohort’s rate for the duration. Combined with an itemized fee schedule and one flat rate across both credentials, this is an unusually legible price.
The limits worth knowing. The MSN is built for licensure in six states, and the certificate goes further by requiring permanent residence in an approved state that the program page never lists. Each track admits one cohort a year, so a missed deadline costs twelve months. Most significantly, Mount Union does not publish how clinical placements are arranged. In a program that requires 750 hours and confines them to your home state, whether the school finds your preceptors or you do is a question you should resolve before you apply, not after.
Which credential to buy. If you already hold a graduate nursing degree, the comparison is unusually clean here because the two tracks share the same specialty sequence and the same 750 hours. The certificate costs about $18,175 less all-in, and it produces the same eligibility for the national FNP certification exam. The extra 22 credits in the MSN buy the master’s degree itself plus research and evidence-based practice, APRN role development, health policy coursework, and a capstone. That is worth paying for if you want a foundation for doctoral study or an academic or leadership track later. It is not worth paying for if your goal is clinical practice as an FNP and you already have the degree. If you hold a BSN, there is no decision to make: the MSN is the only door.
Accreditation
The MSN program at the University of Mount Union is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). The last site visit was in October 2025, and CCNE granted accreditation for five years, with the next site visit scheduled for Fall 2030.
The postgraduate APRN certificate program is also accredited by CCNE, reviewed at the same October 2025 site visit. Both FNP tracks therefore carry programmatic nursing accreditation, which matters because state boards of nursing and certification bodies generally require graduation from an accredited program.
The University of Mount Union is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Institutional accreditation governs federal financial aid eligibility and how readily your credits transfer to other institutions, so it operates independently of the nursing-specific credential.
Graduates of both tracks obtain educational eligibility to sit for the national FNP certification exam through either the American Association of Nurse Practitioners or the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Certification alone does not confer licensure, which is granted separately by each state board of nursing.
You Should Know
- State authorization and residency restrictions differ by track and are covered in the MSN and certificate Admissions sections above.
- Mount Union’s published accreditation statement for the certificate repeats the MSN’s wording, stating that CCNE granted accreditation to the MSN program within the paragraph describing the certificate. The accreditation itself is stated clearly; the term and next-review date for the certificate are worth confirming directly with the School of Nursing.
Compare More Family NP Programs
- Case Western Reserve University - Cleveland
- Cedarville University - Cedarville
- Cleveland State University - Cleveland
- Franciscan University of Steubenville - Steubenville
- Kent State University - Kent
- Miami University - Hamilton & Oxford
- Mount Carmel College of Nursing - Columbus
- Ohio State University - Columbus
- Ohio University - Athens
- University of Cincinnati - Cincinnati
- University of Toledo - Toledo
- Ursuline College - Pepper Pike
- Walsh University - North Canton
- Wright State University - Dayton
- Xavier University - Cincinnati
- Youngstown State University - Youngstown