Columbia University offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:
- BSN-DNP (Full-Time)
- BSN-DNP (Extended Pathway)
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| BSN-DNP | $222.2K | 2.5 years (8 semesters) | 85 |
| Extended | $219.2K | 3.5 years (11 semesters) | 85 |
Tuition estimates use Columbia’s 2026-27 DNP rates (the full-time flat rate, or $2,496 per credit for the Extended Pathway) plus itemized per-term university fees.
Columbia teaches the FNP only as a doctorate: one 85-credit curriculum, two speeds, and one June start each year. Clinical sites are assigned by the school across a New York City network that includes NewYork-Presbyterian, Columbia University Irving Medical Center, Bellevue, and dozens of community health centers.
The price of that structure is time and money. The full-time track is campus-based and allows part-time or per diem work at most, and both tracks cost roughly $220,000 before living costs in New York City.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | BSN-DNP full-time; BSN-DNP Extended Pathway (part-time) |
| Format | Full-time: Campus. Extended Pathway: Hybrid (online plus in-person coursework) |
| Clinical Hours | Not published; about 1,100+ derived from Columbia’s credit-hour formula |
| Clinical Placement | School-assigned sites, permanent or rotating, mostly NYC tri-state area |
| Population | Family/lifespan, including dedicated prenatal, pediatric, and reproductive health courses |
| Distinctive Coursework | 11-credit complex care sequence; genetics and genomics; interpersonal violence |
| RN License Requirements | New York RN license or eligibility |
| Tuition | $80,558 per year full-time (flat rate); $2,496/credit part-time |
| Start Term | June only; cohort model |
| Accreditation | CCNE (DNP) through June 30, 2029 |
BSN to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner (Full-Time)
The estimated tuition for the full-time DNP Family Nurse Practitioner program at Columbia University is approximately $222,196 (85 credits at a derived $2,527/credit flat-rate equivalent, plus fees). The program can generally be completed in about 2.5 years (8 semesters, derived from a June start through the summer, fall, and spring terms).
BSN-DNP Curriculum
The 85 credits break into four blocks. The structure matters more than the course titles, because two blocks go beyond what most FNP programs teach.
Foundations (12 credits). Advanced assessment, pharmacology, and a two-course physiology and pathophysiology sequence.
Primary care spine (26 credits). Paired seminar and practicum courses across two lifespan sequences, plus separate courses in pediatric primary care, prenatal and postpartum care, sexual and reproductive health, and family systems. Pregnancy and pediatrics get their own credit-bearing courses rather than a few weeks inside a general course.
Complex care sequence (11 credits). A diagnosis course for complex patients across settings, followed by two seminars and two practica focused on comorbidities and care coordination. This is the block that most separates Columbia’s FNP from a standard primary care curriculum.
Doctoral core (36 credits). Policy, epidemiology, informatics, genetics, quality leadership, evidence translation, scholarly writing, and portfolio advisement, ending with a 5-credit DNP Intensive Practicum. About 42 percent of the degree is this doctoral layer, which is where the extra credits over an MSN go.
- NURS8331N Diagnosis and Management of the Complex Patient Across Settings (3)
- NURS8145N / NURS8147N Complex Care Practicum I and II (3, 2)
- NURS8549N Prenatal and Postpartum Care Essentials (2)
- NURS7303N Pediatric Primary Care for the FNP (2)
- NURS8777N Sexual and Reproductive Health for Primary Care (1)
- NURS9290N Incorporating Genetics and Genomics in Advanced Practice Nursing (3)
- NURS6930N Interpersonal Violence and Abuse (1)
- NURS9731N DNP Intensive Practicum (5)
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- Columbia’s FNP page describes the program as “approximately two years” of coursework and, in the next paragraph, 2.5 years. The DNP overview page says two to three years. This page uses 2.5 years.
- Columbia labels the plan of study a sample. Individual plans are approved by the program director and may vary.
BSN-DNP Clinical Requirements
- Total clinical hours: not published for the FNP track
- Derived estimate: 19 practicum credits × 60 hours = 1,140 hours, using Columbia’s enrollment policy (one clinical credit = four hours per week, or 60 hours per term)
- Practicum credits: 1 (assessment practicum) + 2 + 3 (lifespan practica I and II) + 3 (FNP primary care practicum) + 3 + 2 (complex care practica I and II) + 5 (DNP Intensive Practicum)
- Placement: school-assigned at hospitals, outpatient clinics, home care, or schools; sites may be permanent or rotating
- Published FNP site list: more than 60 sites, including NYC Health + Hospitals facilities, Mount Sinai, NYU Langone, Montefiore, Memorial Sloan Kettering, and federally qualified health centers
- Simulation is built into coursework, using the Helene Fuld Health Trust Simulation Center
At roughly 1,100 hours or more, Columbia’s clinical volume sits well above both the 500-hour certification floor and the 600 to 700 hours common in FNP programs. In weekly terms, a 3-credit practicum means about 12 clinical hours a week, and the 5-credit intensive practicum means at least 20. The assigned-placement model removes the preceptor search that many online students face, but students do not choose their sites and should expect travel across the five boroughs and nearby suburbs.
You Should Know
- The 1,140-hour figure is derived, not published. Columbia’s policy says residency and intensive courses complete more than 60 hours per credit, so the true total may be higher. If the 1-credit assessment practicum counts as simulation (30 hours per credit), the floor drops to 1,110.
- Some listed sites are outside New York (Connecticut, Pennsylvania, and Texas). Whether out-of-area placements are optional or assigned is not clearly stated.
BSN-DNP Admissions
Admission is once a year for a June start, and international applicants are not accepted.
- Bachelor’s or master’s degree in nursing
- New York State RN license or eligibility
- Prerequisites: statistics and health/physical assessment, each with B- or better
- Refresher course recommended for science or statistics taken more than five years ago
- No RN experience minimum for the FNP specialty (the one-year requirement applies only to acute care applicants)
- Annual cycle: priority deadline November 2, final deadline December 7, decisions in January
You Should Know
- Columbia advises that full-time DNP students may be able to work part-time or per diem, and only after discussing schedules with the program director.
- Nurses with a master’s degree enter the same DNP program. Columbia does not offer a DNP for nurses already certified as APRNs.
- The Post-Graduate APRN Certificate, which let DNP-prepared APRNs add a new population focus, is not currently accepting applications.
- Non-nurses can reach the FNP through the Master’s Direct Entry program, which leads to RN licensure and then the DNP.
BSN to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner (Extended Pathway)
The estimated tuition for the DNP Extended Pathway at Columbia University is approximately $219,244 (85 credits at $2,496/credit, plus fees). The program can generally be completed in about 3.5 years (11 semesters, derived from a June start through Columbia’s three-term calendar).
Extended Pathway Curriculum
The Extended Pathway is available for the FNP, adult-gerontology acute care, and psychiatric-mental health specialties. It covers advanced practice, leadership, and evidence-based practice courses at a reduced load per semester. Spread across 11 semesters, 85 credits averages under 8 credits per term, compared with about 10.6 on the full-time track.
- Delivery blends online and in-person coursework
- Designed for nurses who keep working during the program
- Same clinical sequence and DNP Intensive Practicum as the full-time track (presumed)
You Should Know
- Columbia does not publish a separate plan of study for the Extended Pathway. This page assumes the same 85 credits and course list as the full-time track.
- Columbia calls the pathway hybrid but does not state how often students must be on campus. Confirm the in-person cadence before applying.
Extended Pathway Clinical Requirements
- Clinical hours: same derived estimate as the full-time track (about 1,100+)
- Placement: school-assigned from the same site network
A reduced course load does not reduce clinical weeks. The 5-credit intensive practicum still requires at least 20 clinical hours a week in its term, which working nurses should plan around.
Extended Pathway Admissions
Admissions criteria match the full-time track, including the single June start.
Tuition
Columbia’s DNP costs $2,496 per credit for part-time students, as published. Full-time students pay a flat rate of $80,558 for three terms (summer, fall, spring), which works out to $26,853 per term and a derived $2,527 per credit across the 85-credit program. See Columbia’s DNP tuition and fees page.
| Item | Full-Time | Extended |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | $214,821 (8 terms × $26,853) | $212,160 (85 × $2,496) |
| Per-term fees ($350 × terms) | $2,800 | $3,850 |
| Health services fee (fall/spring) | $4,470 (5 × $894) | $3,129 (7 × $447) |
| Transcript fee (one time) | $105 | $105 |
| Estimated total | $222,196 | $219,244 |
- Full-time flat rate: $80,558 per three terms (2026-27)
- Part-time rate: $2,496 per credit
- Per-term fees: CUIMC network $240, technology $50, simulation $25, student activity $35
- Health-related services fee: $894 per fall or spring term full-time; $447 less than full-time
- Transcript fee: $105, first term only
Be aware that:
- The $2,496 rate does not reconcile with Columbia’s own example. A 9-credit fall term plus $2,419 in fees is listed at $25,841, which implies about $2,602 per credit. The same $2,496 figure also appeared on the 2025-26 page. At $2,602, Extended Pathway tuition would be about $221,200.
- Full-time tuition rose 3.3 percent from 2025-26 ($77,964) to 2026-27 ($80,558). Increases are set each June, so a multi-year program will likely cost more than these estimates.
- Columbia lists full-time university fees at $3,387 per year. The itemized fees above add up to $2,943 for a first year, leaving $444 unexplained.
- Health insurance is billed separately at $7,179 per year ($1,356 summer, $2,218 fall, $3,605 spring). It is not included above, and the waiver policy is not stated on the nursing pages.
- This page assumes Extended Pathway students are billed per credit. Columbia does not state this directly.
Both tracks land near $220,000 in tuition and fees, so choosing the Extended Pathway does not save money. Its value is the ability to keep earning over an extra year. Add health insurance and New York City living costs, and the full-time track can exceed $300,000 in total cost of attendance for students who stop working.
Why Choose This FNP Program?
Columbia fits nurses who want a doctorate from the start, deep clinical training at assigned New York City sites, and can absorb a high price.
Clinical depth without the preceptor hunt. Roughly 1,100 or more clinical hours at school-assigned sites is a different experience from programs that ask students to find their own preceptors. The site list runs from academic medical centers to homeless health services and community health centers, which gives FNP students broad exposure within one metro area.
A curriculum built past the MSN. The complex care sequence and the separate prenatal, pediatric, and reproductive health courses add real clinical content, not just doctoral coursework. Nurses who want to manage patients with several chronic conditions, or who plan to work in hospital-affiliated primary care, get more preparation here than a standard FNP curriculum provides.
The trade-off is cost and flexibility. There is no MSN option, no online format, and one start date per year. The full-time track limits employment to part-time or per diem work, and the Extended Pathway costs about the same in total. Nurses who mainly want FNP certification quickly and affordably, or who live outside the New York area, will likely find a better fit elsewhere.
Accreditation
Columbia’s master’s and Doctor of Nursing Practice programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). The current accreditation runs through June 30, 2029, and covers both FNP tracks, since they are the same DNP program at different paces.
Columbia University is institutionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. Regional accreditation affects federal financial aid eligibility and whether credits transfer to other institutions.
The CCNE accreditation also covers Columbia’s post-graduate APRN certificate program, though that program is not currently admitting students.
Graduates are eligible to sit for the national FNP certification exam (AANP or ANCC) and for New York State nurse practitioner licensure.
Compare More Family NP Programs
- Binghamton University - Johnson City
- Dominican University New York - Orangeburg
- Hunter College - New York
- Iona University - Bronxville
- Long Island University - Brooklyn
- Manhattanville University - Purchase
- Mercy University - Dobbs Ferry
- Molloy University - Rockville Centre
- New York University - New York
- Pace University - New York
- St. John Fisher University - Rochester
- St. Joseph's University, New York - Patchogue
- Stony Brook University - Stony Brook
- SUNY Brockport - Brockport
- SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University - Brooklyn
- SUNY Upstate Medical University - Syracuse
- University of Mount Saint Vincent - Riverdale
- University of Rochester - Rochester
- Utica University - Utica