Molloy University offers 3 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:
- MS
- BSN-DNP
- Post-Master’s Advanced Certificate
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MS | $80.5K–$81.3K | 2.5–3 years (7–8 semesters) | 45 |
| BSN-DNP | $124.8K–$138.1K | 5 years (10+ semesters) | 70 |
| Certificate | $34.8K–$60.0K | 2.5–3 years (7–8 semesters) | 18–30 |
Tuition estimates use Molloy’s 2026-27 published graduate ($1,590) and doctoral ($1,780) per-credit rates plus the per-semester enrollment, academic technology, and nursing program fees.
Molloy asks FNP applicants to name their clinical preceptors before they are admitted. The admissions criteria require designated preceptors along with a year of adult acute care experience, so the placement search happens before enrollment rather than during the program.
That front-loaded requirement is the main trade-off. Nurses without a network of NPs or physicians willing to precept will struggle to apply, while nurses who already have one get a fixed 18-credit FNP sequence that is identical across the MS, the BSN-DNP, and the certificate.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MS, BSN-DNP, Post-Master’s Advanced Certificate |
| Format | Hybrid; on-campus frequency not published |
| Clinical Hours | 690 direct plus 45 lab (MS, certificate); 1,190 direct plus 45 lab (BSN-DNP) |
| Clinical Placement | Student-identified preceptors; designated preceptors required at application |
| Population | Family across the lifespan; pediatric, adult-gero, urgent care, and GYN primary care settings |
| Distinctive Coursework | Three Diagnostics & Therapeutics courses; MBA healthcare economics and finance courses count as MS electives |
| Concentrations | None |
| RN License Requirements | Current New York State RN registration |
| Experience Gate | One year of recent adult acute care nursing experience |
| Admissions Interview | Personal interview required |
| Tuition | $1,590/credit graduate; $1,780/credit doctoral; plus semester fees |
| Accreditation | CCNE (MS, DNP, post-graduate APRN certificate) |
Master of Science, Family Nurse Practitioner (Primary Care)
The estimated tuition for the Family Nurse Practitioner-Primary Care M.S. at Molloy University is approximately $80,495–$81,340 including fees (45 credits at $1,590/credit, plus semester fees). The program can generally be completed in about 2.5–3 years (7–8 semesters) of part-time study.
MS Curriculum
Sequencing. The 45 credits run in a fixed order. All three nursing core courses (9 credits) must be finished before any advanced practice course begins. The advanced practice core (patho, pharm, assessment, NP role) follows, then the 18-credit FNP block.
FNP block. The specialty sequence pairs each Diagnostics & Therapeutics course with a 200-hour practicum, preceded by a 90-hour Diagnostic Reasoning course. Classroom content and clinical volume rise together each semester.
Electives. Six elective credits are required, and BUS 5560 (Economic Evaluations in Healthcare) and BUS 5570 (Healthcare Finance) from the MBA in Healthcare count toward them. That gives MS students a route into practice economics and finance, and both courses carry into the DNP core if a student later continues.
- NUR 5051 Theoretical Applications in Transformative Leadership (3)
- NUR 5240 Advanced Pathophysiology (3)
- NUR 5730 Pharmacotherapeutics (3)
- NUR 5722 FNP/PMHNP Advanced Physical Assessment (3; 45 lab hours)
- NUR 5831 Role of Nurse Practitioner (3)
- NUR 5780 FNP: Diagnostic Reasoning (3; 90 clinical hours)
- NUR 5810, 5820, 5860 FNP: Diagnostics and Therapeutics I–III (3 each)
- NUR 5620, 5630, 5640 FNP: Practicum in Primary Care I–III (2 each; 200 clinical hours each)
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- A Basic Physical Assessment Competency Examination is taken while enrolled in Pharmacotherapeutics, the semester before Advanced Physical Assessment. Failed sections can be retaken one time only.
- Each practicum opens with an in-person physical assessment skills exam. Students need 80% to continue; a second failure means a “W” and repeating the practicum the next semester.
- Summer seats are limited and assigned first-come, first-served, which can stretch the timeline.
- The linked catalog record is the 2023-2024 edition. Confirm current requirements against the 2025-2026 catalog.
MS Clinical Requirements
- Total: 690 direct clinical hours (90 + 200 + 200 + 200), plus 45 lab hours in Advanced Physical Assessment, for 735 listed hours.
- Practicum ratio: 100 clinical hours per practicum credit.
- Settings: pediatric primary care, adult and geriatric care, urgent care, and gynecological primary care.
- Placement model: students identify preceptors and submit a preceptor form to faculty. Molloy then executes the site contract, and the instructor clears the student to start.
- Clearance: CastleBranch background check, 10-panel drug screen, health records, malpractice insurance, BLS, and hospital orientation must be current before the semester starts.
At 690 direct hours, the MS sits above the 500-hour certification floor and at the upper end of the 600–700 range common among FNP programs. Each 200-hour practicum works out to roughly 13 hours a week over a 15-week semester. Because students source their own preceptors, that schedule depends on the preceptor’s availability rather than a school-assigned slot.
You Should Know
- The certificate’s catalog record states the same 18-credit FNP block “includes 715 clinical hours.” The course-level hours sum to 690 (735 with the lab), so 715 does not reconcile with either figure.
- The 2025-26 graduate handbook says all NP programs will move to 45 credits and 750 clinical hours pending New York State approval. The FNP already meets 45 credits; the 750-hour change had not appeared in the program’s course list.
- Clearance lapses are strict. Hours completed without CastleBranch clearance or with expired documents do not count toward the degree.
MS Admissions
Admission requires New York RN registration, one year of adult acute care experience, designated preceptors, and a personal interview.
- BSN from a professionally accredited program (non-accredited programs reviewed individually)
- Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher
- Current New York State RN license registration
- One year of recent adult acute care nursing experience
- Designated preceptors for clinical
- Undergraduate statistics, nursing research, and basic physical assessment
- Three recommendation letters; at least two from clinical managers (MD, DO, NP, or nurse educator) attesting to clinical competency
- Professional goal statement (400–800 words), CV, and official transcripts (WES or SPANTRAN evaluation for international transcripts)
- Personal interview
You Should Know
- The GPA rules conflict. The admissions page lists a 3.0 minimum, then says applicants below 3.2 “who show promise” may be admitted provisionally and must earn a B or better in their first six credits.
- The admissions page does not say how far along preceptor arrangements must be at application (named individuals versus signed agreements). Confirm with admissions before applying.
- Up to nine graduate credits with a B or better, completed within five years, may transfer in.
Post-Baccalaureate to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the Post-Baccalaureate Doctor of Nursing Practice for Family Nurse Practitioner at Molloy University is approximately $124,800–$138,100 including fees (70 credits at $1,590–$1,780/credit, plus semester fees). The program can generally be completed in about 5 years of part-time study.
BSN-DNP Curriculum
Shared FNP spine. The first 33 credits mirror the MS: one core course, the 12-credit advanced practice core, and the same 18-credit FNP block. The MS courses in reflective practice and research, and the MS electives, are dropped.
Doctoral layer. The 27-credit DNP core includes biostatistics, global epidemiology, informatics, and nursing education. Two courses (BUS 5560 and BUS 5570) are shared with the MBA in Healthcare, and three are shared with Molloy’s PhD program. Four clinical research residencies (10 credits) build toward a scholarly project, with a faculty mentor assigned to each student.
- NUR 5780 FNP: Diagnostic Reasoning (3; 90 clinical hours)
- NUR 5620, 5630, 5640 FNP: Practicum in Primary Care I–III (2 each)
- BUS 5560 Economic Evaluations in Healthcare (3)
- BUS 5570 Healthcare Finance (3)
- NUR 6200 Biostatistics (3)
- NUR 6220 Global Epidemiology (3)
- NUR 6230 Evidence-Based Practice: Informatics (3)
- NUR 6240–6270 Clinical Research Residency I–IV (10 total)
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- The DNP page lists the BSN-DNP at 67–70 credits; the catalog record lists 70. Estimates here use 70.
- The semester count is not published. “10+ semesters” is derived from five years of fall and spring terms; any summer terms add to it.
BSN-DNP Clinical Requirements
- Total: 1,190 direct clinical hours (690 FNP + 500 residency), plus 45 lab hours.
- Residency math: 100 + 100 + 150 + 150 = 500 hours across NUR 6240–6270.
- Published minimum: the DNP page states at least 1,000 clinical hours; the course-level total exceeds it.
- Residency cohorts: 1:4 faculty-to-student ratio.
The FNP portion delivers the same 690 hours as the MS, so certification readiness is identical. The extra 500 residency hours are project-focused rather than additional primary care practice, so they add doctoral scope, not FNP clinical volume.
BSN-DNP Admissions
DNP-specific admission criteria for BSN entrants are not clearly stated in the program materials.
- The published MS criteria (New York RN license, acute care experience, designated preceptors, interview) are the only published standard.
You Should Know
- Confirm with admissions whether BSN-DNP applicants face the same preceptor and acute care experience requirements as MS applicants.
Post-Master’s Advanced Certificate, Family Nurse Practitioner (Primary Care)
The estimated tuition for the Family Nurse Practitioner-Primary Care Advanced Certificate at Molloy University is approximately $34,755–$59,970 including fees (18–30 credits at $1,590/credit, plus semester fees). The program can generally be completed in about 2.5–3 years, with the semester count derived from that span.
Certificate Curriculum
The catalog lists 30 credits: the 12-credit advanced practice core plus the same 18-credit FNP block used in the MS. The program page lists only the FNP block and says a gap analysis of prior graduate work sets any additional courses. An APRN whose prior program covered the advanced practice core may need only the 18 FNP credits.
- NUR 5240 Advanced Pathophysiology (3)
- NUR 5722 FNP/PMHNP Advanced Physical Assessment (3)
- NUR 5730 Pharmacotherapeutics (3)
- NUR 5831 Role of Nurse Practitioner (3)
- NUR 5780 FNP: Diagnostic Reasoning (3)
- NUR 5810, 5820, 5860 FNP: Diagnostics and Therapeutics I–III (3 each)
- NUR 5620, 5630, 5640 FNP: Practicum in Primary Care I–III (2 each)
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- The program page describes an “organizational study” component on practice planning, licensing, and insurance. No business course appears in the catalog’s certificate requirements.
- The published 2.5–3 year span likely reflects the full 30-credit plan. An 18-credit gap plan should run shorter, but no reduced timeline is published.
- The linked catalog record is the 2022-2023 edition.
Certificate Clinical Requirements
- Course-level total: 690 direct clinical hours plus 45 lab hours, the same as the MS.
- Program page: ⚠️ “a minimum of 500 clinical practicum hours,” which conflicts with the 690-hour course list.
- Catalog: 715 clinical hours in the FNP block.
- Placement model: preceptor-based, working with FNPs and physicians; students submit preceptor forms as in the MS.
The course list is the most specific source and supports 690 direct hours, well above the 500-hour floor. Certificate students complete the same practica as MS students, so the clinical experience does not shrink for the shorter credential.
You Should Know
- State boards set their own rules for adding a second APRN population focus. Nurses licensed outside New York should check Molloy’s licensure disclosures before enrolling.
Certificate Admissions
Certificate-specific admission criteria are not clearly stated. The program page frames the certificate for APRNs adding a family focus.
- A master’s degree in nursing is implied by the credential; the specific GPA, license, and experience rules are not published.
- A gap analysis of prior graduate coursework sets the individual plan of study.
Tuition
Molloy charges $1,590 per credit for graduate study and $1,780 per credit for doctoral study in 2026-27, per the bursar’s published schedule. Neither rate includes fees.
| Fee (per semester) | Fall/Spring | Summer |
|---|---|---|
| Enrollment fee | $415 | $275 |
| Academic technology fee | $365 | Not charged |
| Nursing program fee, NP (MS) | $570 | $570 (assumed) |
| Nursing program fee, DNP | $570 | $570 (assumed) |
| Nursing program fee, post-master’s NP | $880 | $880 (assumed) |
| Track | Tuition | Fees (derived) | Estimated Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| MS | 45 × $1,590 = $71,550 | $8,945–$9,790 (7–8 semesters) | $80,495–$81,340 |
| BSN-DNP | 70 × $1,590–$1,780 = $111,300–$124,600 | $13,500 (10 fall/spring) | $124,800–$138,100 |
| Certificate | 18–30 × $1,590 = $28,620–$47,700 | $6,135–$12,270 (4–8 semesters) | $34,755–$59,970 |
All totals are derived, not published. Semester mixes assume two summer terms in the 7–8 semester MS and certificate plans, and one summer in the 4-semester certificate minimum. See the bursar’s tuition and fees page and the 2026-27 program fee schedule.
Confirmed costs:
- Graduate tuition: $1,590 per credit
- Doctoral tuition: $1,780 per credit
- Enrollment fee: $415 fall and spring; $275 summer and intersession
- Academic technology fee: $365 fall and spring
- Nursing program fee: $570 per semester (NP and DNP majors); $880 per semester (post-master’s NP)
- Application fee: $65 graduate; $85 doctoral
Be aware that:
- The BSN-DNP billing basis is not stated. The range runs from all 70 credits at the graduate rate to all 70 at the doctoral rate. Billing the 33 FNP-phase credits at $1,590 and the 37 doctoral credits at $1,780 gives about $131,830.
- Whether program fees apply in summer terms is not stated. The estimates assume they do.
- The post-master’s NP program fee ($880) is $310 per semester above the MS NP fee, which adds up over a multi-semester certificate.
- Nursing materials fees apply to certain courses and are listed in a separate bursar PDF. They are not included.
- The handbook references APEA resources and exams and ProjectConcert clinical tracking. Any costs are not quantified in the program materials.
- Drug testing, background checks, and CastleBranch compliance are paid by the student.
Fees add roughly 12–14% to MS tuition, which puts the all-in MS cost near $81,000. The certificate’s range is wide because the gap analysis decides whether the 12-credit advanced practice core is required, so APRNs should request that analysis before budgeting. BSN-DNP students can offset costs through graduate assistantships and the Mother Cabrini Mobile Health Van Scholarship.
Why Choose This FNP Program?
Best suited for New York acute care nurses who already have preceptor relationships and want the option to extend an FNP into a DNP without changing schools.
Nurses with established clinical networks. Requiring designated preceptors at application screens out many applicants, but it removes the mid-program placement scramble for those admitted. A nurse working in a Long Island health system with NP or physician colleagues willing to precept can plan the full 690 hours before the first course.
Nurses weighing an MS against a doctorate. The 18-credit FNP block is identical in all three credentials, and BUS 5560 and BUS 5570 count toward both the MS electives and the DNP core. An MS student who takes those two electives has already started on DNP coursework. The 2023 first-time FNP certification pass rate was 92.85% across both exams.
Honest drawbacks. The $1,590 rate plus fees makes this a costly MS, the on-campus schedule is not published, and the New York RN requirement limits the program to nurses licensed in the state.
Compared with St. Joseph’s. St. Joseph’s University, New York also serves Long Island nurses with a hybrid MS, at $1,310 per credit across 43 credits and 750 clinical hours. Molloy’s MS costs more per credit and lists 690 direct hours. It adds a BSN-DNP pathway and MBA-shared finance courses, but requires preceptors before admission.
Accreditation
The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) accredits Molloy’s master’s degree program in nursing, Doctor of Nursing Practice program, and post-graduate APRN certificate program. All three FNP tracks fall under that accreditation.
Molloy University is institutionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. Institutional accreditation supports federal financial aid eligibility and the transfer of graduate credit. The programs are also registered with the New York State Education Department.
Molloy’s simulation program holds an endorsement from the International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation and Learning (INACSL). This is a quality recognition for simulation, not a program accreditation.
Graduates of the FNP program are eligible to sit for the national FNP certification exam (AANP or ANCC).
More FNP Programs in New York
- Binghamton University - Johnson City
- Columbia University - New York
- Dominican University New York - Orangeburg
- Hunter College - New York
- Iona University - Bronxville
- Long Island University - Brooklyn
- Manhattanville University - Purchase
- Mercy University - Dobbs Ferry
- New York University - New York
- Pace University - New York
- St. John Fisher University - Rochester
- St. Joseph's University, New York - Patchogue
- Stony Brook University - Stony Brook
- SUNY Brockport - Brockport
- SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University - Brooklyn
- SUNY Upstate Medical University - Syracuse
- University of Mount Saint Vincent - Riverdale
- University of Rochester - Rochester
- Utica University - Utica