New York University FNP Programs

Rory Meyers College of Nursing • New York, NY • Campus • $2,596/credit

New York University offers 3 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:

  • MS
  • Advanced Certificate
  • BSN-DNP

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
MS$140.2K2 years (6 semesters)54
CertificateUp to $140.2KUp to 2 years (6 semesters)Up to 54
BSN-DNP$225.9K5.3 years (16 semesters)87

Tuition estimates use NYU’s 2026-2027 graduate nursing rate of $2,596 per credit multiplied by each track’s catalog credit total.

750 clinical hours, and NYU Meyers faculty arrange every placement. Students do not recruit their own preceptors, and the hours are split into dedicated pediatric, women’s health, adult-geriatric, and lifespan rotations at tri-state sites that include NYU Langone, Mount Sinai, Montefiore, and NewYork-Presbyterian.

That structure comes with a fixed shape. Every FNP course meets in person in Manhattan, all three tracks admit once a year in summer, and tuition runs $2,596 per credit before university fees.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesMS, Advanced Certificate, BSN-DNP (Post-BS to DNP)
FormatCampus; in-person Manhattan classes, predominantly evenings
Clinical Hours750 FNP hours in all tracks; BSN-DNP adds 400 DNP project hours
Clinical PlacementArranged by faculty at tri-state academic and community sites
PopulationFamily across the lifespan; 185 pediatric and 100 women’s health hours
Distinctive CourseworkStandalone Mental Health Across the Lifespan; separate pediatric and women’s health clinicals
ConcentrationsOptional specialty sequences: holistic nursing, palliative care, substance use disorders
RN License RequirementsNew York RN license required before coursework begins
Tuition$2,596/credit (2026-2027), plus per-term registration and services fees
AccreditationCCNE (master’s, DNP, and post-graduate APRN certificate)
Start TermSummer only, all three FNP tracks
RN ExperienceOne year full-time RN experience; required vs. preferred varies by source

Master of Science, Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Family Nurse Practitioner MS at NYU Meyers is approximately $140,184 (54 credits at $2,596/credit). The program can generally be completed in about 2 years (6 semesters), following the catalog’s sample plan of 9 credits per term from a summer start.

MS Curriculum

Why 54 credits. The degree splits into a 12-credit research and policy core (statistics, research, health policy, population-focused care), a 12-credit advanced core, and a 30-credit FNP population component. The research core is about a fifth of the degree and explains most of the credit total.

Clinicals split by population. Instead of one lifespan practicum, NYU runs separate clinical courses for pediatric health promotion, child and adolescent care, women’s health, adult-geriatric care, and a final lifespan practicum. Pediatric and women’s health hours are often the hardest for FNP students to secure. Here they sit in dedicated courses with faculty-arranged sites.

Term-locked sequence. Advanced health assessment runs only in summer, which is why the FNP admits once a year. Clinical work starts in term two with a 24-hour pediatric rotation alongside pathophysiology. Pharmacotherapeutics follows in term three, paired with the 161-hour child and adolescent rotation. The two largest practicums close out the final fall and spring terms.

Optional specialty sequences. MS students can add a sequence in holistic nursing, palliative care, or substance use disorders. Each adds coursework and clinical hours. The palliative care sequence supports eligibility for the Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (ACHPN) credential.

  • NURSE-GN 2031 Advanced Physical/Health Assessment across the Lifespan for FNPs (summer only)
  • NURSE-GN 2050 Advanced Pathophysiology
  • NURSE-GN 2021 Clinical Pharmacotherapeutics Across the Lifespan
  • NURSE-GN 2060 Mental Health Across the Lifespan
  • NURSE-GN 2180 Primary Care of Families: Child and Adolescent Health
  • NURSE-GN 2181 Primary Care of Families: Women’s Health
  • NURSE-GN 2183 Primary Care of Families: Adult and Geriatric Health Practicum
  • NURSE-GN 2185 Primary Care of Families Across the Lifespan Practicum
  • NURSE-GN 2011 Advanced Practice Nursing: Population-Focused Care

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • Specialty sequences add credits and clinical hours beyond the 54-credit total. NYU does not publish the added amounts for FNP students.
  • Internal transfers are not allowed. Students cannot switch to another NP specialty after admission.
  • Most FNP courses run in one fixed term each year. A dropped or failed course may not be offered again for twelve months.

MS Clinical Requirements

  • Total: 750 clinical hours (24 + 161 + 100 + 240 + 225)
  • Pediatric health promotion (NURSE-GN 2178): 24 hours
  • Child and adolescent health (NURSE-GN 2180): 161 hours
  • Women’s health (NURSE-GN 2181): 100 hours
  • Adult and geriatric practicum (NURSE-GN 2183): 240 hours
  • Lifespan practicum (NURSE-GN 2185): 225 hours
  • Placement model: arranged by faculty
  • Listed sites: Bassett Medical Center, Community Healthcare Network, Mount Sinai, NYU Langone, NYU Lutheran Family Health Centers, Memorial Sloan Kettering, Montefiore, NewYork-Presbyterian, North Shore-LIJ (now Northwell Health), and select community private practices
  • Clearance: criminal background check and drug test before any off-campus clinical

At 750 hours, the MS clears the 500-hour certification floor by a wide margin and sits above the 600 to 700 hours common among FNP programs. The heaviest stretch is the final two semesters, at roughly 15 to 16 clinical hours a week, assuming 15-week terms. Faculty-arranged placement removes the preceptor search, a frequent source of clinical delays for working nurses.

You Should Know
  • The MS pages do not state a clinical-hour total. The 750-hour figure comes from per-course hours in NYU’s BSN-DNP catalog entry, which uses the same five FNP clinical courses.
  • Listed sites span the tri-state area and beyond. Bassett Medical Center is in Cooperstown, upstate. NYU does not publish a commute limit or say whether students can request sites.
  • Each clinical facility applies its own background and drug-screen policies and can refuse a student based on results.

MS Admissions

NYU admits FNP master’s students for the summer term only, and admitted students must hold a New York RN license before the first class.

  • BSN, or a non-nursing BS/BA plus an associate degree in nursing
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA
  • Undergraduate statistics and research courses
  • RN license at application (out-of-state accepted); New York RN license before coursework
  • Resume and a two- to three-page personal statement
  • At least two letters of recommendation on letterhead, from a master’s-prepared nurse, physician, or former professor
  • Transcripts from every post-secondary school (unofficial accepted for review)
  • TOEFL 100 or IELTS 7 for non-native English speakers; no GRE
  • $85 application fee (waivable for financial hardship or military/veteran status)
  • Summer 2027 final deadline: February 1, 2027; decisions typically four to six weeks after the deadline
You Should Know
  • NYU’s master’s tracks page requires one year of full-time RN experience before graduate coursework begins. The FNP catalog entry lists that requirement only for the acute care track. Confirm with admissions before applying.
  • NYU’s master’s FAQ lists fall, spring, and summer starts. The deadline notes on the same page state that Family NP admits in summer only.

Advanced Certificate, Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Family Nurse Practitioner Advanced Certificate at NYU Meyers is approximately $140,184 at the full course list (54 credits at $2,596/credit). The program can generally be completed in up to about 2 years (6 semesters), with shorter plans when prior graduate coursework is waived.

Certificate Curriculum

The certificate uses the same 54-credit course list as the MS. Faculty run a gap analysis at admission and build an individualized plan, so the real credit load depends on what a nurse’s master’s degree already covers. The certificate is priced per credit, which means the waived credits are the entire cost lever.

  • Base course list: identical to the MS (54 credits)
  • Waivers: set by faculty gap analysis at admission
  • Prior APRN core reviewed: separate 3-credit graduate courses in pathophysiology, health assessment, and pharmacology, taken within the past five years
  • Clinical courses: the same five FNP clinical courses as the MS
  • DNP route: the Advanced Certificate to DNP pathway pairs this certificate with the DNP leadership sequence

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • At the full course list, the certificate matches the MS in credits and cost but ends in a non-degree credential. NYU does not publish how many credits a typical applicant has waived.
  • NYU notes the gap analysis can move an admitted student to a later start term because not every course runs every semester.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Total: 750 clinical hours through the same five FNP clinical courses as the MS
  • Placement model: arranged by faculty at the same tri-state sites
  • Advanced Certificate to DNP: 1,000 clinical hours across master’s-level and DNP coursework

Certificate students complete the full FNP clinical sequence, so hour volume matches the MS. Nurses adding FNP to an existing NP role should plan for the full clinical commitment unless the gap analysis says otherwise.

You Should Know
  • NYU does not state whether clinical hours from a prior APRN program can be credited. Confirm during the gap analysis.
  • Nurses already certified in another population focus should confirm with their state board how it recognizes a second NP population.

Certificate Admissions

The certificate follows the MS summer-only intake, and applicants need a master’s degree in nursing.

  • Master’s degree in nursing
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA
  • New York RN license before coursework
  • One year of full-time RN experience before the FNP specialty courses
  • Same documents, fee, and English proficiency rules as the MS
  • Summer 2027 final deadline: February 1, 2027; decisions in late March
You Should Know
  • The general Advanced Certificate page lists one year of clinical experience “with adults and older adults” among its shared criteria. That wording matches the acute care track and does not appear in the FNP certificate catalog entry. Confirm which applies.

Post-BS to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Post-BS to DNP (Family NP) at NYU Meyers is approximately $225,852 (87 credits at $2,596/credit). The program can generally be completed in about 5.3 years (16 semesters), part-time, counting summer terms.

BSN-DNP Curriculum

FNP first, leadership second. The first nine terms cover the full 54-credit MS course list at 6 credits per term. The FNP clinical sequence ends in term nine, about three years in. The final 33 credits are the DNP leadership component and the DNP project.

Format shifts midway. The FNP courses meet on campus, predominantly in the evening. The leadership component runs as an executive hybrid: online coursework plus on-site half-day classes on four Fridays each semester.

  • NURSE-GN 3815 Leadership and Organizational Systems Management for Quality Care
  • NURSE-GN 3816 Clinical Applied Epidemiology
  • NURSE-GN 3818 Genetics and Genomics for Healthcare
  • NURSE-GN 3813 Health Care Business, Economics, and Finance
  • NURSE-GN 3825 Improving Health Outcomes Through Quality
  • NURSE-GN 3814 Health Policy
  • NURSE-GN 3810 Innovations in Information Technology for Healthcare
  • NURSE-GN 3830 and 3832 DNP Project Seminars I and II

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The BSN-DNP is part-time only. The catalog sample plan runs 16 terms; if every summer is used, that is five years and one summer.
  • The catalog lists 87 credits. NYU’s DNP policies say transcripts will record 73 to 86 credits depending on population and entry option. Confirm the FNP total.
  • DNP students must finish within seven years of matriculation.

BSN-DNP Clinical Requirements

  • Total: 1,150 clinical hours (750 FNP + 400 DNP project)
  • FNP hours: the same five clinical courses as the MS, arranged by faculty
  • DNP project hours: 400, completed in years four and five at a partner agency
  • Project team: faculty chair, faculty reviewer, and a clinical mentor appointed by the agency
  • Project topics: developed with the agency based on its priorities

The 1,150-hour total clears the 1,000-hour benchmark for BSN-entry DNP programs. Patient-care hours are the same 750 as the MS; the extra 400 hours are project work. At 6 credits a term, the weekly clinical load is lighter than the MS, but it stretches across more semesters.

You Should Know
  • NYU does not state whether BSN-DNP students can sit for FNP certification after the clinical sequence ends in term nine or only after the DNP is conferred.

BSN-DNP Admissions

The BSN-DNP sets a higher GPA bar than the MS and adds interviews and a written essay.

  • BSN, or an associate degree in nursing plus a BA in another field
  • Minimum 3.5 GPA
  • New York RN license and registration
  • Undergraduate statistics and research courses
  • One year of full-time RN experience
  • Resume, personal statement, and at least two letters of recommendation
  • Series of interviews and a written essay
  • Family NP applicants apply by February 1, 2027 for a summer start
You Should Know
  • NYU’s DNP web page says one year of RN experience is required. The catalog says it is preferred.
  • The DNP page labels its March 1, 2027 deadline as “Fall 2026,” which appears to be a typo for Fall 2027. Family NP applicants follow the February 1 summer deadline regardless.

Tuition

NYU charges $2,596 per credit for Rory Meyers College of Nursing graduate students in 2026-2027. The rate comes from NYU’s bursar tuition schedule, applies to all graduate nursing programs, and has no flat full-time rate.

TrackCreditsRateEst. Tuition
MS54$2,596$140,184
BSN-DNP87$2,596$225,852
CertificateUp to 54$2,596Up to $140,184
  • Tuition: $2,596 per credit (2026-2027)
  • MS per-term tuition at 9 credits: $23,364
  • BSN-DNP per-term tuition at 6 credits: $15,576
  • Application fee: $85
  • Maintenance of matriculation (after two leave semesters): one credit of tuition plus the registration and services fee, per term

Be aware that:

  • Registration and services fees are billed each term on top of tuition. They are not included in the estimates above.
  • Rates reset every academic year. The MS spans at least two rate years and the BSN-DNP spans six, so single-year totals understate the final bill.
  • Certificate cost depends on the gap analysis. A nurse with no waivable coursework pays the full MS price.
  • Background check and drug test costs are not stated.

The MS runs about $140,000 in tuition alone, and the BSN-DNP adds $85,668 for 33 credits and 400 project hours with no added patient-care hours. Within NYU, the BSN-DNP’s 33 leadership credits are fewer than the 36-credit Advanced Standing DNP an MS graduate would take later, so it is the cheaper NYU route to a doctorate. The MS is the faster and cheaper route to practice.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for New York City nurses who want placements handled for them, can attend class in Manhattan, and can finance a private-university price.

Placement is the school’s job. NYU Meyers states plainly that faculty arrange clinical placements. Stony Brook University, by comparison, expects students to secure their own preceptors with a school fallback. For a nurse working full-time, not having to cold-call practices for 750 hours of preceptorship is a real time saving.

Rotation mix is built in. With 185 pediatric hours and 100 women’s health hours in dedicated courses, graduates finish with documented pediatric and women’s health experience rather than whatever a single lifespan preceptor happens to see. The optional palliative care, holistic, and substance use sequences add depth for nurses with a defined niche.

The license travels. NYU’s licensure disclosure says its NP programs meet educational requirements in every state and territory it lists. Nurses who expect to leave New York after graduation keep their options open.

The cost verdict. NYU is a premium purchase. SUNY Downstate charges New York residents about $22.5K in tuition and fees for its MS, against about $140K in tuition alone here. NYU makes sense when faculty-arranged placement at academic medical centers is worth the difference. Nurses confident they can find their own preceptors, or who need online flexibility, should price public and online options first.


Accreditation

The master’s degree, post-graduate APRN certificate, and Doctor of Nursing Practice programs at NYU Rory Meyers College of Nursing are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). All three FNP tracks fall under that accreditation, which runs through December 31, 2027.

New York University is institutionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. Institutional accreditation supports federal financial aid eligibility and the recognition of NYU credits by other schools and employers.

All NYU Meyers programs are also recognized by the New York State Education Department’s Office of the Professions, the body that certifies nurse practitioners in New York.

Graduates of all three tracks are eligible to sit for the national FNP certification exam (AANP or ANCC).


More FNP Programs in New York