St. Joseph’s University, New York offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:
- MSN
- Advanced Certificate
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN | $57.3K | 3 years (7 semesters) | 43 |
| Certificate | $18.7K | 1.5 to 2 years (4 semesters) | 19 |
Tuition estimates use SJNY’s published 2026-27 graduate rates ($1,310 campus, $940 online) plus each schedule’s mandatory University, Technology, and (online) Administrative Fees.
St. Joseph’s teaches the same four-course FNP sequence twice: once in a weekly on-campus MSN on Long Island, and once in an asynchronous online Advanced Certificate. Both routes require the same 750 clinical hours, above the 600 to 700 hours common among FNP programs.
The online route is cheaper per credit but narrower. The certificate admits only nurses who already hold a master’s in nursing, is not eligible for federal financial aid, and, like the MSN, requires an unrestricted New York RN license.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MSN (BSN entry); post-master’s Advanced Certificate |
| Format | MSN: Hybrid, on campus once a week. Certificate: Online, asynchronous. |
| Clinical Hours | 750 in both tracks, graded pass/fail |
| Clinical Placement | Not clearly stated; school cites partner sites across Long Island and New York City |
| Population | Family, across the lifespan |
| Distinctive Coursework | Four paired FNP didactic/clinical courses; two-course capstone with graded presentation (MSN) |
| Concentrations | None within FNP |
| RN License Requirements | Active, unrestricted New York RN license |
| Experience Gate | One year of professional nursing practice before admission |
| Tuition | $1,310/credit campus; $940/credit online (2026-27) |
| Accreditation | ACEN (master’s programs, continuing accreditation) |
M.S. in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner
The estimated tuition for the MSN at St. Joseph’s University, New York is approximately $57,309 (43 credits at $1,310/credit, plus University and Technology Fees). The program can generally be completed in about 3 years (7 semesters) while working, with classes on the Long Island campus once a week.
Official program page: Long Island M.S. in Family Nurse Practitioner.
MSN Curriculum
Foundation courses (22 credits). The first block covers theory, ethics and policy, the three advanced sciences, statistics, and research. Two research-oriented courses (Advanced Statistics and Advanced Nursing Research) take up 6 credits, which is more research weight than many FNP-only master’s programs carry.
FNP specialty sequence (16 credits). Four numbered FNP courses (I to IV) each pair a 3-credit didactic course with a 1-credit clinical course. The pairing keeps classroom content and clinical practice moving in step each term.
Capstone and role (5 credits). Two 1-credit capstone courses end with a Capstone Presentation Project that requires a grade of B or better. Foundations of the APN covers the NP role.
- NU 500 Theoretical Bases for Advanced Practice Nursing (4 credits)
- NU 531 Advanced Physiology and Pathophysiology Across the Life Span (3)
- NU 540 Advanced Pharmacology (3)
- NU 550 Advanced Health Assessment (3)
- NU 620 Advanced Statistics in Nursing Research (3)
- NU 639/641 through NU 647/648 Family Nurse Practitioner I to IV, with paired clinicals (16)
- NU 653 and NU 654 Family Nurse Practitioner Capstone I and II (2)
- NU 680 Foundations of the APN (3)
More curriculum details are available here.
MSN Clinical Requirements
- 750 clinical hours, graded on a pass basis
- Hours sit in four 1-credit clinical courses (NU 641, 643, 646, 648); per-course hours are not published
- Placement model: not clearly stated; the program cites partnerships with health systems across Long Island and New York City
- Before clinicals: health clearance, BLS, proof of licensure, and personal malpractice coverage of $1,000,000/$6,000,000
- Students must carry their own health insurance
- Agencies may add their own requirements
750 hours is 250 above the 500-hour certification floor and above the 600 to 700 hours common among FNP programs. If the hours fall evenly across the four clinical terms, that is roughly 12 to 13 hours a week over a 15-week semester. Billing is light for the volume: all 750 hours sit in just 4 credits.
You Should Know
- The school does not say whether it arranges preceptors or students find their own. Ask before applying.
- Clinical courses carry separate course fees listed in the course offerings booklet, not on the program page.
MSN Admissions
The MSN requires a personal interview and one year of clinical practice, and admits only nurses licensed in New York.
- BSN from an ACEN, NLNAC, or CCNE accredited program
- Undergraduate GPA of 3.0; preference for 3.3 or higher
- One year of professional clinical practice
- Active, unrestricted New York RN license and current registration
- CV and professional statement
- Two references, at least one from a clinical supervisor
- Official undergraduate transcripts
- Personal interview
- $25 application fee, waived for SJNY alumni
You Should Know
- The program page is on the Long Island campus site. Whether the FNP concentration also runs at the Brooklyn campus is not clearly stated.
- Seven semesters is the stated minimum. A published term-by-term plan of study was not available.
Advanced Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner (Online)
The estimated tuition for the Advanced Certificate at St. Joseph’s University, New York is approximately $18,712 (19 credits at $940/credit, plus online University, Technology, and Administrative Fees). The program can generally be completed in about 1.5 to 2 years (4 semesters), a year range derived from the published four-semester minimum.
Official program page: Online Advanced Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner.
Certificate Curriculum
The certificate is the MSN’s FNP sequence without the foundation courses or capstone. Students take the same four paired FNP courses plus Foundations of the APN. Coursework is asynchronous, so there are no set class times.
- NU 639 Family Nurse Practitioner I (3) and NU 641 Clinical I (1)
- NU 642 Family Nurse Practitioner II (3) and NU 643 Clinical II (1)
- NU 644 Family Nurse Practitioner III (3) and NU 646 Clinical III (1)
- NU 647 Family Nurse Practitioner IV (3) and NU 648 Clinical IV (1)
- NU 680 Foundations of the APN (3)
More curriculum details are available here.
Certificate Clinical Requirements
- 750 clinical hours, graded on a pass basis, the same total as the MSN
- Hours sit in the same four 1-credit clinical courses
- Placement model: not clearly stated
- Same pre-clinical requirements as the MSN: health clearance, BLS, licensure, malpractice coverage, and health insurance
Certificate students complete the full 750 hours regardless of prior NP clinical experience. No gap analysis or credit for prior clinical hours is mentioned. For a nurse adding FNP to an existing APRN role, that is a full clinical load, not a shortened one.
You Should Know
- The certificate uses the same clinical course numbers as the campus MSN. Whether any clinical component requires campus attendance is not stated.
- Where online students complete clinicals is not stated. The New York RN requirement points to New York sites.
Certificate Admissions
The certificate requires a prior master’s in nursing and completed advanced sciences, so it is not an entry route for BSN-prepared nurses.
- MS in nursing from an ACEN, NLNAC, or CCNE accredited program
- Advanced Pharmacology, Advanced Pathophysiology, and Advanced Health Assessment, each passed with a B (83) or better
- One year of professional nursing practice
- Active, unrestricted New York RN license and current registration
- CV, professional statement, and two references (one from a clinical supervisor)
- Official undergraduate and graduate transcripts
You Should Know
- The New York RN license requirement limits the “online” certificate to New York-licensed nurses, despite SJNY’s NC-SARA membership.
- The GPA rule cites a 3.0 undergraduate GPA. A graduate GPA minimum is not stated.
- No interview is listed for the certificate, unlike the MSN.
- Accreditation materials name the master’s programs. Whether ACEN’s scope explicitly includes the Advanced Certificate is not stated, and state boards set their own rules for adding a population focus.
Tuition
SJNY charges $1,310 per credit for campus graduate programs and $940 per credit for online graduate programs in 2026-27. Both rates are published; the per-credit rates exclude fees. Official sources: Graduate Tuition and Fees and Online Statement of Cost.
| Component | MSN (Campus) | Certificate (Online) |
|---|---|---|
| Per-credit tuition | $1,310 | $940 |
| Credits | 43 | 19 |
| Tuition subtotal | $56,330 | $17,860 |
| University Fee | $559 ($13/credit) | $308 ($77 × 4 semesters) |
| Technology Fee | $420 ($60 × 7 semesters) | $348 ($87 × 4 semesters) |
| Administrative Fee | None listed | $196 ($49 × 4 semesters) |
| Estimated total (derived) | $57,309 | $18,712 |
Confirmed costs:
- Campus graduate tuition: $1,310 per credit
- Online graduate tuition: $940 per credit
- Campus fees at 1 to 7 credits: $13 per credit University Fee, $60 per semester Technology Fee
- Online fees: $77 University, $87 Technology, and $49 Administrative per semester
- Graduation fee: $200
- Application fee: $25 (waived for SJNY alumni)
- Laboratory or course fees: $20 to $560 per course, where applicable
Be aware that:
- The MSN fee estimate assumes every semester stays at 7 credits or fewer (43 credits over 7 semesters averages about 6). A term of 8 or more credits switches to $96 University and $113 Technology Fees for that semester.
- Clinical course fees are listed only in the course offerings booklet. At the published maximum of $560, four clinical courses could add up to $2,240.
- SJNY states that online advanced certificates, other than Applied Behavior Analysis, are not eligible for federal financial aid. Certificate students should plan to pay out of pocket or through employer or private funding.
- The $940 rate comes from SJNY Online’s general graduate rate. No nursing-specific rate for the certificate is published.
- Students pay for their own malpractice coverage and health insurance.
- SJNY received a Nurse Faculty Loan Program grant for graduate nursing. Eligibility for FNP students is not stated.
The two schedules create a large gap for the same coursework. The four FNP course pairs cost $20,960 at the campus rate and $15,040 at the online rate, a $5,920 difference. The MSN’s real all-in cost lands near $57,500 with the graduation fee, before clinical course fees. The certificate’s lower price comes with no federal aid, which matters more than the rate for nurses who would otherwise borrow.
Why Choose This FNP Program?
Best suited for New York RNs who want steady weekly classroom contact on Long Island, or MSN-prepared nurses who want to add FNP without commuting.
A predictable campus rhythm. The MSN meets once a week over three years. That schedule suits working nurses who learn better in person and want a fixed class night rather than self-paced online work. The 750-hour clinical requirement adds real practice volume, and the paired didactic/clinical structure keeps each term’s content tied to patient care.
What to weigh. Both tracks are limited to New York-licensed RNs, so the online certificate is not a national option. The school does not say how clinical placements are arranged. The certificate requires the full 750 hours even for experienced APRNs, and it cannot be financed with federal loans.
The ideal applicant. For the MSN, that is a Long Island nurse with at least a year of bedside experience, a BSN GPA near 3.3, and room for one campus night a week. For the certificate, it is a New York nurse with an existing nursing master’s, strong grades in the three advanced sciences, and the savings or employer support to pay about $18,700 without federal aid.
Accreditation
The master’s nursing programs at St. Joseph’s University, New York are accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). The most recent ACEN decision for these programs is continuing accreditation, and the disclosure covers both the Brooklyn and Long Island campuses. It names the master’s programs and does not separately name the Advanced Certificate.
The university is institutionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE), an agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. Institutional accreditation supports eligibility for federal aid programs and credit transfer. SJNY’s programs are also registered with the New York State Education Department.
Graduates of an accredited graduate FNP program are eligible to sit for a national FNP certification exam (AANP or ANCC).
Compare More Family NP Programs
- Binghamton University - Johnson City
- Columbia University - New York
- Dominican University New York - Orangeburg
- Hunter College - New York
- Iona University - Bronxville
- Long Island University - Brooklyn
- Manhattanville University - Purchase
- Mercy University - Dobbs Ferry
- Molloy University - Rockville Centre
- New York University - New York
- Pace University - New York
- St. John Fisher University - Rochester
- Stony Brook University - Stony Brook
- SUNY Brockport - Brockport
- SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University - Brooklyn
- SUNY Upstate Medical University - Syracuse
- University of Mount Saint Vincent - Riverdale
- University of Rochester - Rochester
- Utica University - Utica