Utica University FNP Programs

Department of Nursing • Utica, NY • Mostly Online • $850/credit

Utica University offers 2 Family Nurse Practitioner Tracks:

  • MS
  • Post-Master’s Certificate

Program Tracks Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
MS$42.7K2.3–2.7 years (7–8 semesters)48
Certificate$27.8K2 years (6 semesters)31

Tuition estimates use Utica’s published $850 per-credit rate plus the $75 per-course distance learning fee, the $650 FNP residency fee, and the $80 graduation fee.

Utica counts 225 simulation hours inside its 775-hour practicum total. The remaining 550 hours are the 500 required for certification plus a 50-hour specialty experience, so the headline figure is not directly comparable to programs that count only preceptored patient care.

Enrollment is the main limit. Utica’s FNP pages restrict its online programs to New York residents with a New York RN license and 2,000 hours of U.S. RN work, and every student travels to the Utica campus once for a three-day skills immersion.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Program TypesMS, Post-Master’s Certificate
FormatMostly Online; one three-day on-campus immersion before practicum
Clinical Hours775 practicum hours: 500 certification, 50 specialty, 225 simulation
Clinical PlacementNot clearly stated; site must accept student’s background and drug screening
PopulationFamily across the lifespan, including child-bearing patients and chronic illness
Distinctive CourseworkThree-course Health Promotion & Primary Care sequence; two-part pharmacology and assessment
ConcentrationsNone
RN License RequirementsUnencumbered New York RN license
Experience Gate2,000 hours of U.S. RN work, verified by HR
Enrollment RestrictionNew York residents only per program pages; authorization page also lists Florida
Tuition$850/credit plus per-course and residency fees
AccreditationCCNE (master’s and post-graduate APRN certificate)

Master of Science in Family Nurse Practitioner

The estimated tuition for the Master of Science in Family Nurse Practitioner at Utica University is approximately $42,655 (48 credits at $850/credit, plus fees). The program can generally be completed in about 2.3–2.7 years (7–8 semesters), with years derived from three semesters per year.

MS Curriculum

Core before clinical. The first three semesters (18 credits) cover leadership, quality improvement, pathophysiology, statistics, epidemiology, and research. FNP-specific work does not start until semester 4, when Advanced Health Assessment I and Pharmacology I lead into the campus immersion.

Split foundations. Pharmacology and health assessment each run as two courses spread over separate semesters. Assessment II runs alongside the second practicum, so diagnostic reasoning is taught while students are seeing patients rather than only before.

Integrated practicum. The three Health Promotion & Primary Care courses combine didactic and practicum credits in one course (2.5/2.5, 2.5/2.5, 3/3). Most semesters pair a course labeled D1 with one labeled D2, which suggests back-to-back sessions within a term. Utica does not define the codes on the program page.

  • NUR 588 Organization Leadership & Role Development of the APN (3)
  • NUR 604 Advanced Pathophysiology (3)
  • NUR 611 Advanced Health Assessment & Diagnostic Reasoning I (3)
  • NUR 615 / 616 Advanced Pharmacology I and II (3, 2)
  • NUR 995 FNP Skills Residency, Immersive Experience (0)
  • NUR 621 / 622 Health Promotion & Primary Care I and II (5 each)
  • NUR 625 Health Promotion & Primary Care III (6)
  • NUR 612 Advanced Health Assessment & Diagnostic Reasoning II (2)
  • NUR 634 NP Culminating Seminar (2)

MS Clinical Requirements

  • Total: 775 practicum hours across NUR 621, 622, and 625 (8 practicum credits).
  • Composition: 500 certification hours + 50 specialty-experience hours + 225 simulation hours.
  • Focus areas: prevention, child-bearing patients, and chronic illness such as asthma, diabetes, and hypertension.
  • Immersion: three days on the Utica campus after NUR 611 and before practicum. Skills include suturing, orthopedic splinting, and X-ray interpretation in a simulated clinical setting.
  • Clearance: background check, fingerprints, and drug screen before practicum, paid by the student.
  • Placement model: not clearly stated.

Setting simulation aside, 550 hours are in clinical settings. That clears the 500-hour certification floor but sits below the 600–700 hour range common among FNP programs. Spread over three practicum semesters, 550 hours works out to roughly 12 hours a week (derived, assuming 15-week terms).

You Should Know
  • Per-course hour allocations are not published. The 775 total and its three components come from the program page only.
  • Utica does not say how the 225 simulation hours are delivered or whether any occur during the campus immersion.
  • Students who cannot be placed with a clinical agency, including because of screening results, must withdraw from the program.
  • Immersion travel and lodging are not covered by the $650 residency fee.

MS Admissions

Admission requires a New York RN license and 2,000 hours of HR-verified U.S. RN experience, roughly one year of full-time work.

  • BSN from an accredited nursing program
  • GPA of 3.0 (lower GPAs considered with a GPA letter)
  • Unencumbered New York RN license
  • 2,000 hours of U.S. RN work, verified by an HR department
  • Two recommendations from an RN, physician, or NP
  • Statement of interest answering three set prompts, plus résumé
  • 3-credit statistics course with a B or higher
  • 3-credit baccalaureate health assessment course with observed lab, B or higher
You Should Know
  • Program pages say online programs are exclusively for New York residents. Utica’s FNP state authorization page lists New York and Florida. Florida applicants would still need a New York RN license under the admissions list.
  • A B- or lower in health assessment requires completing a 3-credit course before starting. A B- or lower in statistics can be cleared with a self-study module and exam.
  • The transfer limit conflicts: one FAQ allows up to six credits, another up to nine.

Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate of Advanced Studies

The estimated tuition for the Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate of Advanced Studies at Utica University is approximately $27,755 (31 credits at $850/credit, plus fees). The program can generally be completed in about 2 years (6 semesters), per the published duration and sample plan.

Certificate Curriculum

The certificate is the MS without its 17 credits of core courses. Every FNP course, the immersion, and the three practicum courses are identical. There is no gap analysis: pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment must be taken at Utica, and transfer credit is not accepted for them. An APRN adding a family focus still pays for 13 credits of 3P coursework (about $11,050).

  • NUR 604 Advanced Pathophysiology (3)
  • NUR 615 / 616 Advanced Pharmacology I and II (3, 2)
  • NUR 611 / 612 Advanced Health Assessment & Diagnostic Reasoning I and II (3, 2)
  • NUR 995 FNP Skills Residency, Immersion Weekend (0)
  • NUR 621 / 622 Health Promotion & Primary Care I and II (5 each)
  • NUR 625 Health Promotion & Primary Care III (6)
  • NUR 634 NP Culminating Seminar (2)
You Should Know
  • The duration conflicts: the program page lists 2 years and a six-semester plan, while its FAQ says four to five semesters.
  • Semester 2 of the sample plan carries 3 credits, which is half-time under Utica’s graduate policy.

Certificate Clinical Requirements

  • Total: not stated on the certificate page. The certificate uses the same NUR 621, 622, and 625 practicum courses as the MS, which carry 775 hours (225 simulated).
  • Immersion: three days on campus, a comprehensive history and physical in a simulated setting, before practicum.
  • Placement model: not clearly stated.

Because the practica are shared, certificate students should expect the same 550 hours in clinical settings as MS students. The shorter credential does not reduce clinical volume.

You Should Know
  • The 775-hour figure is derived from shared course numbers, not published for the certificate.
  • State boards set their own rules for adding a second APRN population focus. The certificate is limited to New York-licensed nurses.

Certificate Admissions

Certificate admission mirrors the MS gates, with an MSN in place of the BSN and a 500-word statement.

  • Master’s degree in nursing from an accredited program
  • GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • Unencumbered New York RN license
  • 2,000 hours of U.S. RN work, verified by an HR department
  • Statistics and baccalaureate health assessment with lab, each B or higher
  • No GRE or GMAT
You Should Know
  • An offense found after admission that was not disclosed on the application can lead to the offer being rescinded.

Tuition

Utica charges $850 per credit for both FNP tracks, per its online tuition and fees page. The rate does not include fees. Graduate students are billed per credit, with no flat full-time rate.

ItemMSCertificate
Tuition48 × $850 = $40,80031 × $850 = $26,350
Distance learning fee ($75/online course)15 × $75 = $1,1259 × $75 = $675
FNP residency fee$650$650
Graduation fee$80$80
Estimated total (derived)$42,655$27,755

Tuition totals ($40,800 and $26,350) are published. Fee totals are derived from the sample plans of study.

Confirmed costs:

  • Tuition: $850 per credit
  • Distance learning fee: $75 per online course
  • FNP residency fee: $650
  • Graduation fee: $80
  • Tuition deposit: $300, one time

Be aware that:

  • The distance learning fee count excludes the 0-credit NUR 995 immersion. If Utica bills it as an online course, add $75.
  • Whether the $300 deposit applies toward tuition is not stated. It is excluded from the totals. Students with a FAFSA on file may not need to pay it, and VA benefit users are exempt.
  • Immersion travel, lodging, and meals are not included.
  • Background check, fingerprinting, and drug screening costs are paid by the student.
  • Applicants with a B- or lower in health assessment pay for an extra 3-credit course before starting.

Fees add under 5% to MS tuition, so the $850 rate is close to the real cost. The certificate saves $14,450 over the MS by dropping the core, but because the 3Ps cannot be transferred, an existing NP gets no further discount for prior coursework.


Why Choose This FNP Program?

Best suited for experienced New York RNs who want a mostly online FNP with one short campus trip and a transparent, low-fee price.

Nurses who want predictable cost. The fee stack is small and fully published: a per-course distance fee, one residency fee, and a graduation fee. Estimated all-in cost stays within about $1,900 of published MS tuition.

Nurses comparing clinical hours. Read the 775 figure carefully. With 225 simulation hours inside it, the 550 hours in clinical settings are closer to the certification floor than the headline suggests. Nurses who want heavy preceptored time before practice should weigh that against programs reporting direct-care hours only.

Who can actually enroll. Utica works only if all of these apply: New York residency (or confirmed Florida eligibility), an unencumbered New York RN license, 2,000 verified RN hours, and the ability to spend three days on the Utica campus. APRNs considering the certificate should also accept retaking the 3Ps at Utica. Nurses who meet every condition get a lower fee stack and a shared MS/certificate sequence; nurses who miss one should look elsewhere.


Accreditation

The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) accredits Utica’s master’s degree program in nursing and its post-graduate APRN certificate program. Both FNP tracks fall under that accreditation.

Utica University is institutionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and chartered by the Regents of the University of the State of New York. Institutional accreditation supports federal financial aid eligibility and the recognition of Utica credits by other schools and employers.

Graduates of both tracks are prepared to sit for the national FNP certification exam (AANP or ANCC).


Compare More Family NP Programs